We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We are just back from our Fabulous. Holiday at this hotel, one of the best hotels we have stayed at on a ski holiday, we travel to a different place each year for skiing so this was our first time in Val, The hotel was right near the slopes, the food was excellent, only 2 x choices of starter and main but very good food our son who is 23 a very plane eater and he was fine and on a couple of occasions eat off the kids menu lol which the staff were happy to accommodate this was the evening meal the breakfast was buffet and more than enough choice for anyone hot food, cereal , cold meats, bakery, yogurts, fruit, the eggs are scrambled or boiled but you can ask for fried and they are happy to do them, you can also ask for cappuccino which we found out on the 2nd to last day. The staff are all very polite on reception , the restaurant , and the whole hotel , the boot room staff are very helpfull and all the staff speak good English, the free wifi was great in the rooms, we was given a free bottle of wine on arrival in our room, the spa area is very nice warm pool, sauna, and steam room all free, the hotel is right in the village near the shops and bars, we didn't drink in the hotel bar as we went out most nights and the prices in the hotel bar are higher as they are in all hotels, the rooms are very hot but I would prefer this than cold after a day on the slopes it wasn't a problem to us we just opened the door a little at times when we got to hot. We had 3 rooms 2x superior and 1 x standard as this was all that was left when I booked they were all very nice the superior are slightly bigger as the don't have a balcony but the standard have a balcony apart from that the same finish which was very nice. The skiing in Val was great our party of 6 all enjoyed it 2x Boarders age 26, 3x good skiers age 49, 23, 18 and me a blue run skier and I managed to ski to Tignes all on blues and ski to the Glacier all on blues perfect holiday will deffently go back and we will stay at this hotel. My only down is check the price of your ski hire if you are hiring from hotel shop as we didnt and it wasn't displayed and it was a lot more expensive than places outside but the reception did cut the price a bit for us as we explained it was a lot more and wasn't displayed but this was our fault for not checking first. Great Hotel

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper probably wouldn't want to be near the church as they ring the bells at 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentCandy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    118
    33
    22
    15
See reviews for
124
161
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I have just returned today 9th of February, from the L'Aigle des neiges, firstly on the positive side, we would like to say this hotel has been very well renovated and the restaurant staff were excellent, especially Tomas and Pauline, who always made you welcome.

We stayed on the first floor and the noise wasn't as bad as some previous reviewers have mentioned. The room was extremely clean, well presented and a nice bathroom, only downside could be slightly bigger.
The Ski boot room staff and location was excellent, and only about 100m to the slopes, which we could actually ski back to the door each day, due to Snow.

The only down sides with this hotel, are the bar prices compared to the local bars and the choice of food on half board in the evening, which eventhough was extremely good quality, we believe the odd variation on a theme would be more appropriate, and especially being in France either a Fondue or Raclette night would have gone down well.
The spa facility was excellent, however try to avoid the rush between 4-5pm.

The location is second to none and we would return in the future..

We hope this helps you choice wisely

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for my birthday celebrations and thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay. We had 4 rooms for 5 of us and were all very happy with the accomodation. The heat of the rooms, including all public areas, is however, stifling - but worse in other hotels in Val! Staff in all areas were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is located very close to the slopes to the extent that on most of our 7 day stay, we could ski to door. The staff in the boot room were fantastic - very helpful/friendly too. The restaurant service and quality of food was exceptional. I can agree with the previous reviewer that the bar lacked atmosphere - on Thursday and Friday this changed dramatically! Nevertheless we were able to build a raport with the staff. Yep, bar prices weren't cheap, but we didn't really expect them to be. Because of the heat in the rooms, had to leave the balcony door open each night, which did unfortunately expose me to noise. Exuberant young people returning home after clubbing coupled with Mr JCB moving snow at 7am, didnt bode well for us light sleeper's but this would not be a deterrent to chosing this hotel for my next visit to Val. Service, location and comfort definately prevail.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The location of this hotel was very good and really convenient for the slopes. Many other bars, restaurants and shops were all within walking distance. However from the moment we arrived the heat in the hotel was stifling! This was constant regardless of which part of the hotel we were in. Although the hotel was recently refurbished and we were in a superior room I was a bit disappointed with the size and finish. It was small with little room for two people to get ready so I'd be surprised that they say this room could be used for 3 people. I'd also have thought that a superior room would have had a balcony but no again seemingly short on space. The quality of the bedding also seemed a little on the cheap side.

The staff were all good, but the staff in the boot room really shone in terms of service and having a personality. This was one of the best parts of the hotel.
However I was extremely disappointed with the bar - firstly little or no atmosphere. I can only imagine this was down to the extortionate prices. I'd like to put this to context - I have skied the last 3 years in Zermatt and I am totally used to high prices whilst skiing but this hotel took it to a whole new level. Two beers and two spirits with mixers was almost €60!

Overall it was good but if they wish to get more atmosphere into the hotel they need to have a look round at their competition in the resort. I have been in catered chalets the last two years with Scott Dunn and its likely that I will take this approach next time for service and value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackiet754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great location for the slopes and for the town. The staff were very friendly and helpful and food was good. We were booked as bed and breakfast but could easily change to demi-pension when needed. Nice bar for apres-ski and after diner drinks. Good, albeit small pool with sauna and steam room to aid recovery from days skiing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have just had a 4 night stay in this hotel. Had a really enjoyable and would recommend it to friends.
Positive points:
Really good location as very close to slopes and the centre of the village yet not on the main road so no traffic noise
Recently refurbished so nice modern feel to it
Staff very helpful and friendly
Good bar
Rooms very clean and maid visits twice a day to tidy and provide clean towels etc. weather report card for following day left in room every evening and chocolate on bed
Lots of space for clothes, bags, ski gear
Boot room is incredibly clean and warm and the staff are really helpful
Spa was amazing - pool area lovely and great range of treatments
Negative points:
Rooms are small - a bit of a squeeze moving round the bed and bathroom can only fit one person in at a time
No tea or coffee making facilities in the room
Breakfasts are expensive - we preferred to eat out instead
Our room - 103 - experienced some noise from the bar on the ground floor although stopped at about 11pm so not a huge problem to us
Walls very thin between bedrooms.......we could hear some 'bathroom' noise!

In balance, would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms 100-109 as get bar noise from below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in Val d'Isere last year and its a fantastic place to ski, we absolutely love the resort. We normally ski in a large group so we tend to take over a chalet last year we stayed at Chalet Bellvarde which is a 4* chalet run by VIP SKI and it was great. As there was only four of us this year and it was a special birthday for one of us we decided to book the Aigle des Neiges - we were expecting great things...we were very disapointed. The hotel is very contemporary in design and has tried to create a sophisticated vibe, however there isnt any real substance to it, I dont think the staff understand that a 4* hotel needs to offer 4* service and that takes a little effort and a little care. The food was absolutely appalling, aside from the fact there was little choice, the quality was just terrible. I am vegetarian and apart from the soup starter there was absolutely nothing for more, when I asked the staff they looked at me blankly, on the first night I was given two side dishes of the meat courses veg...dried up macoroni cheese and sliced courgettes, the waitress said I needed to go to reception the next morning and they would speak to the chef and organise something for me for the rest of the week. Which we did, however the staff on reception we very disinterested and dismissive (in particular a lady was very rude) and told us to speak to the waitress again at night...I went back to complain in the afternoon and I did get a risotto that evening, unfotunately that is what I go the next night and after that we gave up and ate elsewhere (it wasnt just the difficulty in my food, the standard of the food overall was awful). Lots of the walls particularily in the dining room was very scuffed, the staff were a little scuffy especailly in the dining room. On a plus side the guys in the boot room were brilliant! This hotel survives on its location only!

Room Tip: The standard double rooms are very small and very hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyCapener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aigledesneiges, Directeur général at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Madam Capener,

Further to your email, we are sorry to read your comment concerning your stay in January. In our half-board offer, you have the choice between 2 appetizers (soup or cold dish), 2 main dishes (fish or meat) and then cheeses and desserts in buffet, not specially adapted for vegetarian people.
The agency you booked through, booked a stay on half-board, they never specified that you were vegetarian.
With this type of information prior your arrival, we would have tried to adapt the menu for you. I apologize for the inconvenience.
Concerning our staff, I am really surprised by your comment we have the same staff for 3 winters and we have very good comments; Our goal is to be professional and to keep a good image of our hotel.

We stay at your disposal,

Best Regards

Emilie PAJEVIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#13 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges

Property: Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Address: Place de l'Eglise, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
#2 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#9 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old village, the Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges**** at 1800 m high, with its wooden structure and its slate roof, is ideally located just at a few steps from the slopes and Espace Killy olympic downhill ski area. Offering 109 spacious and comfortable rooms, the hotel combines perfectly modernity and tradition in its interior decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Aigle Des Neiges France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing