We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, professional, great location and very upmarket, with one of the best and stylish bars in Val d Isere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avenue Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avenue Lodge Hotel
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern, professional, great location and very upmarket, with one of the best and stylish bars in Val d Isere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at the Avenue Lodge for seven nights in January and loved it. It has one of the best Spas we have ever visited. The rooms are well appointed with large LCD tv's and DVD players. Decoration is modern and very good quality. Great location, 5 mins walk from main lift area and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    33
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
67
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I liked the place, the location and the decor of the rooms.

The staff was helpful and knowledgeable.

It is a full service hotel, with valet parking, room service, and for me the real highlight is the swimming pool, the Jacuzzi and the hamam ! So good after a long day of skiing.

Only negative comment is that the Wi-fi connection could be a bit more reliable.

Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

+++
+ very good location, walking distance to the lifts, in the middle of shopping and restaurants
+ modern and fresh looking rooms, in case you want a change from the chalet style rooms. Nice design, but do check it out on pictures first
+ everything looks and feels quite new
+ tv in the bathroom in standard rooms
+ wc is separated from the bathroom
+ bath and shower in standard room
+ rooms are serviced twice a day
+ free wifi (passwords are given for each device)
+ friendly staff
+ generally good value for money

---
- rooms are very small
- very slow wifi
- very small restaurant: in the mornings it may get crowded and you may have to wait to get seated
- breakfasts are way too simple never change
- you may have to wait for hot water to make tea. Water is brought in a kettle and it takes forever to get it. Why can't they simply put a self service hot water machine?
- no minibar
- poor choice of tv channels, mostly French standard tv channels
- no minibar

Also some advice. Get your skis and boots in a shop near the lifts, not in the hotel, otherwise you'd have to walk in boots for a long time to get to the lifts. And back...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DmitryV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed at Avenue Lodge for a week during March 2011. We were greeted at the hotel by the friendly staff at the front desk which feels so casual it is as if you are waiting to be seated for a table in a nice restaurant. The staff are extremely friendly and courteous and are happy to answer any questions and fulfill requests. We were swiftly shown to our room and our luggage brought up. The rooms themselves are spacious and really well made, comfortable, cosy and functional albeit a bit too dark for our taste. It does give it some atmosphere and feeling but a bigger window with more ambient light and a bit less black would have helped. The bathroom was well equipped and had both a bath and a shower. Plenty of space to move around, bathroom TV, large mirror- really couldn't fault it, in fact we were in the process of renovating our flat at the time and opted for some of the taps and accessories that the hotel had specified to be installed in our own place we liked it so much.

The resturant is very good for breakfast and has just the right amount of everything you need. The food overall is very good and having opted for half board we were eating in the hotel every night. While we couldnt fault the food and had a few favourite dishes the menu is fixed and does not change which means after a week you are without options to chose from espicially as you dont want the same things twice and some dishes we simply dont like. So if you take half board I would suggest to opt for two nights out or hopefully the hotel will change this in due course.

The lobby and bar area are excellent for a post meal drink, coffee or just relaxing by the blazing fireplace. Really couldnt fault it.

The spa facilities are good but the treatment personal on offer are not the best. That being said the steam room is very big and with two Sauna's and a good size pool and jacuzzi we always found it useful and not too crowded and a real treat after a long day of skiing.

Overall this is a wonderful hotel which is difficult to fault and I am very picky in nature. Would highly recommend for a holiday in Val in style.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter but have less light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gadir80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

Having stayed at a couple of other properties in Val, I can say Avenue Lodge is superior in every way, especially the cleanliness of the entire property, the friendly efficient staff and the comfortable bed ( a must after a hard day on the slopes). The room was definitely big enough for our needs with a large balcony and nice view of the village facing toward Le Fornet direction. The bathroom was well appointed with flat screen TV and high quality toiletries, bath robes and towels which were replaced twice daily. One small point, the hairdryer was a little bit on the weak side and did not blow out hot air (did change but still same) but nothing to really get upset about as the hotel has an in house hair salon for bad hair days! The room was quiet even though we faced the village as the balcony door and windows were sound proof. The spa was spotless and inviting, did not try any treatments (were a little on pricey side typically 100 euros + for massage) but this is Val d'isere were everything is expensive unfortunately. All the staff from duty managers, restaurant staff, bar staff, cleaners were friendly and polite and helpful. The ski shop and boot room service was excellent. Breakfast had a nice selection of items every morning, bread and pastries very fresh every day. You can ski back into Avenue Lodge snow cover permitting but its only a 5 min stroll up a slight gradient to the nearest lift. The position of the hotel is perfect, right in the middle of the village. Cannot fault Avenue Lodge and would stay again, thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: We were very happy in 306! Large balcony, nice view, but still quiet when it counted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Have stayed twice (christmas2010 and Feb2011)and was welcomed back and repeat guest discount offered
Am going back this Christmas. Must mention the portugese barman (sorry forgot his name!) excellent
Agree can get busy in bar and service wobbles sometimes but as a general rule don't panic it comes right in the end. Overall a very pleasant stay.Looking forward going back

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter and most have ski slope views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
210 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Checking into the hotel was quick and efficient. There is no hotel car parking, but the hotel offered to park our car in the village car park for 16 euros per night.
Room was really nice, bathroom had everything. The only downside, and this is being picky, is that the rooms and hotel are quite dark. I know its atmospheric lighting, but in some areas (like the bathroom) you need good light to see what you are doing.
Used the spa once, but it was really busy, mainly due to the poor weather everyone went to use the facilites, so make sure to book early.
We hired our boots/skis in the hotel - this was very expensive. If you are on a budget I suggest renting them from an outside establishment.
About 10 minutes walk to the slopes
Did not have evening meal in hotel, but breakfast fine, plenty of choice.
As with everything in Val D'isere, very expensive rooms, but that's the way in this village.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windymillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#6 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#13 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
#22 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Lodge Hotel

Property: Avenue Lodge Hotel
Address: avenue Olympique | BP 80, 73152 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#9 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Avenue Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Lodge Hotel France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing