We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be a great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was our third visit, the previous two being in a group driving interesting cars to Cannes on the fabulous Route Napoleon so we knew the hotel and it's wonderful location very well. On arrival our luggage was collected from our car and promptly taken to our room. The receptionist booked us in very speedily and things looked good. The rooms are of modest size but very pleasant and fitted out well. It had been a long drive so a mid afternoon drink was required. The bar was empty and after some time the receptionist stopped taking phone calls to deal with our request. Sadly there was no beer, tea or anything else available as it was the staff day off! We were directed to the very pleasant restaurant alongside and enjoyed our refreshment sitting in the garden overlooking the lake. There was no dinner at l'Abbaye on a Tuesday either so we went and had an excellent meal outside in the adjoining restaurant. The next morning staff did appear and an adequate breakfast was served. After an interesting trip round the lake on the lovely ferry we decided to go for a walk and reception gave us a walking route that turned out to be out of date do we were unable to complete the expedition. That evening our friends arrived. There was no one to move the luggage as it was the porters day off and there was no other provision! Take your own or leave it in your car was the choice. Drinks were back on that evening followed by dinner that was good but the service was rather condescending. We left the following morning but our friends stayed on another night and chose to have both breakfast and dinner at the lovely restaurant next door with much more pleasurable results. This is a great and historic hotel building in an amazing position alongside one of Frances's most beautiful lakes and it should be top class. However I am at a loss as to how it retains 4* rating when on some days a cup of tea or a beer is not available.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the lake and others have a tiny balcony from which you can see the lake. All are qui...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear guest,

we are very thankful that often the old or special car journeys make a stop in Abbaye de Talloires. It often happends in the beginning of the week being first or second stop of the journey and it is the first time that I read comments like this, on the contrary we have groups coming back for years!

I can not understand that what you are describing could really happend in our hotel!
It is true that Monday and Tuesday, in off season only!, the restaurant is closed and our staff reduced, but being manager for 12 years in Abbaye I have never seen someone carring his own luggage unless he insisted so. There is always somebody to give a hand at whatever moment!
The clients are informed that the restaurant is closed and we are happy to help you with reservations at our neibourgh hotels or restaurants.
And as far as I can remeber, we opened the restaurant for your group.
Also, we have never refused a drink to a guest at any moment. Nor a snack! How many times I have prepared it myself if my staff was occupied!
And breakfast is served 7 days a week, so I really do not understand where your experience is coming from.

During the closing of the restaurant, the atmosphere in the hotel is not the same, I agree, but we try hard to guarantee the same service.
If we failed with you, please except our appologies.

Very best regards from Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 438 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

Wonderful! The view from our room was magical, changed as the sun moved across the sky and truly felt like we were watching a film, it was breathtaking. The hotel staff are lovely, knew (and correctly pronounced our name!) as soon as we walked into reception. Terrific service from the first moment to the last. We even received a greeting card this past Christmas from the staff with the kindest wishes for our family. The room was immaculate and clean, in perfect condition with nice products in the bath. I was pregnant during our visit and they could not have been more kind and accommodating to my dietary requirements. The cheese cart at dinner, the freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast, the delightful chocolates left in our room were just pieces of the whole beautiful dream. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: a view of the lake is absolutely required. wonderful
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteelMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear guest,

we are deeply touched by your report.

For us it was a pleasure having you among us and even greater pleasure to read that we've succeeded in making your stay a memorable one.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back next time.

Warm regards from Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We spent a weekend there and it was such a wonderful experience. The setting was spectacular, great for a romantic escape, to recharge your batteries or simply indulge in the exquisite French cuisine and wine! The entire hotel staff is attentive and it feels like coming home. This is a little piece of paradise that I would recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: The superior room with the wonderful bath tub, despite the lack of sea view is quiet and spacious. L...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 575Cathy_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your warm remarks.
In fact also we, who work here, think it is a piece of paradise and we are so happy to be able to share it with our guests.
Please come back, every season has so much to offer what makes this place completely diffrent each time. Our staff though gives its utmost at any time in order to make your stay always memorable.
We sincerly hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Very best regards from sunny Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I drove from London to Monaco and used this beautiful hotel on route. The visit was brief but memorable for the right reasons.

Following a Champagne reception, a group of us sat around an enormous dinning table and enjoyed some of the most exquisite french cuisine.The food and wine were of a very high standard. Not at all cheap but fabulous.

The rooms were of a top standard as expected for such an establishment.

The early morning view over the lake was stunning. 'Like being on a set from a James Bond Film....

We will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whistable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for these kind words.
It is always a pleasure having the magnificent cars parked in front of the Abbaye, you are right, sometimes we too, have the feeling of being on the set of James Bond ( or some other film!).
I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your evening, the " Ermengarde " dining room was a refectorium of the monks many hundred years ago, the fire place and the high wooden ceiling make it really special.
We might have some prices taht are more expensive than some of our colleagues, but please consider that the costs are really not the same as in some modern hotel.
We will be always glad to have you back and we will try to utmost ouverselves again.
Very best regards from sunny Talloires in winter

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in teh Abbaye for one night in August. Everything was lovely, icluding rooms, service and a stunning location by the lake. The restaurant is beautiful and food and wine are of very high standar. We will certainly come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natale90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013
Google Translation

Chère Madame, cher Monsieur,

tout simplement merci.
Nous nous réjouissons d'ores et dèja de vous accueillir une prochaine fois.
Très cordialement de Talloires ensoleillé


Dunja Kirchner
Directrice générale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I booked the abbaye as a treat and because it has a good write up, lots of facilities and a great location. It does have a great location, the rooms have super views. But, the facilites are meagre. The promised cycling wasn't available, the promised kayaking wasn't available. The jacuzzi was always full. The pre-booked massages weren't organised as we'd agreed. Breakfast was good - but only because I'd negotiated it for free using a trip advisor offer. Summary - super location but stay somewhere else.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jenny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear guest,

it was nice having you with us, thank you for reserving directly via TripAdvisor, we were glad to offer you a breakfast.

I am very sorry that all you have appreciated about the Abbaye was the location. The extra sport activities that we offer to our guest depend on the availability of the suppliers. They decide when they finish to offer their services and as this year the weather in October was not very nice some of them have stopped their activities earlier as normal.
We are glad to offer this service to our guests but as we precise it all over it depends on the season and the availability of the suppliers, so I can understand that you were disappointed not being able to exercise the sports you wanted.

Abbaye is definitely more than just a location, I am sorry we were not capable to make you feel it this way.

Should you change your mind and will come back, we will be more than happy to prove it.

Very best regards from Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

excellent hotel service and staff beautiful setting definitely worth a visit one of the most beautiful locations caught the concerts with superb firework show in talloires brilliant once again thnks to the staff for their kindness and thoughtfulness especially the young waitress who kindly put a shawl over my shoulders when it was a slightly cool afternoon such a lovely thing to do ps the food is out of this world at the very least 5 stars xx

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear client,

it was a great pleasure having you among us and we are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

The well being of our guests is our first concern and it is nice to hear the small gestures we make for our clients are appreciated.

We would love to welcome you back whenever you should come in our region again.

Very best regards from sunny Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talloires
0.1 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#5 of 9 in Talloires
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Palace de Menthon
Le Palace de Menthon
#1 of 2 in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cottage Bise
Le Cottage Bise
#2 of 9 in Talloires
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#3 of 9 in Talloires
223 reviews
5.4 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#6 of 9 in Talloires
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbaye de Talloires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbaye de Talloires

Address: 2 Chemin des Moines | Le Port, 74290 Talloires, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Talloires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Price Range: $162 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abbaye de Talloires 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talloires, the most beautiful place on Lake Annecy is the home to the Abbaye de Talloires, one of the most extraordinary hotels in Annecy. It has everything: centuries of history, a long list of celebrities who have stayed there such as Mark Twain, Paul Cezanne and Jean Reno amongst many others. Fine dining is assured with the Aux Jardins des Delices gourmet restaurant and the light cuisine with the La Table de Cezanne brasserie-restaurant at lunchtime during summer. The historical wine cellar is filled with hidden treasures. Rooms and suites, each one different from the other are offering breathtaking views. The cosy and welcoming Spa; the vaulted bar for romantic evenings; the pontoon equipped with beach beds to escape the world, a wide choice of cultural and sporting activities and so many more. But, above all, it's the people who work here that make this hotel such a special place to stay, the Abbaye de Talloires is the only hotel in France to win twice ( 2009 and 2013 ) 4* et 5* Hotel Customers Trophy Award for its quality of service! ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abbaye de Talloires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing