We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, right in the centre of the village.”
Review of Avenue Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avenue Lodge Hotel
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good location, right in the centre of the village.”
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Checking into the hotel was quick and efficient. There is no hotel car parking, but the hotel offered to park our car in the village car park for 16 euros per night.
Room was really nice, bathroom had everything. The only downside, and this is being picky, is that the rooms and hotel are quite dark. I know its atmospheric lighting, but in some areas (like the bathroom) you need good light to see what you are doing.
Used the spa once, but it was really busy, mainly due to the poor weather everyone went to use the facilites, so make sure to book early.
We hired our boots/skis in the hotel - this was very expensive. If you are on a budget I suggest renting them from an outside establishment.
About 10 minutes walk to the slopes
Did not have evening meal in hotel, but breakfast fine, plenty of choice.
As with everything in Val D'isere, very expensive rooms, but that's the way in this village.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windymillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    33
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
67
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koper
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I loved staying in this hotel, esspecialy I loved our nice bathroom and all interior of room and hotel. We also had a nice view on the ski slopes. Downstairs in the bar we spend few simpatic hours/evenings, next to amazing fireplace...Breakfasts were good, just all the hotel stuff cant speak very good english-that can be a problem sometimes. About the cleanliness: I didnt noticed anything wrong, but friends room was a little bit dirty when cleaning ladies already left it.. But from my side: all the best, they just have to improve their service.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123321_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I would not hesitate to reccomend this hotel, the rooms are spacious and decorated to a high standard - the place is spotless.

The bar serves up the best cocktails in Val (my opinion!) but it is a shame that it is often empty - unlike the bar at the Blizzard. If I had one small complaint it would be the service in the bar - they dont exactly rush to serve you - dont let this stop you going there though.

I found the little hotel ski shop perfect and spared us the real fag of traipsing to the hire shop and collecting/returning your skis. The ski/boot room was very convenient and much better than many hotels.

The restaurant was OK but lets face it you wont die of starvation in Val d'isere!

All in all a really nice holiday and I would certainly come again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Stayed here with my brother for 7 nights while on snowboarding holiday. The Hotel is stunning, very modern and very chic, the bar was all neon, with what looked like cow hyde and leather chairs and sofas and a huge fire. The service was great with very friendly staff. The room was great too, the decor was stunning, and a comfy bed. It had an open plan bathroom with a walk in shower, and a deep bath with a TV on the wall, perfect for relaxing. Or better yet go down to the spa, free to use with jacuzzi, sauna, swimming pool and best of all a steam room with a minty eucalyptus scent, really left you feeling great after a days snowboarding. The location was right on the main strip on Avenue Olympique, only seconds from the slopes and to shops restaurants, bars and clubs. When we were there the woman's olympic downhill was on and the teams chose their numbers right in front of the hotel, followed by a fire work display. Some bars and clubs were on right through til early morning, but you were never bothered by any noise when you felt like a quiet night. There were lots of really good restaurants and burger bars there and also good take away pizzas etc. We absolutely loved this hotel and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraemeMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We managed to get a long weekend here over Easter with our 6 month old baby and we had a great time. We had a standard room which was quite small but extremely well decorated. There was enough room for the 2 of us plus the cot. There was no shower in the room, just a shower attachment on the bath taps which was far from ideal. We were made to feel welcome and the staff couldn't do enough for us.

The breakfast room was a real squeeze in the morning, and we had 2 wait on1 occasion for nearly 10 mins to get a table. We never had dinner there, so can't comment on that.

The spa was a nice touch and great to relax in apres ski, they had a sauna, spa, pool and steam room. We couldn't get in for a massage as they were fully booked, so I suggest that you book in advance.

The space allocated for skis is too small. We are boarders and had to leave our boards in the ski shop within the hotel (no great issue but just need to be back before it closes) There is no drying room - space is at a real premium throughout the hotel.

The bar is quite cool with a real contemporary feel although the service could be better when they start to get busy. Lots of nice nibbles with drinks though!

Great location and will definately be going back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Beautiful Spa & Bar, bedrooms are also very nice, this hotel is very elegant overall.
One problem though: quality of service strongly depends on who's behind the desk.
For instance,
1) the light bulb above the mirror in the bathroom blew. People at the desk that night seemed absolutely clueless as to what we were expecting from them, and we had to explicitly ask for the replacement of the bulb, which was done the following day only. It blew again after a few minutes, was replaced again (that night the concierge seemed more capable and was prompt to send someone over to check it out) and it blew again the following day so we just gave up on it.
2) there was an awful sewer smell emanating from the shower drain every night at around 7pm. Again people at the desk weren't very helpful, said they were not aware of the problem and just put a clean towel on the floor to cover the drain...
Overall I would say the service is very disappointing compared to what is usually the standard for this price/star rating: this hotel certainly looks like a 4 stars, but service is barely 3 stars at best, unfortunately. Test the welcoming at a restaurant from another 4 stars hotel in town and you'll know what I mean.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jicri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2010

We stayed in the superior room which was amazing and beautifully done! The bathroom was absolutely stunning featuring a large bath in the centre.
The spa facilities and bar are also beautifully done. Loved the dark and quaint vibe.
Will come back every year to ski here! Really is the most beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank France00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#12 of 39 in Val d'Isere
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#6 of 39 in Val d'Isere
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Lodge Hotel

Property: Avenue Lodge Hotel
Address: avenue Olympique | Bp 80, 73152 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#9 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Avenue Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Avenue Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Lodge Hotel France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing