We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel; very well located; great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed in l'Aigle des Neiges for four nights in mid-January to celebrate my birthday with friends. The hotel is very well located within the village, just a couple of minutes from the nursery slopes and close to all the shops and bars of Val d'Isere.

The room was comfortable with a high quality bed and bedding. The room we had was not exactly huge, but fine for skiing and well appointed. Bathroom was new and the shower was good.

One thing to not is that you like to go to bed early, you may not want to be on the first floor. You can hear the music from the bar downstairs until 12-1am in the morning. Didn't bother us, but it might some people.

Breakfast, if not included in your room cost, is pretty punchy at€24. We had it one day and it was very good. Other days we just went to a local cafe before hitting the slopes.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Friends had organised champagne for me on the first night in our room, which the staff were happy to bring to us in the bar with friends instead the next day.

The bar is comfortable with big sofas. It's not too busy and the cocktails are very good if quite pricey. The music could be a little more chilled for my tastes, but that could be my age!

Overall, very good hotel in a great location.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehdi R, Directeur général at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014
Google Translation

Cher Monsieur,

Je vous remercie vivement de votre commentaire.

Je suis ravi que votre séjour parmi se soit merveilleusement déroulé. Vos remarques sont un réel encouragement, et toutes mes équipes travaillent au quotidien à votre service.

J'espère avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau,

Cordialement,

Mehdi Rezki
Directeur Général

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 425 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here this weekend. Fab service. Really nice, helpful staff but we didn't expect to pay quite so much!! We booked our EUR 522 (for 2 nightS) room a couple of weeks ago and had to change it from a Monday/Tuesday night to a Friday/Saturday night which meant we had to pay EUR 100 extra per night. On top of that a couple of drinks and breakfast NOT included we ended up paying more that EUR 400 more!!!! A nice hotel, very nice staff but watch out for the hidden extras!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehdi R, Directeur général at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Madam,

Many thanks for your comment on our property.

I will share it with all my team, this important for us.

I notice your comment about our rates, and we will take care of this point for our future rates for next season.

I remain, with all my team at your disposal,

Best Regards,

Mehdi Rezki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here for four nights with my two sons for a quick ski trip. I could not have chosen better. Our rooms were excellent, staff were very friendly. The boot room guys were spot on. Not bad value and the location was great. The bar is a bit soulless but very clean and efficient. I will be going back and I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank CKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehdi R, Directeur général at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your comment about our property.

This is a real pleasure for us, I will share your experience with all my team.

We remain at your disposal, for your next trip in Val d'Isère.

Regards,

Mehdi Rezki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed a few days in December.
We appreciated the location , the breakfast and part of the staff.
BUT the rate is a scandal for a rather 3* , the spa is full of noisy kids and forget the room service.
Discussions with the staff and regular clients confirmed that there is definitely a problem .
We paid a fortune to learn , hope you benefit from our sad experience.
We believe that recent advises are just fakes..

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Rol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehdi R, Directeur général at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your post on the website.

First of all, all recent advises are not fakes. We received a lot of comments, true this site, but also true Guest Comments before departure or after departure, and a lot of them are really positive.

I could understand that prices were really expensive, but you must know that december is a very high season for us and in Val d'Isère. Unfortunately, our rates are based on the demand and the offer, and our prices were the same as other hôtels in the area during this period.

For the swimming pool, I could perfectly understand your point, but during holidays, we have a lot of families in our property.

If you need more information, I remain at your disposal,

Regards,

Mehdi Rezki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Oh dear, Aigle Des Neiges. We've enjoyed you for three years now. Yes, you’re expensive. But you have so much going for you: the location from one thing; the lovely ski hire people in the basement (complimented by many reviewers and deservedly so); that roaring fire and comfy sofasto tumble into after a hard day on the slopes, avec a chilled glass of Chablis. Hmm, that Chablis. I dream about it all year.

But a hotel's reputation cannot rest on one delicious glass of Chablis alone. So enough of the good; here’s the bad and the ugly...

First, the rooms: let’s be honest they’re beginning to look a little weary: frayed carpets, grubby curtains, scuffed walls. We stayed at Avenue Lodge a few years back and their rooms were far, far superior. Your rooms smell of smoke and many are dark and poky. They're too hot too.

I booked at least four months in advance and specifically asked for a quiet room - yet we were placed right above the bar area, where they pump out 90s dance classics (think Ultra Nate’s Set You Free) every single evening (even worse Thurs - Sat when they have a live DJ). When I queried the noise at reception, I was told that I can always phone down from the room and ask them to turn it down, akin to a moaning granny. What a great idea! Here’s a better one: why don’t you just knock the silly booming club music on the head completely? It’s completely incongruous to the generally chilled out atmosphere - and as a result, the bar seems to be largely empty from 9pm onwards.

I’m afraid the rooms are noisy in general. Every door in the hotel seems to creak: next door’s bathroom door creaked, as did the one above us - and ours too. Along with the inevitable boom, boom from the bar below, all I could hear was creak, creak all night long. It made me want to go wild with a giant bottle of WD40.

The food: We went half-board this time. The food is quite fancy pants but all show and no substance. There’s a lot of fish involved; ‘cockerel’ too! And a seemingly inordinate amount of purees and sorbets. Vegetarians have no chance.

The restaurant staff are pleasant enough but generally quite hapless. There’s a lot of them, swarming around like slightly disorientated sheep - some quite scruffy (as reviewer Sally Capener mentioned). I was never once asked if I wanted a hot drink at breakfast time, always having to track someone down to ask them for a coffee - occasionally being made to feel like I was inconveniencing them in some way. One particular highlight was when my husband asked for two poached eggs. The message came back that chef only does fried... Oh, those temperamental French chefs! Another time, he asked for two boiled eggs (due the self-boiling egg contraption being permanently full). The waiter disappeared with the order but - quelle surprise - the eggs never materialised.

And here comes the clincher... after working our way through a tiresome eight courses on New Year's Eve, five of which contained some element of champagne: champagne sorbet, champagne sauce, champagne purée, we were told upon check-out that despite being half board, we were being charged an extra 189 euros each for this special dinner! At no point did anyone mention this. We simply arrived at the restaurant as normal and a eight-course menu thrust in our hands. Yet another example of general ineptitude and lack of communication.

Sorry, Aigle de Neiges: this eagle has flown and I don’t think we’ll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Palms_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehdi R, Directeur général at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your comment after your stay in ou property.

As you are aware, we constantly strive to offer high-quality service, worthy of the image we wish to give to the Temmos Hotel. We much appreciate the assessments of our customers and use them to improve our establishment in order to achieve an impeccable level of service.

Be inform, that we are actually working on a project, to refurbish all our room during this summer and to offer you the best you can expect in a 4 Star Hotel.

For the room, I perfectly understand that you could have some noise from the bar during the end of this year, but you reserve a classic room, that is our standard room, and all of them are on 1st floor. If you want a quiet room it will be better to reserve a Superior or Deluxe Room.

Just for your information, you reserve your stay true an agency, and your package with the agency including the Half Board, and for this period the New Year Eve Dinner (that is a gastronomic dinner, on the theme of Champagne), with an extra charge, but by your agency. I think your agency did'nt give you all the information, because they know and have all the details about the rooms, half board... ...

For the staff restaurant, I'm surprise, but I'm going see with the restaurant manager, because we never have complains about our breakfast, with a lot products this year, I'm really sorry about the inconvenience for your eggs.

Please be sure, that I notice everything, and hope to see you soon, my team is at your disposal for any reservation,

Regards,

Mehdi Rezki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights before Christmas in a junior suite. The hotel is in a great location and you can ski back to the door. The room was lovely and big for a family of 4 and it was nice coming back after ski-ing to use the pool, sauna and steam room. The staff in the ski room were so helpful every day and helped put the childrens boots on and took them off when we returned. You could walk to plenty of restaurants and the village was lovely. This was our first time staying in a hotel on a ski-ing trip as usually we stay in a chalet or apartment and we would stay here again. There was no tea/coffee facilities in our room but you could get hot water from reception so we went to the supermarket and brought a kettle so we could make our own drinks.

Room Tip: The junior suites are a great choice for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehdi R, Directeur général at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your comment !
All my team and I wish you a happy new year 2014 !

We really much appreciate the assessments of our customers and use them to improve our establishment in order to achieve an impeccable level of service.

Please be informed that since your departure there are in each room a coffee set, with a Malongo Expresso machine.

Hoping we’ll have the pleasure to welcome you at l'Aigle des Neiges when you next come to Val d'Isere,

Best Regards,

Mehdi Rezki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here in our second trip to Val D'Isere. The location can not be beaten in two ways. First, it is in the heart of the village steps from the restaurants and shops. And second, it is simply ski in and out, you are right in front of the lifts, no need to carry your skis around. The hotel is nice and clean, rooms are a little old and furnitures tired. Breakfast is ok, spa is enough for a ski resort. Do not expect a very modern and luxurious room. If you look for that, I would recommend Hotel Avenue Lodge, 100 mts below or Le Blizzard, the best one in town. Both of these are not ski in and out. Keep in mind that you will pay much more to these hotels, around 20 to 40% more, whereas Aigle Des neiges is a good value for money for a skier. So if you are looking for a nice and clean hotel and not looking for too much luxury, go ahead and book. If you are picky and want to stay in a more modern and luxury hotel, try the others I mentionned. I am planning to go back in 2014 and Aigle des Neiges is definitely one of my options.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#5 of 39 in Val d'Isere
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Avancher
Hotel Avancher
#8 of 39 in Val d'Isere
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#6 of 39 in Val d'Isere
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#4 of 39 in Val d'Isere
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges

Address: Place de l'Eglise, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
#1 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#9 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range: $194 - $870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old village, the Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges**** at 1800 m high, with its wooden structure and its slate roof, is ideally located just at a few steps from the slopes and Espace Killy olympic downhill ski area. Offering 109 spacious and comfortable rooms, the hotel combines perfectly modernity and tradition in its interior decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Aigle Des Neiges France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing