We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An exceptional small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Les Grillons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Les Grillons
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Talloires
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An exceptional small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed a week on half board at this hotel. From the moment of greeting to the farewell, it was exceptional in so many ways. A family run hotel, the service was outstanding, friendly without being intrusive. Whilst the staff invariably spoke English very well, they were happy to patiently indulge in the writer's mediocre attempts to speak French. The food was consistently brilliant, and perhaps the most outstanding feature of our stay. You would not want to eat anywhere else. The wines were varied and at very reasonable cost. The rooms were airy, very comfortable and well maintained. We had a balcony which was well worth the additional cost, and had wonderful views over lake and mountains I can't recommend this hotel too much, though I would say that (except I believe in high season) the public transport is a little irregular and if you are travelling independently, a car is useful if you want to get around easily.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor with a balcony for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    54
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
97
217
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Out Rawcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was the major part of a fabulous holiday booked through Travel Editions to Lake Annecy where we visited by coach, Chamonix, Annecy, Lac Leman, Evian, Yvoire & Geneva. Our hotel by Lake Annecy was really delightful with a relaxing lounge/bar & a restaurant to die for! We are experienced travellers especially in France & we can say that this was the best food we have ever eaten in France. The menus were advised beforehand & were well thought through-altogether an ageeable & rewarding affair. The hotel was charming as were the staff; although we didn't need a lift, others might and one is being fitted now. Our bedroom overlooked part of the garden but others overlooked the lake & mountains of breathtaking proportions. A car would be necessary but we were on a tour; we had time to walk into the model village of Talloires, where we bought some pottery from the in situ potter. Also a little supermarket meant that we could have lunch in our room on any day were we not on a tour. Altogether a great time.

Room Tip: All rooms were good, we heard nothing to the contrary but a view over the lake which took in the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We travelled here on our honeymoon this year. We spent a week in Les Grillons, and it was perfect for us. In no particular order - the good points:-

Very quiet area, quiet hotel, small number of rooms - which is what we wanted, frequented by the older traveller, we were the youngest occupants by about 30 years! We were looked after very well, with complimentary champagne and canapes one night for us as a surprise as honeymooners.

The owner Aurelie speaks perfect English, (helpful/reassuring incase of any disasters) and was always polite and helpful. She helped up choose local wine for our meals, told us the best things to see on day trips and generally chatted about France and the hotel etc if you wanted to talk. The whole place is so professionally run.

Food phenomenal, 5* or better, you wouldnt get food like this in England without paying £70+/night/couple. Absolutely beautiful. 4 courses every night, no choice but I ate everything and was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked EVERYTHING I ate. If you dont want something, just tell reception and they will switch it for you. Waiters young and fun, most speak great English, a few dont, so plenty of time to work on your French!

If you wanted free packed lunch, just ask at reception the previous evening - simple but filling if you're on a budget.
Breakfast standard continental buffet, pain au choc/cereal/homemade jams/compotes etc. Lovely.

Lounge area modern, comfy sofas, and the bar staff would always pop over to check if you wanted a coffee or a cocktail.

Easy public bus ride to Annecy 35mins 1.50 euro each one way. 25min walk to Talloire for small shops, supermarket etc. Plenty of walking/hiking routes nearby with fabulous views. Free boat tickets for a lake trip included in our stay through Inghams.

View of lake from room, snow-capped mountains, perfect.

We were told no shower, but I think all the rooms now have showers and baths and separate toilets. Also all have kingsize beds now. Decor dated, but we werent there for the room, and it was kept immaculately clean. Safe in room, complimentary toiletries. Lovely towels. Pool towels also provided as required.

Pool not heated, but jacuzzi lovely and warm

Negatives - room had no fan or AC so we got rather hot overnight, even with windows open. No lift - a problem for some of the older travellers.

Very relaxed atmosphere, wonderful trip away, cannot emphasize enough how good the food is!

Room Tip: Lake views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Ayrshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed for 4 days as a single traveller. My room was a large double (the bed would comfortably have taken 5!). There was a bathroom with an excellent shower & toiletries were updated daily. The towels were great - good quality. The toilet was alone in a separate room. The large wardrobe space was accessed by another door & had good hanging space - probably about a dozen coat hangers. There was an easy to use safe. I had no view to speak off as I overlooked the car park.
The bedroom & all public areas were kept spotless. The pool area was great. Although the weather was really hot during my trip the pool area was very quiet - never more than 7 people using it at any one time. There were ample sun loungers around the pool & also in the gardens.
The terrace was nice - again lots of chairs & tables - meals could be taken here if you wished. The weather was too good to sit inside but the lounge area again looked welcolming & spacious.
Breakfast was ample - cereal, fresh fruit, yoghiurt, pastries, various breads, cheeses & boiled eggs. Dinner were a marvellous affair. There were 4 courses in all & the menu for the day was advertised at breakfast - if you didn't like anything on offer an alternative would be supplied. I thought the food was all excellent - great variety & decent size helpings. As part of the deal a packed lunch was available but I didn't take up this offer as I felt I had enough with the brekfats & dinner.
The hotel is located in the village of Angon approximately a 20 min walk from Talloires itself. The walk is pleasant. The whole area is still very quiet & ideal for a relaxing break to recharge your batteries/

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizaDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited this hotel as part of a tour of this part of France. The hotel is family owned and run by people who really care about their customers. We had a wonderful room with balcony overlooking beautiful gardens and a lovely swimming pool. In the background was Lake Annecy, which is only a few minutes walk across the road. The mountains were snow covered and looked amazing.
Food was magnificent and well presented. They catered for a special diet need with thought, care , consideration and a personal attention to detail not often found in hotel restaurants.
The swimming pool was lovely. Would certainly strongly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Wow, what a truly lovely hotel, we had a room with a lake view and it is probably one of the loveliest views ever !!!
Staff were so friendly , helpful and nothing was to much trouble, the rooms were large, very very clean and comfortable.
Food was also excellent, breakfast continental buffet style , very very good.
Would we stay there again, most definitely, hopefully not too long !!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loni353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I will say one word "EXCELLENT " you will not find better in this area for this amazing price. The staff is very nice, very professional and very attentive.
My room 13 was overlooking the lake, wow, what a view.
The food is very good, with Incredible cheap wine like a glass of cotes du rhone for 3.5 euros and very descent. Again, I will say one word EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pascald1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talloires
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
#4 of 10 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Cottage Bise
Le Cottage Bise
#2 of 10 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#5 of 10 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#3 of 10 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.1 mi away
Logis La Charpenterie
Logis La Charpenterie
#7 of 10 in Talloires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
6.7 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Grillons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Grillons

Property: Hotel Les Grillons
Address: 1199 Route d Angon, 74290 Talloires, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Talloires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Talloires
#1 Best Value Hotel in Talloires
#1 Family Hotel in Talloires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Grillons 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Les Grillons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Grillons Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing