We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chalet d'Antoine
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Had a wonderful stay, very clean, comfortable, very friendly staff....very close to the heart of the village, just a short walk. Great breakfast too - good choice, well presented.

A family run hotel which is professionally run by Pete the manager and his very competent staff....accommodation is clean to a high standard and exceptionally comfortable....definitely worth a stay....

Room Tip: It is quiter in the back of the hotel as the front is on a busy road...didn't bothr me personall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 441 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

A group of us were cycling through the Alps and stayed here for a few days. Everything was great, the rooms are nice and clean and have space for all of our stuff. The bar area is a nice area to relax before dinner and the food was just what we needed after a big day out on our bikes.
Having a secure area to work on and store our bikes was a big advantage.
Thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank James186338662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The "management" at the time we were there were young British interns and it was hard to find them when you needed them. Breakfast still needed to be set up at opening time, staff was rarely at the reception desk. I will say that the terrific heat for this area played a part in our stay. We were in a top floor room with only one window. Even with the window there was no air flow or cross ventilation so it was both hot and still. I had to go looking for staff to see if they had a fan we could use, and what we were given was a small electric heater with a fan setting. No real affect to the room temperature or air flow. And the worst part? A group of young adults (the intern staff) sat outside below our window, drinking talking loudly, laughing. We had just arrived from the US so our need for sleep was great and our patience pretty thin. We checked out the next morning, even though we had reserved it for 4 nights. Our worst stay of the two weeks we spent in Europe.

No elevator/lift, so we had to lug our suitcases up 2 flights. There was no offer of help from the staff.

Fortunately, it doesn't appear, from the other reviews, that our stay was typical. It might be different when kids aren't running the place and it is wintertime.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nanci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletAntoine, Owner at Hotel Chalet d'Antoine, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

We are very sorry to hear of your unhappy experience with us, as you said it was not the typical experience of many of our summer or winter guests.

We agree that the weather in this case played a significant part in the problems you had as it was unseasonably warm and the hotels in this region are not equipped with air conditioning. We tried to provide a solution with an electric fan (not heater), which clearly wasn't sufficient in this case.

The hotel was full at the time and so we were not able to move you to a lower room with larger windows and your request for a quiet twin room at the back of the hotel prior to arrival led to the assignment of the room you were given.

There are phones in each of our rooms and the welcome book and back of door signs indicate how to dial reception, where a member of staff will be available between the hours of 08:00 and 23:00. There is always a manager of a professional age on duty, who can be summoned on request. We have a service bell on the front desk should a staff member have to step off reception for any reason and a manager mobile number is available in the welcome book, as well as on the front and office doors should you require more urgent attention 24 hours a day.

Unfortunately the hotel isn't equipped with an elevator but our staff member Emma was on hand to help with bags and did show you to your room.

We have taken this complaint seriously and undertaken further staff training on reception and around the hotel to ensure that no future incident of this nature will take place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fabulous place, really nice and friendly staff, specially Pete the manager who was really helpful. This place feels so homely. We had a fabulous time. Good breakfast: loved the warm pain au chocolat, local cheese and "charcuterie". We'll definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have recently returned from a fabulous long weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary at this hotel in the beautiful resort of Megeve. The service, food and accommodation all exceeded my expectations and I can't thank Pete, the manager enough for helping with all the extra details which made our stay so memorable. Hotel is clean, bright and beautifully furnished, whilst giving a real traditional feel. We spent our weekend cycling and walking and will definitely return to sample the skiing this winter. Jane L, Redhill, Surrey.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Fantastic few days away. Great location and accomodation. Very friendly atmosphere and all our needs catered for. Excellent cuisine and the chef very kindly adjusted the menu to suit our daughter's dietary requirements. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and may I say child friendly. Would highly recommend staying at the Chalet d'Antoine.

Room Tip: Family rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Last minute few days away and had a great time. The staff at Chalet Dantoine were excellent. Peter the manager could not be more helpful.
Had a walk in the mountains and should have taken my skis so much snow still.
Thanks to all

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Megeve hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Gai Soleil
Hotel Le Gai Soleil
#1 of 38 in Megeve
255 reviews
2.2 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
0.5 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#2 of 38 in Megeve
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Au Coin du Feu
Au Coin du Feu
#7 of 38 in Megeve
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
0.6 mi away
La Ferme du Golf
La Ferme du Golf
#17 of 38 in Megeve
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet d'Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet d'Antoine

Address: 187 route Edmond de Rothschild, 74120 Megeve, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Megeve
Price Range: $97 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet d'Antoine 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value 3 star chalet style hotel accommodation, great for skiers during the winter months and cyclists, hikers and general holiday makers during the summers. What makes the hotel stand out is the strong focus on customer service and the friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Chalet d'Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing