We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable”
Review of La Grange d'Arly

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Megeve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Grange d'Arly
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed for three nights in August. We had a very nice room on the second floor with a balcony looking out the back. The room was very comfortable and a reasonable with a corner wrap around balcony. We had a half-board arrangement and the food was quite good. One note is the servings are very generous so it is worth exploring if you really want the full half-board or one of the scaled back options. We scaled back after the second night because we just couldn't eat anymore. The owners are very friendly but the wife is a bit over the top with her antiques. We were there at the end of the summer season so that may be why they seemed a bit short staffed. Anyway, she has a tendancy to focus more on her "show" than making sure clients a served in a timely basis. That really was our only complaint and were we to return to Megeve we still would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avidhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    21
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
48
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

This is an exceptional hotel. The facility is first-rate, with hotel rooms and public areas clearly maintained at the highest level. The staff are friendly and attentive. The rooms are cosy and comfortable. The value for money is very high with many small extras thrown in. For example, you are offered a newspaper at breakfast along with freshly squeezed orange juice. The bar/lounge area in front of the fire is very comfortable with space for a lot of people to be in their own groups. It is a great place to have dinner becuase it is convenient and the food is good and the service excellent. But most of all can't beat the comfort of going downstairs after a day of skiing and eating in and enjoying a coffee in the lounge area. THe food is excellent. I tried both 33 and 18 euro menus. The 33 euro menu is not really worth the cost. The 18 euro menu is a bargain. Even though the food on the cheaper menu has less expensive raw ingredients, it is beautifully prepared. For example, Past pesto is a nice dish with correctly cooked past, pesto, sun-dried tomatoes, pinenuts, and bacon. All high quality ingredients and delicious. THe wine menu is small but good value. As another reviewer mentioned the French coffeee is delicious! Also, they have a dessert that is home-made icecream, some local liqueur, and cream on top served as a frozen souflee. Abosolutley delicious. Not only would I recommend this hotel, I will make my next ski trip to Megreve in order to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Stayed in many ski hotels in French Alps and this is one of the best. Very comfortable, stylishly decorated and roomy. Very friendly owners and helpful team made it a delight. Short walk to centre of town and access to main ski lift. Good breakfast and dined in one night; chocolate fondant was memorable! Excellent value, would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteadyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I have just spent a week at La Grange d'Arly with my wife (who does not ski) and my teenage daughter and must thank previous visitors for their reviews because otherwise we would not have found this hidden gem of a place to stay. Spotlessly clean, helpful smiling staff who seem genuinely pleased to be there, comfortable rooms, beautiful lounge with a blazing log fire every night, but above all, even the best vin chaud in the Alps (not much wine) and the most amazing after dinner French coffee (not much coffee), the food and service at dinner was quite exceptional (compared by any standard). We had planned to dine out at least once but the food and service on the first few nights was so good that we ate at the hotel every night (and were very pleased we did after my wife had a bad experience one lunchtime at a restaurant in the town - poor food and ridiculous prices). The hotel is very well located for both skiers (50 yards from bus stop which gives easy access to all ski areas in Megeve) and for non-skiers (100 yards to sports centre in one direction and 200 yards to the main town square in the other). Megeve town is great for non-skiers as so pretty and so many shops selling things other than skis. Madame Allard is a fabulous proprietor who truly goes out of her way to ensure everyone has a great time - which we did because we are returning next year. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2010

My wife and I and our 15 year old daughter have just spent a wonderful week at this lovely small cosy hotel situated 2 minutes walk from the centre of the village and close to the ski bus station. The hotel is attractively furnished with a lovely big log fire in the main sitting room. The bedrooms are comfortable and everything is kept spotlessly clean. This may be a 3 star hotel, but it is definitly 5 star cuisine - fresh produce, beautifully and imaginatively cooked. It was outstanding. After just one week my waistline has expanded alarmingly!
The hotel is efficiently and smoothly run by Madame Allard who is great fun with her theatrical/excentric manner at dinner each evening. Her staff are all very friendly and nothing is too mcuh trouble. This for us, was the perfect place to stay - so much so that before leaving we made a booking for the same week again for next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodewestend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Our family (including 2 teenagers) had a great time at this boutique family hotel. La Grange d’Arly has got it all – clean rooms, cozy atmosphere, friendly management / staff, excellent food, close to the village and close to the ski lifts.

Nothing was too much trouble for the owners – including making a surprise birthday cake for our daughter who turned 17 during our stay.

We thoroughly enjoyed our week and will return!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyFamilyPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Very friendly and relaxed. Good clean and comfortable accomodation. Little extra's provide a personal touch. Excellent food at a reasonable price. Very pleased we chanced upon it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PloSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Megeve hotels
0.1 mi away
Au Coeur de Megeve
Au Coeur de Megeve
#23 of 37 in Megeve
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Au Vieux Moulin
Au Vieux Moulin
#11 of 37 in Megeve
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le M de Megeve
Le M de Megeve
#7 of 37 in Megeve
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Cimes
Les Cimes
#13 of 37 in Megeve
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet d'Antoine
Hotel Chalet d'Antoine
#1 of 37 in Megeve
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Au Coin du Feu
Au Coin du Feu
#9 of 37 in Megeve
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grange d'Arly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grange d'Arly

Property: La Grange d'Arly
Address: 10 rue des Allobroges | BP 68, 74120 Megeve, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
La Grange d`Arly Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing