We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean and Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Hotel Saint-Etienne Monthieu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Hotel Saint-Etienne Monthieu
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Saint-Etienne
loire valley
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clean and Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We needed a bed for the night as we were at a conference in Lyon and could not find accomadation in Lyon. The rooms and hotel was spotless. The beds comfortable and just loved the quilt, something that so many hotels in France do not have, I hate blankets. In all this hotel offers great value for money and the Breakfast is worth every penny and the receptionist is friendly and welcoming. Next time I have to go to Lyon, we will stay here. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lecalabash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    44
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
18
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Spartan but clean, thin hard bed, one pillow each, skimpy pretty much on everything. It is not manned 24 hours, you can get in using a kiosk if you remember your confirmation no. and use the card you booked with. Secure parking, remember your room code as you will need it to unlock the gate if you need to get out early or come in late. Price was 47 Eur for one night, good value but unable to sleep much due to the extremely hard bed and no AC. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrqcace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This hotel is out of the city but we chose it for the secure parking which was free. The room was clean & adequate but extremely hard mattresses - I had to fold the doona to sleep on as the bed was so hard.
It is within easy walking distance to the bus to the city centre & also to a shopping centre for evening meals and/or shopping requirements.
Staff were very helpful & pleasant & breakfast was sufficient to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavros66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

sitting in an ugly hypermarket zone of Saint Etienne, very far from downtown. As it's new it's room are not so bad but they're very basic. Not expensive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

This hotel is located near the autoroute, but far enough away to not be disturbed by the noise. It is an ideal midway stop when travelling in east-west direction in France. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and the breakfast a bit better than one normally get at these no frills hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grebnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Etienne hotels
0.9 mi away
Kyriad Saint Etienne Centre
Kyriad Saint Etienne Centre
#4 of 26 in Saint-Etienne
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Etienne
Ibis Budget Saint Etienne
#8 of 26 in Saint-Etienne
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
3.2 mi away
Campanile Saint Etienne Centre - Villars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Saint Etienne
B&B Hotel Saint Etienne
#2 of 3 in Villars
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
1.9 mi away
City Lofthotel Saint-Etienne
City Lofthotel Saint-Etienne
#3 of 26 in Saint-Etienne
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#5 of 26 in Saint-Etienne
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Saint-Etienne Monthieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Saint-Etienne Monthieu

Property: B&B Hotel Saint-Etienne Monthieu
Address: 17 Rue Marc Charras, 42100, Saint-Etienne, France (Formerly Hotel Arena)
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Loire > Saint-Etienne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Saint-Etienne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Hotel Saint-Etienne Monthieu 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Hotel in Saint-Etienne Monthieu Looking for a great value hotel in Rhône-Alpes? Welcome to the Saint-Etienne Monthieu B&B hotel. A hotel close to the centre of Saint-Etienne and the Geoffroy Guichard stadium Easily accessible, the Saint-Etienne Monthieu B&B hotel is 3.5 km from the Saint-Etienne-Châteaucreux train station, less than 4km from the A72 and 18km from Saint-Etienne airport. A great value hotel with all facilities in Saint-Etienne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, B&B Hotels France, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your B&B Hotel Saint-Etienne Monthieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing