We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
38
44
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
44
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski hire shop place to stay apres ski cable car mont valley lift facilities lounge sauna balcony megeve town
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 88 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2015

I was a little apprehensive about booking this hotel and i'm not sure why. But all was put to ease as we parked up outside - it's incredibly easy to find and right opposite one of the areas main ski lifts.

I have to say I loved this hotel - from the incredibly friendly staff who bent over backwards to help, to the cozy rooms and fabulous roaring fire - it really has an intimate chalet feel to it.

We stayed in a small standard which overlooked the road - don't be put off by this - it's very well soundproofed and to be quite honest you don't hear any traffic going past after 11pm anyway. The rooms are nicely kitted out in a rustic chalet-style (if you don't like wood - don't stay here, it's everywhere) with a very clean and newly fitted bathroom. The personalised note welcoming us to the hotel was a very nice touch.

This hotel would really really benefit from having its own restaurant. Unfortunately nearby there isn't much choice (La Traverne down the road is fabulous by the way - we ignored the negative reviews on TA and are really glad we did as the food was superb) you literally have the option of a couple of restaurants or a 10 minute drive into Megeve itself. Saying that, we were fully aware it wasn't in Megeve town centre and actually quite liked being 'away from it all'. If you're looking for party action, this isn't the hotel for you.

The hotel also benefits from having a sauna and hot tub (or Jacuzzi, as the french call it) sadly there was a mix-up in communications and we weren't able to use the hot tub (welcome book in the room says open 'til 10, staff on the front desk said open until 8) which was a real shame as the view over the mountains is truly fantastic.

All in all it's one not to be missed - i'm surprised by its 3* rating as it definitely felt better than most 3 or even 4* properties i've stayed in. We only stayed 2 nights but the staff got to know us and it really felt like you got the personal touch.

If like me you're there for le ski - this really is the place to stay. A 2 minute walk to the ski lift which gives you access to both sides of the mountain really left us feeling rather spoiled! And totally worth not being in the centre of Megeve for.

There is a bus which conveniently stops right outside the hotel and takes you into Megeve in 7 minutes, but beware - it does stop running after 7.30pm.

If I had one tip it would be to sit in the lounge and order a glass of champagne and relax in front of the open fire. It really is hard to beat. I will be returning!

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SunSeaSand83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2015

When you do a cheap ski weekend, you are usually looking at a slightly niggling hotel experience but this really was a perfectly reasonable place. Communal parts are more cute alpine than the rooms themselves but after a day's skiing and apres ski, the room, unless hideous, doesn't get much detailed analysis. The room wasn't bad, just a little charmless and could likely be rectified by whoever did the decor for the communal parts.

It's right by the Mont D'Arbois lift and the cross valley gondola so you have a massive ski area on the doorstep. Just opposite there is a ski hire place as well with charming mom and pop owners.

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the staff really friendly and helpful.

The one downside is that this is outside the centre of town with a 25Eur each way taxi ride. 25 Euros for an 8 minute cab journey! However, you are in Megeve so you knew what you were letting yourself in for! Of course, there is the no drinking in town and drive yourself option - right.

200 M along the road you have La Taverne which is wonderful. Fondues, great meat, spit roast, cute wooden interior and a wine list that ranges from reasonable to ostentatious. Ive eaten here a few times in the past and will keep going back.

Great ski weekend hotel at a really good price in a great location albeit with a minor whine about Megeve taxis.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AshL186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The location is really convenient.
The rooms are more than expected for a 3 stars hotel.
Our room had a nice view to the cable car and valley.
The service is good but with kids in winter walking outside to reach a restaurant is not a good deal. (There is no restaurant in the hotel)

Date of stay: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana_Paula_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is very charming, warmly styled and designed, with a huge fireplace in the salon. Our room was very small, but newly decorated and very clean and with newly done bathroom and separate toilet. We enjoyed the sauna, and the jacuzzi outside in the snow. But the real strong point is the location of the hotel right across the street from the telecabin and ski rental in Mont d'Arbois, ideal for skiers. Breakfast was good with healthy choices.
There are not many restaurants in the neighborhood, but Taverne du Mont d'Arbois is wonderful and we also had a very nice dinner at the Chalet de Mont d'Arbois which belonged tot the Rothschild family. Otherwise one has to drive down to Megeve which can be snowy and slippery in the winter without snow tires...
I lost a small button and the hotel was kind enough to return it to me by mail, very friendly.

Room tip: ask for the largest room
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MariaFrenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in Ferme du Golf for 1 night , booked two rooms ( 4 adults + 1 baby) in the beginning of March 2013 . The hotel located in Mont d'Arbois which is 5 minutes driving from Megeve city center . But, the hotel is 30 meters from the telecabin and to ski rental so if you come to ski and not to shopping than the location is good. Breakfast was basic but very good . Rooms in normal size with balcony to the view.

Date of stay: March 2013
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Arielabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews