We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically Great! Average rooms & decor but great atmosphere, friendly staff, good food, central location & fab skiing..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Rond Point d'Arbois
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Edinurgh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basically Great! Average rooms & decor but great atmosphere, friendly staff, good food, central location & fab skiing..”
Reviewed February 25, 2010

The hotel is quite basic but very typical of a decent budget alpine resort. The room we had was small but was en suite and was clean. The atmosphere was extremely friendly and we met some lovely people. There were some "singles" in the hotel and it was ideal for people to mix. Dinner was decent and was "communal" where you mixed with the fellow guests and the honesty bar which was run pretty much not for profit made for a sociable few days. The wine at dinner was included but was average but you could buy a decent bottle of vacqueras for 8 euros which was amazing. The resort is lovely and the skiing first class and the hoptel staff accompany you in the mornings which gives you a good group of people to ski with.

Overall I think the headline "Basically Great" says it all.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stocksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
6
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We came to stay at the Rond Point run by Stanford Ski for Christmas as our daughter is doing a season in the area. It is very centrally located but could do with a little bit of an update. We could not fault the staff as from the moment we met them at Geneva airport to the moment we left the chalet, they were ALL amazing. James, the chalet manager, was fab and very approachable, he did everything we asked and more besides. The chalet girls, the chef (FAB BECKY!) and all the other staff made our stay absolutely fab! they often joined us for a drink after the meal. We had a wonderful Christmas meal too with crackers. Definately hire your skiis from Twinner as you can leave them after a long days skiing, Bar Centrale in Megeve is very friendly and does a lovely white wine!

There was no champagne on arrival (which I was looking forward to!) and the rooms are quite small. Nothing else bad to say as it was a lovely holiday with lovely staff!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahL22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

I go to Megeve at least 5 or 6 times a year so I know the area well but this is the first time I have stayed in this hotel as my apartment was let out when I wanted to go. I chose it as Stanford Ski was recommended by a friend and they were happy to arrange a long weekend for me whereas many other hotels would only take 1 week bookings at that time. I was grabbing a few days Skiing and travelling alone so the group meals were an attraction and I have to say very enjoyable and of good quality. The staff were great, very friendly and willing to help. With the exception of the Chef I don't think any of them are profesional catering staff but none the worse for that, they are mostly youngsters who fancy a season in a Ski resort , they seem very happy in their work and often joined the guest for a drink in the evenings. The other guests were friendly all Brits when I was there, the informal and communal atmosphere of hotel reinforced the impression that I was back in my youth and staying in Youth Hostels in the ski areas of New Zealand. The hotel is basic 2 star , frankly pretty shabby and in need of remodelling. I understand that the owner of the hotel is not too happy with the way it has been used by the curent lessees who are also the owners of Stanford Ski . The rooms are adequate but thin walls so you have no problem hearing a conversation next door. As for Megeve it's a great place to Ski if it's a good year for snow, otherwise it is a little low and your better off going to one of the higher resorts particularly if you only have the chance to Ski for 1 week. The town is pretty and a very posy place, it's close to Geneva 55 mins by car and at weekends can get busy, many people come to the town simply to see and be seen, Fur Coats and sun glasses required ( still makes me smile to see people wearing sunglasses at night). It can seem expensive particulary with the weak pound this year but this is a town that aims itself at the wealthy and it' doesn't welcome the lads on tour set, which for me is a plus but I have seen one or two reviews complaining about " the stuck up French" in Megeve etc etc. I have had an apartment there for many years and it is simply not true they just find the kind of behavior that we see in many British towns at weekends abhorent. So to sum up: The hotel is a good location for a short break if you are a keen skier, the hotel is basic and shabby, think youth hostel chic, but you wont find a friendlier place to stay with good food and you will probably make many new friends and be on first name terms with the staff by the end of the second day and its for this reason I have given 4 stars.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 200911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Visiting the Rond Point for the 3rd time I was not disappointed. Ok the rooms could do with a bit of an update but you get exactly what it says on the tin in a 3 stars hotel, the staff are all really friendly, food great and location perfect just minutes from the lifts and it really has the feel of a chalet rather than a hotel with everyone eating together.
The guiding Stanford run Mon, Tues & Wednesday was great as it means you get ski with those of a similar ability, are shown the mountains and all 3 groups meet at the same place for lunch so you can meet back up with all your friends after.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2009

I went for a long weekend with the girls and we were accomodated in basic but clean warm rooms. I had packed warm clothing for the room, as an earlier review said the room were cold. Not the case. Champagne on arrival. Dinner very good each evening. Good tip from earlier review to hire from the Twinner Concept shop as you can leave your ski equipment there after finishing for the day. We had a great trip in Megeve and the hotel fulfilled our requirements.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FroggyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MegeveStanfordSkiing, Public Relations Manager at Le Rond Point d'Arbois, responded to this review, March 25, 2015
Hi there
Sorry for the delay in response to you but we have just found your review of our chalet hotel Rond Point after doing some updating!
Thank you so very much for taking the time to offer us feedback, it is much appreciated and has been passed on to the relevant team member(s)!
We hope to welcome you back to Megeve very soon
Best wishes until then from all at Stanford Skiing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

We have just returned from this wonderful hotel. This was recommended to us by friends as a lovely, basic hotel close to ski runs etc and easily accessable to town.
We were more than happy with the facilities and food at this hotel. Paul and the staff made our stay really welcoming and ensured our transfers (booked through Stanford Ski) ran as smoothly as possible from/to Geneva Airport.
The food was simple but very tasty and there was a great atmosphere in the evenings in the restaurant area. The rooms were basic but were very comfortable and clean, although we would recommend a room away from the road as there was quite a bit of noise at night from people staying out late and also traffic. Some comments have mentioned about the rooms being cold....this is not the case. I suffer from the cold but didn't once find a problem with the heating. If anything we had to turn the radiators down.
The walls are fairly thin so sound does travel when you get a rowdy bunch of people in the restaurant, although most people tend to get an early night and get up early for skiing the next day. Downstairs there is a games room with TV etc but again is basic, however as you are out all day you don't need anything too much in the hotel itself.
I would stay at this hotel again and thanks to Stanford Ski for the smooth running of our stay.

  • Liked — friendliness of staff and location to town
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doodah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Booked through a company called 'stanford Skiing' who specialise in Megeve.They run this chalet/hotel.
When we booked we were told this week is staff training week, so please have patience.
On arrival at Geneva airport,a very smooth pick-up and transfer to resort, approx 75mins ( this is part of the package)
On arrival at the chalet/hotel, we were met by a warm greeting from Paul the chalet/hotel manager, and a couple of staff.
Our rooms as advertised are large and comfortable.
Food throughout the week was at a constant high level, with plenty of table wine flowing with dinner.
The chalet/hotel bar area may well be a little disjointed in appearance, but makes up for that with it's prices-€2 bottle of beer and €3 for spirits.
Just be careful about booking ski rental and lift passes through the resort manager. We found hiring ski's on the internet saved 25%,(twinner sports, concept ski shop) and if you want to pay by credit card for the lift passes, get them yourself!!, we found out the hard way, they didn't tell us that they don't take credit cards!! (probably something to do with taking there 'cut' from the lift pass price).you don't save any money by using the resort staff. This was the only disappointing factor of the week.
The resort itself is very expensive, on average €7 for a large beer in the Cocoon club(live music on friday/saturday nights) and Wake-up bar, and if your really have loads of money to waste try the Jazz club just off the square at €6.50 for a small beer in happy hour.
I keep relating to 'Chalet/hotel' as i still can't make up my mind? it has the feel of a basic hotel, with a personal touch.
Verdict--Overall, Great week with good staff in a beautiful resort, just a bit pricey!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lorry_lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Megeve hotels
0.1 mi away
Les Cimes
Les Cimes
#13 of 37 in Megeve
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Au Vieux Moulin
Au Vieux Moulin
#11 of 37 in Megeve
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chalet d'Antoine
Hotel Chalet d'Antoine
#1 of 37 in Megeve
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
0.4 mi away
Au Coin du Feu
Au Coin du Feu
#9 of 37 in Megeve
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#12 of 37 in Megeve
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Rond Point d'Arbois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Rond Point d'Arbois

Property: Le Rond Point d'Arbois
Address: 111 route Edmond de Rothschild, 74120 Megeve, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Megeve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Rond Point d'Arbois 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Megeve catered Ski Chalet Hotel Rond Point has the ambience of a small friendly hotel.It is ideally located in the centre of Megeve, just a couple of minutes walk from the central square and the Chamois lift. Perfect for those who want to maximise their time enjoying the shops, boutiques, bars and nightclubs.It has 13 comfortable but not luxurious bedrooms, all with en-suite showers or baths and WCs, hairdryers and homely furnishing . There is lots of hot water. Downstairs you can relax in front of a log fire in the attractive lounge areas and have a pre-dinner drink and appetisers at the inexpensive bar.We employ an excellent chef who will serve porridge, eggs, fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, croissants and pain au chocolat for breakfast, cooks fresh cakes or pastries for afternoon tea and of course a high quality three course evening meal complete with wine.Sample Menu * Brandade de morue, black olives and croutons * Roast duck breast and confit leg, saute Savoy cabbage with lardons and chestnuts * Chocolate, coffee and cardamom mousseThere is a games room in the basement, equipped with English satelite TV (free to view channels), video player and board games.Price includes: * Sunday morning timed transfers * En-suite chalet accommodation * Free welcome drink of your choice on arrival * Breakfast * Afternoon tea and cakes * Appetisers before dinner, * 3 course dinner prepared to a high standard by an experienced chef (except Friday - staff night off) * Complimentary wine with dinner * Coffee & mints * 3 mornings accompanied skiing with our staff * Free wireless internet access * Computer available for guest use * Friendly and professional staffFor those guests who don't have time to take a full week off work, we also offer short ski breaks and ski weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Rond Point d'Arbois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Rond Point d`Arbois Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing