We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Cite medievale de Perouges
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Perouges
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Mexico
Level Contributor
580 reviews
309 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Perouges is a sweet, hilltop slice of medieval France. We went on a Monday when many of the demonstration shops were closed but it was lovely to walk around the town, read the placards and feel what life was like in the 1400's. If traveling from Lyon, take the bus - it drops you a 15" walk from Perouges and is a bargain at 2 euros. The bus trip takes just over an hour each way.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank NewMexicoSilverqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    254
    42
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Meximieux, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“kinda boring”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

the restaurants are very limited and not really interesting too, menu is so boring , everyone had the same thing on their menu

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank prissydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTPEROUGES, Directeur général at Cite medievale de Perouges, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hello,

we have 5 restaurants into the medieval city. It is not that limited. They have regional food so you'll find some similar dishes indeed.
What would be an exciting menu for you ? You can maybe give some suggestion to help the restaurants to be more attractive.
Thank you for your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Perrouges is not totally ruined by cars.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I saw the review of Perrouges, and the writer was upset by the cars. People actually live in this town. I can't imagine carrying your groceries from the outside city walls. There's no market inside. It's a beautiful midieval city, and if you're lucky enough to be near it, stop and enjoy. By the way, the day we were there, there were no more than 2 cars inside the gates.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CAwinediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Totally ruined by cars!!! Shame, shame, shame”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stay away from this place. The village is totally ruined by cars (see attached photos). I'm still wondering how so many cars can be allowed inside the village? I have been living in a similar historical place myself for 5 years but cars were totally banned (strictly enforced). If you live in such a place, you just comply to the rules or you leave it. Period. And don't tell me you did not know. Until cars are REALLY banned, just stay away from this place. Highly NOT recommended as of today (01/2013).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Koizumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTPEROUGES, Responsable réception at Cite medievale de Perouges, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hello,

unfortunately cars are not forbidden into the mediavl city all year long. The inhabitants don't have a place to park their cars safely, so they continue to let cars into the historical village.
We know that it is very ugly and unpleasant but for the moment none solution is found.
It is forbiddent to park on the public square at the center but people are disrespectful and the authorities are not repressives. So we are sorry that you have found so many cars during your visit.
Thank you for your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalon-sur-Saone, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place, but the restaurants need to have fewer tourists!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Beautiful village. But the restaurants were a little too accustomed to thousands of tourists who may come only once! So less concerned to give good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Prof John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cite medievale de Perouges also viewed

 

Been to Cite medievale de Perouges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing