We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet d'Antoine Simon Butler Skiing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Chalet d'Antoine
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed at Chalet d' Antoine twice this year. Excellent accommodation and brilliant food but the real big plus for me was the excellent ski tuition which even after 40 years it was good to find all the the things that I had been doing wrong for years. So at at this late stage in my ski career I actually improved my style (I believe). Secondly the arrangements here work well for a single person meeting new people in the ski lesson and afterward a drink and chat at bar.

So long aas I can stand up I will be booking for next year 2013

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the chalet are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 441 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

Cozy hotel with very friendly staff. Good bed. Stayed just one night on a flying tour through France. Would return here anytime. And: golf at the local course at Megėve was great fun. The owner of the golf pro-shop at the golf course owns also the sports shop exactly opposite this hotel. Convenient if you need anything :-)

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank sanchothegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I have stayed several times at the Chalet d'Antoine, winter and summer, with family and friends. There's not much to be added to the superlatives in existing reviews, so I'll confine myself to noting that absolutely nothing is too much trouble to the staff, in their determination to ensure you have a superb holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This year I stayed at Chalet d'Antoine for the second time and it certainly won't be the last time! I can't say enough good things about Simon Butler holidays. The highlights for me are the food (top restaurant quality) and the fabulous tuition (provided to me by Alex and Jay).

As well as the fantastic food served in the chalet each night, there are some great moutain restaurants to try in Megeve so don't expect to come back any slimmer!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Toots_281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is going to be my longest review. There is so much to say. The whole thing is a fantastic jewel of an experience… so I have sectioned my review as:

1. SIMON BUTLER
2. WHAT’S DIFFERENT?
3. DIGS
4. GRUB
5. COSTS
6. RACE
7. MASSAGE
8. FUTURE?
9. SKIING
10. KIDS
11. MEGEVE
12. OVERALL

Here we go:

1. SIMON BUTLER

A long time ago in another Chalet, Simon started with his dad more than 30 years ago. He is a thoroughly good bloke and a fine figure head; unassuming, quiet and steadfast. He might find it difficult to organise a drinking session in a brewery. but… he is the sort of leader and teacher who generates loyalty and enthusiasm in their team and his students hang on is every word and crave his attention and praise. He is at home teaching students (and instructors) in the hills where his enthusiasm and love of skiing rubs off. Luckily, organisational ability is provided by Jay Blatherwick and the team. Jay works with Simon and appears to be able to organise successful drinking sessions in a dry monestry in the desert during a draught. The partnership is made in heaven (or possibly hell – but more of that later).

2. WHAT’S DIFFERENT?

In winter, this is no ordinary hotel because the place is committed to skiing, teaching skiing and improving skiers who stay (whatever their ability or experience). The best ski Instruction in the world is included (a minimum of two hours daily in Megève for 5 days – although probably more if you ski with Simon as he rarely finishes on time). You will be taught, videod and then critiqued. Fantastic food is provided and massage and skis are available (more of that later). Instructors are British and selected for their people skills as well as experience. Several (most?) return year on year and are well known to returning guests who treat them as old friends. They teach easily and in a friendly way but to high standards.

3. DIGS

There are actually two hotels / chalets with their own dedicated teams of personable and enthusiastic teams; both include breakfast, afternoon tea, and three course evening meal with house wines and coffee. Both have a nanny service and have proven to be consistently excellent at everything they do. Here I describe Hotel Chalet d'Antoine but I will try to write a second review for the larger Soleil d’Or. Chalet d’Antoine is a traditional Megèvan three-star block close to the town centre and Chamois lift. It has more charm and is more up-market than the Soleil d’Or and may be more suitable for older families or adults without kids (although everyone who stayed at the d’Antoine with kids praised it). Rooms have en suite and are decorated and furnished to a higher standard than the Soleil d’Or. It has a lovely open fireplace and open-plan lounge with comfy sofas, a bar, a massage room, and ski and boot rooms. Chalet d’Antoine is cosy and welcoming and rooms are clean and comfortable (often with a bath).

4. GRUB

Food is great! Toby Fisher (ex Claridges) was Head Chef at the d’Antoine this year and his food was consistently outstanding. The food is just what you need when skiing. I don’t know how they keep him but he has been with the company for seven seasons and the quality of the scoff just gets better and better. It is some of the best home-cooked ski food I have had.

5. COSTS

I am a skin-flint at heart and the prices do appear expensive compared to some package holidays and you will need to pay for your transport to and from the d’Antoine but my wife (who handles the cash) assures me that when the instruction and handling of families is taken into account then the prices are reasonable. Six day lift pass are about normal (174 euros for adults this year) and ski and boot hire are about normal too. They do transfers for about 20 euros p.p each way.

6. RACE

Alex Casey has been instructing with Simon Butler Skiing for about 11 years and he is still a boy racer at heart (he started skiing at three and racing at six with the Folkestone ski team). Like all the instructors, he is friendly, enthusiastic and focused. Every Friday he organises a grand slalom race (partly because he wants to win it). Although that may sound a little scary, it is great fun for any ability of skier. I watched a six year old beginner do the race last week and a seventy year old last time I was there and they both loved it (the six year old didn’t fully understand and didn’t realise she had gone through the finish gate and was having so much fun that she kept going and had to be retrieved from the bottom of the hill). The Friday Race is very popular (even if you decide just to watch). Every time, my kids um and ah about doing the race as it just sounds too scary but then they love it when they do it as it is designed for anyone to manage it.

7. MASSAGE

The massage service is great and I use it. This year there were facial and beauty treatments too and although I may have found them useful perhaps I will try them when I am not skiing. This is just another example of the company providing everything you need when skiing. I had ½ hour 25€ and full hour 50€ Deep Tissue massages and they were both excellent.

8. FUTURE?

Two things scare me for the future – and I say scare me because if anything happened to this organisation then it would be a sad loss for skiing and sport. Firstly the future of the Soleil d’Or is in doubt and secondly that match made in heaven or possibly hell (Jay Blatherwick and Simon Butler) can be a Love – Hate – Hate relationship. Without the Soleil d’Or or a large replacement then the business model may not be viable and the company might have to become more expensive and exclusive and based just on Chalet d’Antoine. With fewer customers, higher prices and fewer instructors then it would lose a lot of attraction to groups with a range of abilities. If Jay and Simon split in business then two of the main parts of the working-equation would be lost. I am not sure that either could do so well by themselves. Both are great skiers but Jay selects and heads up the hospitality and ski school teams excellently. Jay is a fantastic skier but Simon is in his own league as a figure head and teacher. Together they make a fantastic team but separately the magic would be gone. That is compounded a little by kids being thrown into the complicated equation. I do so hope (along with so many others) that both problems are overcome and the whole thing carries on as it is.

9. SKIING

The ski slopes are extensive and both they and the mountain restaurants are quiet for most of the season. Although not the highest, we have been happy (lucky?) with the snow. Megève hosts World Cup ski and ski-cross races. Some lifts are slow and there are more pomma lifts than I like but the area is well planned and works very well.

10. KIDS

The whole experience is great for kids and families with kids (although I would probably choose the Soleil d’Or for families with kids).

11. MEGEVE

Megève skiing is extensive but everything in the town is expensive! If you venture out of Chalet d’Antoine then be prepared to pay. A previous Trip Advisor submission quoted 150 euros for a bottle of vodka and I believe it. The old town has cobbled streets with beautiful old buildings mixed with boutiques, expensive shops and restaurants. Polo Masters and international ice hockey matches take place around Megève and the Palais des Sports has a swimming pool, sauna, gymnasium, ice rink, indoor tennis court, sports hall, climbing wall and curling rink.

12. OVERALL

If I have not made my feelings obvious or if you are still not sure then be clear… the Simon Butler organization is great and you will probably have your best skiing holiday with them! It all works very well. The hotel is comfy and staff make you feel like a friend staying in their house rather than a paying guest in a hotel. The bar provides the cheapest drinks in town and the food is great! Megève is beautiful, ski runs are great (with beautiful views) and people (staff and guests) just keep coming back for the first-class ski instruction, fabulous scoff, interesting and generally lovely company and very relaxing skiing. It is an improbable, whimsical, inspirational and fabulous place to be for complete beginners or seasoned expert skiers. You will not want to leave. You will want to stay to improve your skiing even if you thought you would hate it when you first put your skis on. People want to return year on year and I completely understand why. Simon Butler claim 92 per cent repeat and referral rate in 2011/12 and I believe it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank DavidSandybaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Fabulous. My first ski holiday and although nerves were high, I showed myself I could do it with the help of great ski instruction. I stayed at the Chalet d'Antoine which was lovely - very comfortable, food delicious (vegetarian), location brill, staff excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were advised to try Simon Butler Skiing, and what a brilliant recommendation! The concept is fantastic - two family friendly chalet-hotels with ski tuition included; no worrying about finding ski school or people to ski with - it's all done for you! We stayed in the family room in the Soleil d'Or, and made some great friends straight away - skiing with everyone in the same accomodation makes real sense. The accomodation was basic, but very clean and functional; the food was really good; and the service was exemplary - Sarah and her team in the Soleil d'Or really made us feel welcome. Ski tuition was catered for all levels, in small groups; and the family really enjoyed their lessons.The snow conditions were amazing and the ski area is vast (and nearly empty)! Simon and Jay and their team of instructors worked really hard to find good skiing every day, with plenty of variety. We've already booked for next year - and can't wait!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NigelWhitlock-James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Megeve hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Gai Soleil
Hotel Le Gai Soleil
#1 of 38 in Megeve
255 reviews
2.2 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
0.5 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#3 of 38 in Megeve
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
0.4 mi away
Au Coin du Feu
Au Coin du Feu
#7 of 38 in Megeve
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Ferme du Golf
La Ferme du Golf
#17 of 38 in Megeve
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet d'Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet d'Antoine

Address: 187 route Edmond de Rothschild, 74120 Megeve, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Megeve
Price Range: $96 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet d'Antoine 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value 3 star chalet style hotel accommodation, great for skiers during the winter months and cyclists, hikers and general holiday makers during the summers. What makes the hotel stand out is the strong focus on customer service and the friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Chalet d'Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing