We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MEILLEUR OUVRIER DU FRANCE AND THREE STARS”
Review of Flocons de Sel

Flocons de Sel
Ranked #1 of 123 Restaurants in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $112 - $248
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
GREECE
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“MEILLEUR OUVRIER DU FRANCE AND THREE STARS”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a rarity. The Megeve based restaurant ( it actually is after Rochebrun, quite far so don't despair.)is the best in the region. Beware, the stars don't come cheap. But best and cheap is something that I personally did not come across in my 50 years of travelling. Good and cheaper, yes, but best and cheap, no. There is a menu called Promenade du sel au sucre that has all the initial plates and flavors of chef Emmanuel Renaut. ( The surname is pronounced like the car.) that will blow your mind off. Four persons with champagne aperitives and a reasonably priced (200$) Burgundy wine (they are milder and you can drink it with fish and meat.) will set you back a grand. But if you do it once a year the will go better just with the memory. You will notice that I gave four stars when my ratings of service etc. are all five stars.
IT IS THE SMOKING ROOM. The smoking room was not at all of all the other standards of the establishment. It is in the basement, just equal to the inquisition's torture chambers if you are a cigar smokers like myself. And on top of it you have to share it with fanatic petang (a bowling game that the French play with a vengeance) which produce a lot of dust. Or you can always go out AND FREEZE YOUR POPO OFF.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YakoDogiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    60
    29
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Best meal this year”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our first time to dine at a three star michelin restaurant and we still think it's the best meal we've had all year. The service was excellent and the tasting menu as well. I was able to order excellent wine by the glass, since we find a bottle too much. The dishes were original without trying too hard and my wife especially enjoyed the lamb. Presentation was top notch and the deserts very elaborate. I rarely use so many superlatives, but there really were no complaints. Maybe there was too much, since we barely had enough space to partake of their cheese cart. It's upscale and expensive without being pretentious or overpriced. In fact compared to the price of luxury French retaurants abroad or even in in Paris it was a bargain. As a bonus we were invited in the kitchen by Chef Renaud himself. We've dined at other starred restaurants since, but none have matched our meal at Flocons de Sel. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlogGrandVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“Deserve its 3 michelin Star”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is one of the many michelin star restaurants that we went. The roads up to the restaurant was quite dark and one needs to be very cautious when you drive. It was raining when we got there. One of the staff came out with an umbrella for us and park the car for us. Very thoughtful gesture:) The ambience of the restaurant is well lited, cosy. The tables between diners are well spaced. We were greeted by very warm staffs. The course of the meal was served not too fast nor slow. The portion of the food are well balanced and fantastic. One thing that I do noticed is they changed the napkin everytime one go off from the table. The staffs are very attentive as well. And we have a chance to meet the chef himself. It was a great and fantastic night:) Would love to go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jolala0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the Three Stars”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went for Sunday Lunch which was 80 euros for a five course tasting menu, which is a good price for a 3 Michelin star restaurant. Every course was excellent and the service was relaxed.
We had coffee on the terrace outside with great views of the valley.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The room lacked a bit of "warmth" but the food was excellent. Service: it depend who is serving you but overall ok.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nathaliepicard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flocons de Sel also viewed

Megeve, Haute-Savoie
Megeve, Haute-Savoie
 
Megeve, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Flocons de Sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing