We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but could use some renovations”
Review of Hotel Mont-Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Arzier, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but could use some renovations”
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Super location, close to the lift. Very helpfull and polite staff. Very nice rooms and great restaurant (Les Enfants Terribles). But the whole place needs a bit of renovations; this goes beyond "authentic", this just needs repairs.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    58
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
67
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Staff is helpful and nice, they arranged for taxi, suggested a good restaurant in Megeve etc. Room was not extra big, but cosy, with very nice decor. Shower though is not perfect, because hot and cold water keeps alternating, management should do about it.

The hotel is in the very heart of Megeve, two steps away from the telecabine, shops, restaurant. It is a great experience to be really in the center of this beautiful old town.

We had breakfast in the room, croissant is very good, and the Enfants Terribles resaurant in the hotel serves excellent food and you can see how they prepare it in the open kitchen, not to miss.

One thing was bothering but it was not the hotel's fault: some drunk and crazy people walk around in the center at night after bars are closed making awful noise.

We definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirellaBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Just got back from our 6th stay (Christmas/New Years) at the Mont Blanc and it has come to feel as though we were staying at a friend's chalet. The not-too-big size of the hotel, warm service and cozy alpine interiors keep us coming back again and again! Each year there are new 'upgrades' and additions. This year for example they renewed all the mattresses on the beds...resulting in truly restful sleep after being on the slopes all day! 2 years ago they put in an indoor pool, gym and cozy but cool little spa. The hotel restaurant Les Enfants Terribles is one of the chicest eateries in Megeve; the food is fantastic and the staff are most charming. According to our teenagers they love the hotel because of its 'unbelievable' central location...right in the middle of town 'where all the action is!'

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed for two nights at this hotel in late September and it was decidedly off-season in Megeve between summer and winter. The town was pleasantly quiet with none of the bustle of the ski season. This did mean that quite a number of the restaurants and bars were closed although there was still a reasonable range to choose from.

We decided to stay at the Mont Blanc because of its central location and spa. The hotel is in the pedestrian only zone although they can lower the bollards to let you in to drop off luggage. If driving it's best to phone ahead for directions in advance as we did not find it easily when we first arrived!

The wood-lined room was cosy (tending to the stuffy side during the night) with a great balcony to the front of the property overlooking the town square.

What really made our stay though was the spa which we practically had to ourselves. The spa has been really well done in an extension with a large glazed roof and has a small swimming pool, a sauna and a proper hot tub. Lying in the hot tub looking up through the glass at the sky was just so relaxing!

With friendly and helpful staff the Mont Blanc is a really great place for a break at this time of year. The room rate is far from cheap though and breakfast and dinner were really expensive extras albeit the food was very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank je22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here a few years ago, and were looking forward to repeating the experience. Sadly another hotel group now owns it, and standards appear to have slipped a bit. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful, others less so.

We had notified them of our arrival before the official check-in time - in fact around noon, but no room was ready for us, nor would they tell us how soon one would be available, though they must have had a pretty good idea. We thus struggled to change into our ski clothes in a room in their basement, and just as we finished the room magically became available (we would have much preferred to wait a few minutes longer and change in comfort).

The room we were allocated was just about large enough, and had a small balcony with a view over the rooftops and the mountains. It was fairly well equipped with plenty of storage space for clothes, but no spare power sockets (we had to unplug the TV to use a phone charger or laptop), and the light switching was exceptionally eccentric.

However the room maintenance and servicing left a bit to be desired. The room safe had been left locked, and it then took 3 attempts over several hours to get someone to come up and open it so we could use it. One of the room lights worked intermittently, and in fact came on suddenly in the middle of the night, waking me up. One bulb in the bathroom stayed defunct all week (but there were others working, so did not matter all that much). The door to the balcony was hard to open or close as the latch stuck badly. The shaving mirror had a hole in its silvering so that its internal light shone right in one's eye. The lavatory seat was chipped in several places.

The ski room had one locker per room, but on several of them including ours the locks did not work with the room key, and each time we had to call a member of staff to unlock ours, which was tedious. Towards the end of the week the lock failed further so that it was permanently open - this was not fixed for nearly 2 days. The bench in the ski room was removed midway through our stay (apparently because it was broken) but was replaced by just one chair. After we complained about 3 times that we had to sit on the stairs to change our ski boots, they finally brought in one other chair, though there was plenty of space to provide an adequate number. Overall we were not very impressed by the quality of the management.

The buffet breakfast was above average in range of food, but at Euro 25 a person, it was easily the most expensive breakfast that I've ever had, and could not be considered good value. Here also they had background "music" - every morning the same awful recording of some female who could not sing in tune. One day we were the only customers and managed to get them to turn it off; the next day the same thing was playing again.

I have reviewed their restaurant "Les Enfants Terribles" separately - good food, poor ambience and service, so cannot recommend it. There are several other good restaurants within a short walk.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, Co Durham,
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We have just returned from staying in this hotel and found it extremely noisy, due to the nightclub and reveller's returning in the early hours (5am most nights)
Ate at the hotel restaurant where you felt as if they wanted you in and out as quickly as possible. Cold starters and sweets. Squashed in a particular area, where the staff had to squeeze past you even tho' there were lots of other spare tables near
Hotel looking a bit tired and need of make over.
Plus side was that the room was very clean, chambermaids were excellent.
Would not stay here again although would come back to Megeve.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gooroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We drove in to Megeve at dusk with no reservations to see what would happen. Fortunately all the hotels are utterly desperate for clients (due to the economic crisis?) so we booked in to the Mont Blanc easily.

Staff -- the housekeeping staff are spectacular, and the breakfast, night, etc. staff are really superb.

The cool "old guy" who runs all the bags, parks your car etc, is fantastic. One of the desk managers is very good, extremely helpful etc, another is a little cool and distracted. (I prefer nothing but smiles and obsequiousity when handing over 900 euros after a two night stay in a little hotel, but I guess that's life.)

Rooms -- the rooms are of genuinely high quality, and have a nice authentic design. You know those Ralph Lauren ads showing a careful mix of "country chic" or "mountain rustic"? This hotel is the actual source of inspiration where all those art directors get their ideas!

For example, the bathrooms in our room had charming white and green marble on the floor - but, it was NOT overpolished and/or plasticated, as almost all marble is these days. The stone still had a slightly hand-hewn look. Very nice and very unusual to see these days in a world of "four star rubbish plasticated marble." The wood floors were actually a pleasant aged I believe walnut, rather than just the usual forced white oak rubbish that is used for wood! floors commercially these days.

The consensus is that all rooms at the Mont Blanc are RATHER SMALL .. we had suite 305 (at the rear - fantastic views), which is a (compact) two room arrangement, and I suspect it is about the best room. Be aware of NOISE FROM THE CHEESY NIGHTCLUBS across the street if you have a room at the FRONT - ask the staff.

Jean Cocteau .. there are (charming) Cocteau drawings and the like all over the hotel, apparently he was involved in or lived at the hotel at some point.

Pool and gym -- not a huge pool (after all, it's an indoor pool in the absolute middle of Megeve), but fantastic, a really super pool.

(My children played in it for something like six hours, one day.) Quite fresh water (almost like being in a pool in Bavaria, say), good sauna, a couple weight machines, trendy decoration, etc. Like being in a fashion magazine about Megeve.

Breakfast -- ABSOLUTELY fantastic. In fact, at my late age I had the best ham I have ever had in my life and surprisingly the best orange juice, of all things, I have ever had in my life, at breakfast at the Mont Blanc in autumn. The bread, "artisan" fruit juices, eggs, and everything else is of the highest quality. Truly superb coffee!

The hotel is in the pedestrian area. But this is no problem whatsoever, in fact it's a good thing. Just drive up to the bollards 20 meters from the hotel, and wave or press a button, or perhaps walk up to say hello, and the hotel will remotely lower the bollards, you drive straight up to the front of the hotel like at any normal hotel. It is no problem.

The only issues that stop the Mont Blanc from being one of my very favorite hotels in the world?

(A) unfortunately it is "just" part of the Sibuet chain. (They own about ten luxurious smallish hotels, basically around the alps and south of the alps.) This is all very well, after all some of the world's best hotels are chains. But for some reason it would just be REALLY WONDERFUL -- EVEN MORE AUTHENTIC if the Mont Blanc was just a completely family-owned concern. Then it would be one of the world's wonders, like the (incomparable) post rossli in Gstaad, or the ("best inexpensive hotel in the universe") Astoria in Arosa. So, you're just not going to get that ultimate feeling of family-owned charm...it's a company hotel.

(B) For some reason the Mont Blanc feels just a bit too expensive, it's like they just push the price a little too much. Of course Megeve is expensive, but you get the feeling they've just gone a tad overboard on the price point. Also (always annoying) you end up paying wildly more, about twice, the supposed "room rate" by the time you add everything.

So, if someone tells you they'll take you to the Mont Blanc for a few nights, go immediately - it's a hotel of importance, a terrific hotel, very many superb features (the pool, the true quality rooms, the breakfast, much of the service) and it's the center of Megeve.

But it's possible that the rather compact rooms, the extreme pricing at this level, and the slightly unfortunate fact that it's "just" a chain rather than an individual hotel run by some famous mountain family .. perhaps slightly work against the hotel. Enigma!

There are very many luxury hotels like this in Megeve (indeed the Sibuet guys run a number of them) so you'd have to be very experienced in Megeve to decisively say which hotel is best to stay at, in this type of price band. If you are fortunate enough to often go to Megeve, you will absolutely certainly want to try the Mont Blanc once or twice!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Megeve hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#4 of 37 in Megeve
573 reviews
2.1 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
0.5 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lodge Park
Lodge Park
#15 of 37 in Megeve
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#10 of 37 in Megeve
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le M de Megeve
Le M de Megeve
#6 of 37 in Megeve
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont-Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont-Blanc

Property: Hotel Mont-Blanc
Address: 29 Rue Ambroise Martin, 74120 Megeve, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Megeve
#10 Luxury Hotel in Megeve
#11 Spa Hotel in Megeve
#13 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mont-Blanc 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star hotel in the center of Megève, the iconic Hotel Mont-Blanc offers a unique experience, in a "new wave" atmosphere that prevailed in the days when there Jean Cocteau, poet and avant-garde artist , frequented this place ... You will discover a unique design and haute couture, and reach the heights of hospitality and exclusivity. Located close to the ski lifts from the village center, you quickly reach a wide range of activities, sports and culture, and can enjoy at any time the entertainment provided by the luxury boutiques, the life of the town square, the magnificent church and the coming and going of horse drawn carriages that pass through the central streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mont-Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mont Blanc
Mont Blanc Hotel Megève

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing