We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a ski break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal Rochebrune
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a ski break”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had a fantastic long week-end ski break with friends staying at the Royal Rochebrune, and thought it was a great little hotel in a super location.

The hotel is located about 2 minutes walk from the Rochebrune gondola and chair lifts, so it's very easy to get onto the mountain and to ski back to. It's located in a small complex with a couple of ski shops (one of which will hold your skis overnight for you) and a small supermarket.

Our room was clean and comfortable with an en-suite bath/shower, TV, minibar, a small seating area and a large sliding window. There was plenty of cupboard space and enough room to unpack and move around, and no shortage of hot water.

Breakfast was excellent. It was a buffet with a hot option (bacon and boiled eggs) as well as a good selection of pastries, cereal, yoghurts, fruit, juices, etc.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Check-in / check-out was easy, they were able to arrange ski passes and restaurant bookings at reception. They also very kindly gave our entire group a late check-out, which they didn't have to but which we really appreciated and made our last day much easier.

There is free wi-fi in the hotel. Wi-fi reception in our room wasn't great, but there were plenty of sockets for chargers, etc.

We really enjoyed Megeve - it's a beautiful (and fairly up-market little town) with great restaurants and a picturesque square. Skiing was superb and we had plenty of snow in mid-March. The quick transfer time from Geneva (1h15 ish) makes this resort/hotel a great option for a short ski break or long weekend. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s4turnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intercorp_Group, La Réception at Hotel Royal Rochebrune, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear s4turnin,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Megève.
Secondly, we would like to let you know that your opinion is very important to us and we thank you once again for sharing it, this way we will be able to further improve the services and facilities of our hotel.

We hope having once again the opportunity to welcome you at any of our group’s resort.

Yours Faithfully,
Royal Rochebrune team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    55
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
40
46
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Resturant Staff were very nice and helpful and made our stay.

Breakfast was good and so were the evening meal, also wine was a reasonable price.

Value for money we are not sure, have never stayed in Megeve before and now realise it is an exspensive resort.

Rooms, comfy and cosy but a bit small, had a very large double bed which was extremely comfortable but too big for the room.

Desperately need some hooks to hang your ski gear.

Also balconies need to be described as standing room only.

Overall very enjoyable stay and the private transfers were value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtime007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intercorp_Group, La Réception at Hotel Royal Rochebrune, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear funtime007,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Megève.
Secondly, we would like to let you know that your opinion is very important to us and we thank you once again for sharing it, this way we will be able to further improve the services and facilities of our hotel.

We hope having once again the opportunity to welcome you at any of our group’s resort.

Yours Faithfully,
Royal Rochebrune team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is very convenient for skiiers being a two minute walk to the Rochbrunne cable car and to smaller lifts for beginners. There are a number of equipment rental shops where you can leave your skiis each night directly at the bottom of the piste (like Henry Sports) so that you don't need to lug your equipment around. The hotel can arrange your lift pass so you don't need to queue.

The rooms are small and fairly basic but are very clean. The hotel breakfast includes a wide variety of pastries, breads, yoghurts, cheese, ham and fruit. Bacon and eggs are also available. It is best to go to breakfast before 8,30 if you want pastries as certain types ran out around that time and weren't replenished.

The hotel can arrange airport transfers which are a lot cheaper than with private taxi firms - €150 to Geneva airport. The town centre is a twelve minute walk from the hotel. Getting a taxi into/ back from town is €15-18.

This is not an après ski hotel and did not appear to be in the lively part of town if you are looking for a party place.

Wifi is free and very fast in the rooms but fairly weak in the bar area.

All in all a very convenient base for skiing with friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank StarfishLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intercorp_Group, La Réception at Hotel Royal Rochebrune, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear StarfishLA,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Megève.
Secondly, we would like to let you know that your opinion is very important to us and we thank you once again for sharing it, this way we will be able to further improve the services and facilities of our hotel.

We hope having once again the opportunity to welcome you at any of our group’s resort.

Yours Faithfully,
Royal Rochebrune team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The staff were polite and helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent and fantastic value for money on the half board rate. Great proximity to the Rochebrune cable car, Ski Hire Shop and very handy for the free Ski Bus. We had a minor medical emergency right at the end of our stay and the Hotel & staff could not have been more accomodating or caring, we managed to extend our stay with ease and all the staff kept asking if everything was now better! The Hotel transfers from Geneva were first class and good value. Overall I would say a Hotel which appreciates the custom of it's guests!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intercorp_Group, La Réception at Hotel Royal Rochebrune, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Bill T,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Megève.
Secondly, we would like to let you know that your opinion is very important to us and we thank you once again for sharing it, this way we will be able to further improve the services and facilities of our hotel.

We hope having once again the opportunity to welcome you at any of our group’s resort.

Yours Faithfully,
Royal Rochebrune team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went to the Royal Rochebrune for a long weekend skiing in Megeve. The staff were very friendly, and upgraded us to a junior suite free of charge. The room was very nice and spacious, and clearly more comfortable than a standard room. Only downside was a lack of view as it was on the first floor. Ski-hire was very convenient from the very friendly and helpful Philippe Sports shop just next to the hotel, and the ski lifts were only a two minute walk. Very nice breakfast by French 3 star hotel standards, with wonderful warm croissants and pain au chocolate. The hotel is a short walk into the historic centre of Megeve, and so is very handy for both skiing and shopping / eating out in the evening. All in all, very good value for money.

Room Tip: Junior suites are very comfortable and recently furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William0177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intercorp_Group, La Réception at Hotel Royal Rochebrune, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear William0177,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Megève.
Secondly, we would like to let you know that your opinion is very important to us and we thank you once again for sharing it, this way we will be able to further improve the services and facilities of our hotel.

We hope having once again the opportunity to welcome you at any of our group’s resort.

Yours Faithfully,
Royal Rochebrune team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just returned from a long week-end skiing trip in Megeve at this hotel. The hotel is a standard ski 3 star hotel. The main advantage of this hotel is the location - a good ski hire shop is up a flight of stairs from the hotel and the Rochebrune ski lift is no more than 2 or 3 minutes away. There are a couple of bars at the bottom of the ski lift for a end of day beer. The walk to the pedestrianised centre of Megeve is no more than 10 minutes, passing a few other hotels and various shops.

The hotel has very friendly and helpful staff; both at reception and in the dining room. The dining room in the evening is a little soulless but the food was excellent; the buffet breakfast was also pretty good.

The only negatives for me was the 20 Euro charge for parking and the size of the room. As we had paid extra for what i assumed was a large room I was a little disappointed to receive what to me looked like a standard twin.

The skiing in Megeve was fantastic - very extensive ski area and very quiet with no waiting at the lifts. The town was also quiet (and expensive) which meant that after 10pm there was not much open, apart from the jazz club which was fun but ridiculously pricey.

Overall, good hotel and great break.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intercorp_Group, La Réception at Hotel Royal Rochebrune, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear charles092,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Megève.
Secondly, we would like to let you know that your opinion is very important to us and we thank you once again for sharing it, this way we will be able to further improve the services and facilities of our hotel.

We hope having once again the opportunity to welcome you at any of our group’s resort.

Yours Faithfully,
Royal Rochebrune team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

For those interested in just skiing the hotel has a fantastic location, just 3 min walk from Rochebrune lift which gives you access to a huge ski area communicated through different lifts. The price is affordable considering the pricy Megeve town - a bowl of soup costed 10 EUR in town. A menu in the hotel for 1 person goes from 25 EUR for 2 courses. Without a car, the walk to the town can be painful after the day in the slopes, but it is worthy. Just prepare your credit card! Parking facilities are good but expensive too, minimum 20 Eur/day. Rooms are small but clean, warm and cozy. About the service, there is nice staff. But we asked for ice to soften some bruises and they referred us to the supermarket!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libreta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intercorp_Group, La Réception at Hotel Royal Rochebrune, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Libreta27,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Megève.
Secondly, we would like to let you know that your opinion is very important to us and we thank you once again for sharing it, this way we will be able to further improve the services and facilities of our hotel.

We hope having once again the opportunity to welcome you at any of our group’s resort.

Yours Faithfully,
Royal Rochebrune team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Megeve hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#19 of 37 in Megeve
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le M de Megeve
Le M de Megeve
#8 of 37 in Megeve
180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maeva Residence Le Mont d'Arbois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
0.8 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
2.1 mi away
Rent Residence Hoteliere
Rent Residence Hoteliere
#27 of 37 in Megeve
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Rochebrune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Rochebrune

Property: Hotel Royal Rochebrune
Address: 5 allee du Sporting de Rochebrune, 74120 Megeve, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Rochebrune 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Rochebrune Hotel is ideally situated in the village of Megeve, with over 450 km of ski slopes in winter, just under 70 km from Geneva, and beside the Rochebrune Cable Car. The hotel has 60 beautifully appointed en-suite rooms: 40 Standard Doubles, 16 Royal Double and 4 Jr. Suites. Hotel Megeve - Royal Rochebrune's amenities include a bar, restaurant, TV lounge, sauna, Wi-Fi, safety deposit boxes, ski rental facilities, a seminar meeting room, indoor and outdoor car parking and play ground area. Hotel Megeve - Royal Rochebrune's services and situation make it an ideal family winter hotel. Come ski at Megeve and stay at one of the best hotels in the alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Rochebrune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing