We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, but awful service/management.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eureka Val Residence
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The rooms were spacious, clean and well-kitted out. No complaints at all.

However the lady who ran the place was awful. Rude, obsessive, and even swore at us thinking we could not understand her.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Leon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 36 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

The apartments were fine (but some are a little on the small side for 6 people), but the owner of the hotel is the rudest person I have ever come across. I would not wish her upon anyone, so please do not stay here! On the last day's 'room inspections' she screamed in our faces and swore at us in French because in one room (of 9 rooms that our party were staying in) there was a tiny mark left on the hob and some crumbs left behind the kitchen bin. She completely flew off the handle when told that we had lost a set of keys, shouting ''You will pay for this! I will make you pay more than your holiday cost you!'', before grabbing my arm and forcing us out of the room. During the stay, the reception was never open (it seems the owner is the only member of staff), and when the 4 of us (of the party of 54) who were staying an extra night at the end of the holiday tried to find the owner to ask a few simple questions, she refused to speak to us, slamming doors in our faces and shouting at us to go away. She only spoke (shouted) to us when she came to dump some rubbish outside our door, telling us ''You clear this up'', and when I then tried to ask her a question, she cut me off with ''No, I'm not here. You just clean your room!'' before storming off. More worryingly, she did not return the photocopies of our credit cards that she took at the beginning of the holiday, despite being told that we would get them back. I have never been treated so disgustingly by anyone, let alone by someone to whom I am a paying customer. Please don't risk putting yourself through this!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dulcie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Whilst the rooms are fantastic quality we were so badly treated by the management that I thoroughly suggest that no one visits this hotel. The manager refused us entrance to the jacuzzi despite the fact that we chose the hotel because it had one. Throughout the entire week the reception was only manned for less than one hour a day, meaning that when ever there were problems with the rooms, such as the hob and oven blowing a fuse, we were unable to have them fixed. When one of my friends came down to the reception wrapped in a blanket he was met with a torrent of abuse. She proceeded to scream at him for twenty minutes, even though he aplogised repeatedly. Later at the end of the week when our friends were handing the rooms back we were again met by extreme hostility. When she found a cigarette butt that had been accidently tracked into the room and under a bed she threatened to charge them more than they had paid for the entire week. She spent over half an hour screaming at my friend, using racist colloquial French. I would thoroughly recommend that no one ever use this hotel again until the woman who works there is replaced.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs, not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The place itself is well kept and in a great location with Ski in, Ski out, however the receptionist herself had absolutely no sense of customer service and was extremely rude to everyone that I spoke to staying in the residence at the same time as us, including myself. We arrived a few hours early for the check in, so understandably we were not able to get into our rooms. However, the receptionist's welcome was extremely rude and despite my explaining to her in fluent french, and showing her all the appropriate documents she would not even let us into the reception area so we could at least wait in the warm, leaving us outside in the cold for 2 hours before we eventually convinced her to let us in. Knowing full well that I spoke French the way she spoke about me and my Friend on the phone when trying to check that we were who we said we were was entirely inappropriate to customers staying in the accommodation, making it quite clear that she would rather we weren't there. Other than that I had no direct conflicts with her although she maintained a consistently aggressive and unwelcoming manner whenever we passed in the accommodation. I heard only bad reports about her interaction with people in the accommodation to the point of her directly screaming and shouting at some people. She really did ruin the experience of such nice accommodation. Whilst she was still working there I would not consider going back to Eureka Val. She had clearly made outrageous assumptions about student ski trips and was determined to find us at fault upon our arrival despite having caused no damage, nor provoking any cause for offense.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BlessBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

The way we were treated was disgusting. The hotel was fine enough and the apartments were clean, however on the last day of the holiday when it came to leave we could not find the remote control to the tv.
The owner of the hotel, a french lady who could speak fairly good english went absolutely mental. We were completely fine with paying the cost of a new remote control, (we had swiped a credit card at the start of the week as a 200 euro deposit) however the owner proceeded to scream in my face literally inches away from myself and my female friend. She refused to let us leave the room shouting and screaming, cursing us in french (probably thinking i couldnt understand) and called us "theives" and "disgusting".
When our holiday group leader arrived to try and sort out the problem, even offering to drive to the nearest city and buy one by the next morning, she went crazy at him and kicked him out of the hotel.
She carried on screaming at me for over half an hour finally saying she was going to charge us the full 200 euros for this remote control. Needless to say we cancelled our credit card so she could not.

We were not the only ones to have this problem, one room broke a lightbulb during their stay, they bought another lightbulb but due to the complex set up of the lighting they could not replace it without proper tools. This was not good enough for the hotel owner who screamed and shoted at them and in the end they had to jump off the balcony to exit the hotel as she was refusing to let them leave locking their door from the inside and holding their key.

Absolutely disgusting behaviour. Stay away at all costs.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Wakeboardengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank soso91200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Txikitodepuiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.6 mi away
Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
#29 of 39 in Val d'Isere
69 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Balcons de Bellevarde
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Auberge Saint-Hubert
Auberge Saint-Hubert
#23 of 39 in Val d'Isere
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Med Val d'Isere
Club Med Val d'Isere
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eureka Val Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eureka Val Residence

Address: rue de la Legettaz, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Val d'Isere
Price Range: $163 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eureka Val Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eureka Val Residence Hotel
Eureka Val Residence France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing