We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great week here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great week here”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our first time skiing as a family and we had a fabulous week. The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and ent out of their to be of assistance, including checking my daughter's French essay! The boot room staff were amazing and worked really hard. Someone had mistakenly taken my youngest daughter's skis on the first morning, so they loaned us a pair free of charge.
The food was good, service excellent and to top it all the weather was superb!

Room Tip: Ask for a slope facing room as these are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    119
    33
    22
    15
See reviews for
127
161
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was prompted to write this review after reading the critical review by Sally Capener. I simply do not recognise any of the faults listed in that review. In particular, my wife and I found the service to be absolutely exemplary, be it in the boot room, the restaurant or reception.One morning I realised that I had left my hat in the room and a receptionist fetched it for me to save me the effort of taking off my ski boots and then putting them on again shortly thereafter. The breakfast was excellent ; a wide range of choice, including English style options, the half board dinner was varied and of good quality and the restaurant wines included reasonably priced alternatives.
The location is perfect, close to both the pistes and the centre of the village.
The rooms and spa facilities were excellent. I swam every day after skiing as the pool was so inviting, remarkable as I never swim at home.
My only complaint was the high price of the drinks in the bar, disproportionately expensive when compared to the cost of staying and eating at the hotel; a shame as it meant we drank there less frequently than we might otherwise have have done

Room Tip: Some higher rooms , at the rear, have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

From booking to leaving the service was faultless. I was on a short mid week break with my parents and border collie dog. The staff could not have been more helpful and it was a very relaxing atmosphere from the initial check in with the calming Steve to check out, we had no complaints, really enjoyed our stay and would like to go back. We use the other 2 Temmos hotels in Chamonix but this one is my favourite. They arranged us one larger room at the end of the corridor so with a view of the slopes , it had a separate bedroom and a bed outside for me , we found it large enough for all of us. My father is a skier at 75 so he got a free pass for espace killy. The hotel ski/boot room service is fantastic I have stayed in 5 star chalets but nothing as attentive as this. They helped him put his boots and skis on and then its a short walk to the slope. Meanwhile during the day the spa was empty so a pool to yourself. The dog found himself equally spoilt by the staff ( bringing him a water bowl if we went to the bar ). We would have liked to eat in the hotel but left it a little late and it was full for dinner but the hotels recommendation was good and 2 mins away. My only quibble was the mini bar , everything in it is a flat 5e which clearly shows they don't really want to bother with it. 5e for a coke in the room is ridiculous, though putting your own drinks in the fridge is of course an option .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks' skiing in Val d'Isere and staying in Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges.

From the beginning the service was excellent, friendly and couldn't be more helpful.
The reception area of the hotel is modern and very comfortable with a nice bar.
Our package included dinner, bed & breakfast - which only allowed us to eat in the main restaurant - we could go to the a'la carte restaurant and pay a small upgrade. There was no need - the main restaurant food was excellent, the staff we helpful and friendly.

The rooms were of a good standard and the bathrooms were great too. No problem with hot water - even at the high points of the afternoon when everyone comes off the slopes.

The location of the hotel was perfect - a very short walk and your in the centre of the village and in the other direction your on the slopes in less than 100m.

The ski rental and locker system is very good, the staff there were brilliant - we rented boots for the kids. You leave your skis and boots there every night and collect in the morning. The staff bring your boots and skis to you and take away your shoes/slippers. Every day they helped the kids buckle up their ski boots and helped get them ready for their day on the slopes - a real nice bunch of guys!

The swimming pool is just as it looks in the photos - a great way to relax after a active day on the mountains. The water was pleasantly warm and plenty of clean towels. Adequate seating around the pool for a dozen or so people.

We had a great time and would go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the roads do have a bit of late night noise from people heading back from the bars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is so good for a ski holiday it is difficult to find any faults. the boot room service is so good that you do not have to do anything other than sit down and put your boots on. On a couple of occasions during our stay the staff even helped us to take them off before storing them for the next day! This standard of service was common across all the hotel staff.
The food was very good and well presented. Breakfast was particularly good with a wide choice to suit any taste. The scrambled eggs and bacon were always fresh and hot, in my experience a rarity with a buffet style breakfast.
Our room was comfortable and clean with free Wi Fi available.
Our only complaint was that the bar prices were a bit on the high side, a 500cl beer costing 9 euros for example.
The position is brilliant, a short walk from the bus stop, shops and ski lifts. For those of a worshipping disposition even the church is very close.

Room Tip: If you are very sensitive a little noise can be heard from the bar in some of the rooms on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We are just back from our Fabulous. Holiday at this hotel, one of the best hotels we have stayed at on a ski holiday, we travel to a different place each year for skiing so this was our first time in Val, The hotel was right near the slopes, the food was excellent, only 2 x choices of starter and main but very good food our son who is 23 a very plane eater and he was fine and on a couple of occasions eat off the kids menu lol which the staff were happy to accommodate this was the evening meal the breakfast was buffet and more than enough choice for anyone hot food, cereal , cold meats, bakery, yogurts, fruit, the eggs are scrambled or boiled but you can ask for fried and they are happy to do them, you can also ask for cappuccino which we found out on the 2nd to last day. The staff are all very polite on reception , the restaurant , and the whole hotel , the boot room staff are very helpfull and all the staff speak good English, the free wifi was great in the rooms, we was given a free bottle of wine on arrival in our room, the spa area is very nice warm pool, sauna, and steam room all free, the hotel is right in the village near the shops and bars, we didn't drink in the hotel bar as we went out most nights and the prices in the hotel bar are higher as they are in all hotels, the rooms are very hot but I would prefer this than cold after a day on the slopes it wasn't a problem to us we just opened the door a little at times when we got to hot. We had 3 rooms 2x superior and 1 x standard as this was all that was left when I booked they were all very nice the superior are slightly bigger as the don't have a balcony but the standard have a balcony apart from that the same finish which was very nice. The skiing in Val was great our party of 6 all enjoyed it 2x Boarders age 26, 3x good skiers age 49, 23, 18 and me a blue run skier and I managed to ski to Tignes all on blues and ski to the Glacier all on blues perfect holiday will deffently go back and we will stay at this hotel. My only down is check the price of your ski hire if you are hiring from hotel shop as we didnt and it wasn't displayed and it was a lot more expensive than places outside but the reception did cut the price a bit for us as we explained it was a lot more and wasn't displayed but this was our fault for not checking first. Great Hotel

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper probably wouldn't want to be near the church as they ring the bells at 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentCandy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I have just returned today 9th of February, from the L'Aigle des neiges, firstly on the positive side, we would like to say this hotel has been very well renovated and the restaurant staff were excellent, especially Tomas and Pauline, who always made you welcome.

We stayed on the first floor and the noise wasn't as bad as some previous reviewers have mentioned. The room was extremely clean, well presented and a nice bathroom, only downside could be slightly bigger.
The Ski boot room staff and location was excellent, and only about 100m to the slopes, which we could actually ski back to the door each day, due to Snow.

The only down sides with this hotel, are the bar prices compared to the local bars and the choice of food on half board in the evening, which eventhough was extremely good quality, we believe the odd variation on a theme would be more appropriate, and especially being in France either a Fondue or Raclette night would have gone down well.
The spa facility was excellent, however try to avoid the rush between 4-5pm.

The location is second to none and we would return in the future..

We hope this helps you choice wisely

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#6 of 39 in Val d'Isere
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Avancher
Hotel L'Avancher
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges

Property: Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Address: Place de l'Eglise, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
#1 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#9 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old village, the Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges**** at 1800 m high, with its wooden structure and its slate roof, is ideally located just at a few steps from the slopes and Espace Killy olympic downhill ski area. Offering 109 spacious and comfortable rooms, the hotel combines perfectly modernity and tradition in its interior decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Aigle Des Neiges France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing