We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Romantic weekend in Megeve”
Review of Hotel Mont-Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Grenoble, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Romantic weekend in Megeve”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I've just came back from this hotel. We went to Megeve for the WE. There was a Jazz festival (the 20th). The hotel is very good located in the city center. Our car was parked by the valet service of the hotel. We arrived at 12H00 and our room was not ready yet (which is acceptable) so we went for a relaxing walk in the city - the front desk was very welcoming , warm and helpful. We stayed in the club room - quite spacious and warm. our room (207) had a nice balcony facing the inner garden and the pool. the room was very quiet and the bed was GREAT (the Jazz festival was not heard in the room). A plate of petit-four and a bottle of Evian was waiting for us in the room. although the shower is big and clean , the faucet was an old fashioned one, which means , if you want to have the right temperature you need to find the right equilibrium between the right and the left sides (continuing turning it off-on , on both sides) which took me 2 minutes (at start too hot - boiling and the too cold - freezing). And during the shower itself without changing or touching anything, the water temperature changed (plumbing problem ???)
The breakfast (25 € per person) was rich and satisfying a good selection of charcuterie and cheeses as well as breads and pastries, orange and grapefruit fresh juice !!! the only thing missing (to my opinion) was some selection of fresh vegetables. All in all I had a lovely WE in this mythical hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idok125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmont-blanc, Directeur général at Hotel Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your comment after your stay with us.
We are very happy that you appreciated our exceptionnaly location in the heart of village for the "Jazz contest".
Awainting the pleasure to welcome you again with yours friends in our charming hotel.
I wish you a very nice week end and sunny summer.
Best Regards,
Marie-Geneviève Delacquis Socquet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    58
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
67
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel due to the location . We book two club room , one was big and wide and the second was much smaler ( for the same price) . Breakfast was excellent (not include in the price of the room) . Service was good . One bad thing to say about the rooms : they are too dark

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Arielabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmont-blanc, Directeur général at Hotel Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for your comment.
We are very happy that you appreciated our exceptionnaly location in the heart of the village and our breakfast.
All the club rooms have the same superficie but each room has her own identity and configuration.
Awainting the pleasure to welcome you again in our charming hotel, I wish you a beautiful day.
Best Regards
Marie-Geneviève Socquet Delacquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

For €350, we were given a room behind the lounge, which meant access to it was only gained by winding past whichever groups happened to be having drinks outside.
The room was located on street level at the front, so aside from a lack of privacy looking out, on a Saturday night, even with windows closed, sleep was impossible. Every cough, drunken conversation and raucous laughter sounded as if it was right next to us and continued through the night. At around midnight, some washing machine started a spin cycle somewhere, an additional noise which we endured along with the rest. At 7 am, trash cans were being dragged along the cobbled streets and doors were opening and closing outside our room.
My husband, who normally has no problems falling asleep, was kept awake throughout. He had envisioned a quiet rest for himself this trip while I went for ski lessons, and we had planned to sleep in the next morning. We ended up checking out early because we were exhausted and wanted to go home to recover from our stay here.
My husband had asked to switch rooms when he first saw it, but was told they had only one room at this price - any change meant another €110.
It's a bit disingenuous to advertise a room like this without warning potential guests of the problems - and to leave out the fact that it's the only one in its category.
Apart from the poor soundproofing, the decor - tartan fabric walls and wood - just felt dark and gloomy.
When we mentioned the noise on checkout, our parking fee was waived - a small gesture and nice on their part, but we felt the room shouldn't even have been sold in the first place, let alone at that price.
It was just terrible value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 509.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pslensuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmont-blanc, Directeur général at Hotel Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thanks for your comment.
I'm very surprised to learn your disappointment concerning your room for your night in our hotel and I'm very sorry. Even if the noice happened only during busy week ends, renovations are in project for this room.
All my apologize for this understanding with my front desk staff, If I knew your problem, I had upgrade you in a superior room.
I hope that I could make you this favor for your next stay at Megève.
Best Regards,
Marie-Geneviève Delacquis Socquet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I go to Megeve several times per season and always try to stay at the Hotel Mont Blanc. We are always greeted by the Directeur of the Hotel Marie and the rest of her great staff. Our favorite room is 107 which has a very nice terrace with a mountain view and sun in the evening. The hotel is small and very intimate with the best access to the ski lifts of any hotel in Megeve. Walk out the front door and you are in the main square of Megeve or just sit in front of the hotel and have oysters and champagne from the seafood bar! The highlight of the Hotel is the restaurant Les Enfant Terribles which is our favorite place in all of France for dinner. Can't wait to go back in March 2013 and there is loads of snow as well!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmont-blanc, Directeur général at Hotel Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Madam and dear Sir,
Thanks for your very kind comment on tripadivsor. We were very happy to welcome you for your different stays with us and that you appreciated the location of our hotel "Mont Blanc", your room, our restaurant "Les Enfants Terribles".... All my team and myself are very happy to see you soon with good conditions for ski....
Best Regards,
Marie-Geneviève Delacquis Socquet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We Just spent a week skiing in Megeve..it was a wonderful experience in all senses. We loved the hotel and will definitely be back next year. It is perfectly located in the centre of town, the ski lift is one minute walk away and u can pick up ur skies and boots next to the ski lift. The hotel is cozy and all works well. We stayed in the junior suite with a connecting room for our kids...they were perfect. The only suggestion I would have is to put a central light in the rooms for those who like more light. I personally enjoyed the soft lights and cozy atmosphere. Thank you to the team who made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmont-blanc, Directeur général at Hotel Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Google Translation
Merci pour votre avis posté sur Tripadvisor.
Nous avons été heureux de vous accueillir avec votre famille et vos amis au Mont Blanc pour vous faire vivre une expérience inoubliable à la montagne.
Toute l'équipe du Mont Blanc sera heureuse de vous retrouver pour un prochain séjour parmi nous avec convivialité "au Sommet de l'hospitalité"
Cordialement
Marie-Geneviève Delacquis Socquet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at Mont Blanc on our recent visit to Megeve. The hotel is right off the downtown square...perfect location. The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. We booked a jr suite and the room was great. Very spacious and functional for a long term stay. I suggest a high floor facing away from the downtown...less noise at night.

The breakfast was awesome. Make sure you get up for that. We had mixed emotions about dinner at Les Enfants Terrible. I like it but my wife did not like her dinner.

We went around and looked at rooms in other 4 star hotels in town and MB was superior by far.

Very close walk to ski lifts, shops, restaurants, etc. We also stayed at Alpaga during this trip which is a 5 star in Megeve. You can see that review under Alpaga. However, I would take MB over Alpaga due to proximity to town and size/quality of rooms. And we liked the food at MB far better.

We did use the Spa and I found the service to be good and the massage was acceptable.

Room Tip: High floor facing away from the town square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmont-blanc, Directeur général at Hotel Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Madam and dear Sir,
Thanks for your comments on tripadvisor.
We are very happy that you appreciated our welcoming staff and your stay with us.
We are glad to read that the location of Le Mont Blanc Hotel closed to the slopes and its general atmosfere have contributed to make of your stay an exceptionnal vacation in the heart of the village of Megève and we hope and we are very happy to welcome you again...
Best Regards,
Marie-Geneviève Delacquis Socquet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Having travelled to Megeve many times to ski we were very keen to try Mont Blanc despite the mixed reviews. We stayed in a club room which opened out directly on a courtyard garden which we found to suit us as it afforded privacy and was quiet and gave you an independent feel . The room was dark and gloomy as stated by previous reviewers but comfortable and clean if a little too hot (no thermostat and we were unable to turn radiators down). The bathroom was well equipped and clean but again a little on the gloomy side and quite small. The check-in and greeting by staff was very good, friendly and informative as was the convenience of valet parking. Overall I would say the staff here are delightful and helpful. The spa needs a little up-dating but was still acceptable. Breakfast was delicious and I have to disagree strongly with the previous comments regarding this, the produce was fresh and local and varied. The reason for our choice of the Mont Blanc was its central position and close proximity to the ski lift (less than 5 mins walk). There is a boot room and lockers and direct access for skiers onto the street but we were the only ones who used it! (There is a reason for this!) We ate just once in the Enfant Terrible restaurant, unfortunately we had to send our bottle of wine back as it had "corked" and the soup was spilt by the waiter, both of these issues were resolved without question though. The main courses were delicious but sadly cold. In addition I do resent paying 100 euros a head for a meal and have to sit next to a table full of children under the age of 10 who all had game boys, ipads etc which flashed irritatingly in ones peripheral vision. I'm not sure that under 12's are suited to a fine dining environment. Service in the lounge area in the evenings was slightly on the slow side and the one waitress appeared to be flustered especially on the Friday and Sat night. I could not order a Mojito (no mint) and could not have another Margaritas (no more tequila) but I would suspect that this is because most of the aforementioned guests do not drink alcohol and the hotel are not prioritising re-stocking this. (Hence the absence of alcohol in the mini bars)
I was somewhat surprised to see this hotel had not been reviewed for sometime on this forum but having stayed I can see why, most of the guests during our stay were not European and not skiers. We found this somewhat intimidating on occasion especially one evening in the lounge when a large group of guests set up their iphone to play traditional music very loudly and start singing along and clapping etc. As a female I found some of the male attention unwelcome. Would I stay here again? Yes, because the staff/service are excellent, the location is very convenient and you get the boot room to yourself!

Room Tip: Club Rooms afford quiet and privacy and open directly onto courtyard and are very well located for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmont-blanc, Directeur général at Hotel Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Madam and Dear Sir
Thanks for your comments on tripadvisor.
We are happy to discover that you appreciated our welcoming staff and your stay with us.
We are also pleased that your loved our breakfast composed of fresh and local products.
Concerning your bar experience, we are sorry that mint and tequila were missing but on this day the cocktails have been victims of their success....
We are glad to read that our staff, the location of the hotel closed to the slopes and its general atmosfere have contributed to make of your stay an exceptionnal vacation in the heart of the village of Megève. We hope to see you again...
Best Regards
Marie-Geneviève Delacquis Socquet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Megeve hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#4 of 37 in Megeve
585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
2.1 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lodge Park
Lodge Park
#15 of 37 in Megeve
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#10 of 37 in Megeve
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le M de Megeve
Le M de Megeve
#8 of 37 in Megeve
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont-Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont-Blanc

Property: Hotel Mont-Blanc
Address: 29 Rue Ambroise Martin, 74120 Megeve, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Megeve
#10 Luxury Hotel in Megeve
#11 Spa Hotel in Megeve
#13 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mont-Blanc 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star hotel in the center of Megève, the iconic Hotel Mont-Blanc offers a unique experience, in a "new wave" atmosphere that prevailed in the days when there Jean Cocteau, poet and avant-garde artist , frequented this place ... You will discover a unique design and haute couture, and reach the heights of hospitality and exclusivity. Located close to the ski lifts from the village center, you quickly reach a wide range of activities, sports and culture, and can enjoy at any time the entertainment provided by the luxury boutiques, the life of the town square, the magnificent church and the coming and going of horse drawn carriages that pass through the central streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mont-Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mont Blanc
Mont Blanc Hotel Megève

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing