We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpaga in Megeve”
Review of Alpaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpaga
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I almost gave it 3 stars. It's a 5 star hotel that is really 4 stars. Room selection is really important. We stayed in the rooms above the restaurant and at 6am each morning you hear all the noise of the staff preparing the dinning room for breakfast. Really annoying. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Certain rooms have very high ceilings which gives the room a much larger feeling...I definitely suggest asking for a room with high ceiling in the building without the restaurant (I think those rooms are #20+).

The resort is just outside of town and I preferred staying in town so I could walk out the front door and have cafes and restaurants right there. You have to take a shuttle to get to the ski areas or downtown. We actually walked to town most times and took a horse carriage back for 29E.

There were several problems with the service which I wouldn't expect at a 5 star resort which is why I rate it 4 stars. The management was accommodating, but it still left a bad impression.

Room Tip: Do not take a room over the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Firstly, let us say that we are extremely concerned to read about your review. We really appreciate receiving comments from our guests, not only to strengthen our purpose to serve all of you the best way, but also to improve where necessary. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointments you may have had during your stay at the Alpaga and we are looking forward to surprise and delight you on your next trip to the Mont Blanc country.
Kind Regards,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 385 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

My recent stay at the Alpaga was very satisfying. The property is new construction. I can not emphasize this enough. A lot was invested in this property. The staff is well at hand, speaks english and is focused on the guests. I was not disappointed. You will definitely enjoy your stay here.
It is boutique in size (not many rooms that I can see) but very well staffed and is located away from the Village in a residential area. You must take their navette (shuttle) to get to the village- a 5 minute ride. However walking is not an option. The shuttle is always available at a quick notice for either taking you to the village or picking you up from a designated pickup spot (the rendez-vous) at one end of the village. For restaurants they will drop you off and pick you up at the specific location. The shuttle is an important part of the equation which the staff realizes and it did end up working out well for us.
The room I had was a "classic" level on the second story. The bathroom was luxurious and included a heated stone floor with a soaking tub as well as a modern glass cubed shower.
Because the room was on the second floor the ceiling sloped down to a 4 foot wall on the far side of the room (like in an attic) and I did hit my head once when I got up in the night- forgetting to duck. This room did boast a very private balcony with a table and two chairs with a nice view of the mountains beyond. The turn down service included lighting a candle on the table which was a nice touch.
I enjoyed especially the breakfast which is served buffet style with a large asssortment of bread pastries yogurt, juices and cereals. They also will take your order for an omlette packcakes or a sunny side up style egg at no extra charge.
I ate at the restaurant for dinner one night and found it enjoyable albeit rather expensive and with smaller portions than I would have preferred. However there is something to say for all the convience of staying on the property for the evening.
The club house reception area has a staffed bar and with several cozy seating arrangements for conversation. Unlike a typical hotel lobby you feel like you could hang out here and the staff would not mind. In the sub terrainian level below the reception / clubhouse is a small pool, steam room and sauna and spa treatment facility. The pool is meant more for wading (sort of like a giant jacuzzi) rather than swimming. The water temperature was around 90 degrees F. The pool has jets that shoot a very strong and wonderfully fine champagne bubble force against your sore back etc. I went under water and glided toward the seating side of the pool and hit my head (again!) against the edge of the outcropped seating bench on the jet side of the pool. From under water It was not noticeable and it had a narrow designer edge that actually cut my scalp. Ouch!
Enjoy Megeve and the Hotel Alpaga!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for taking your time to write your comment about the Alpaga. We really appreciate receiving positive comments from our guests. All feedbacks are very important in order to improve our quality and services.
We are looking forward to welcome you again to enjoy Megève and the Alpaga.
Warmest Regards and, once again, thank you very much.
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed for one night only at this stunning hotel. On arrival, we were a little disappointed that there was a wedding ongoing and we were not able to eat in the hotel restaurant. However, the amazing service and friendliness of all the staff really made up for it. In less then 5 minutes they had completed our check-in, booked us a table in an amazing restaurant (Fer au Cheval) with transfer, brought the baggage to the room and explained all other necessities. I do not think I have ever experienced such outstanding, efficient service.

The hotel itself is beautiful in a modern chalet style, the spa was very pleasant and clean, if a little on the small side. The massage was great and we had a beatiful room.

Already looking forward to going back sometime very soon!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time you spent in writting your comment. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be glad to welcome you very soon and to let you discover our Restaurant La Table de l'Alpaga.
All the best from Megève,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our recent stay at the Alpaga in Megeve was just perfect, especially as the sun came out and burned through the cloud cover just before eleven a.m. The design and décor of the Alpaga is in keeping with the Megeve style, the rooms are spacious, well located and luxurious. The most notable aspect of this hotel is the staff. Franck Jaulneau the general manager is gracious and helpful. Cecilia on the front desk is knowledgeable and extremely courteous and the rest of the staff is attentive to a fault. I highly recommend this hotel in Megeve.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlpineHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
What a pleasure to read such a nice comment. All the team and I are very happy you had a great stay with us and we do hope to welcome you again very soon at Alpaga Megève.
Thank you for your support and confidence!
Very best wishes from snowy Megève,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our first stay at Alpage, and we will definitely come back. What it has that is special is hard to define because it is an atmosphere, something you feel when you walk through the door, but it is of course made up of the beautiful surroundings, attention to detail, and the very successful mix of modern high end design, and comfort and warmth. It also has to do with the service. Everyone was friendly, attentive, and went out of their way to be helpful.
We only ate in the restaurant one night because we were eager to try the many other great restaurants in the village, but the food was excellent, and we enjoyed our leisurely breakfasts there every morning. I loved the fact that dogs wre allowed to sit with their owners, it simply added to the inviting, friendly atmosphere of the place.

Room Tip: For a couple the deluxe rooms are the best choice. The higher category simply has an extra single be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments about the Alpaga and we are glad you had a great time with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Mont Blanc Country.
Kind Regards,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have been coming to Alpaga every year since it opened and it gets better every year. The service is phenomenal, the staff extremely friendly and helpful. We love the boutique feel of this hotel and the restaurant is top notch. The bar also has a very nice cosy atmosphere and its a great place to have a light meal. The children enjoyed the kids club and there were some interesting theme evenings such as the "soirée trapper" that were a nice addition as well.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank e1539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

A huge thank you for your lovely comment ! We are proud and happy that you loved our Property.
Now you know you have a Residence in Megève!
See you soon,
Very best wishes from all the Alpaga team,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our first trip to the Alps and Alpaga was a great choice. Modern, warm, cosy and inviting - it suited us to a tee. Service was friendly and although some things were overlooked initially, they were quickly sorted out upon request.

The transfers into town generally left fairly soon after request, although on some occasions we were left waiting for a very long time for others who didn't end up coming on the same trip. The driver could have dropped us off into town and then come back to Alpaga, and still the others wouldn't have been ready. Not the end of the world, but something the staff should be conscious of and try to improve on.

The layout of the place is great - you can get to the fitness area, spa/pool from your chalet via the basement, without having to brave the cold outside! For anyone interested, there was one treadmill, one cross-trainer, one power-plate machine and some dumbbells.

There was a good spread at breakfast (smoked salmon, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, fresh fruit, yoghurt, freshly baked breads, cereal), although service was slow and our requests for croissants and freshly made pancakes were completely forgotten despite a couple of reminders.

We had dinner at the restaurant which was lovely, but not amazing, so if you're expecting top notch food then it'd probably be best to look somewhere else. There is plenty of fine dining in Megeve, although you might need to travel a bit to get to them.

All in all, a great stay and we hope to return one day. Given how much it costs, we hope service is brought up to true 5-star standards.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Halfwayfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Guests,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for dedicating your time to write your review about the Alpaga.
We are extremely concerned to read about your experience.
Your feedback is very important to us once we are continuously working to improve the quality of our standards and services.
We hope to see you again with us to enjoy the mountains.
Best Regards,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Megeve hotels
1.5 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
1.3 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
0.6 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#3 of 38 in Megeve
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#10 of 38 in Megeve
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le M de Megeve
Le M de Megeve
#9 of 38 in Megeve
180 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Chalet Zannier
Le Chalet Zannier
#22 of 38 in Megeve
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpaga

Address: 66 allee des Marmousets | 66 Allée des Marmousets, 74120 Megeve, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Megeve
#4 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
#4 Luxury Hotel in Megeve
#4 Family Hotel in Megeve
Price Range: $125 - $1,963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alpaga 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpaga nestles in natural surroundings just a few minutes from the village, in the heart of Megève and the Aravis range. Its chalets blend seamlessly with the environment yet are an integral part of the life of the hotel, including the main building and its restaurants, the gardens, the bar and the hot tub with a view of Mont Blanc. They offer resort regulars and passing visitors a quiet setting steeped in style and warmth, whether in winter or in summer. People come to the Alpaga to enjoy the luxury of its rooms and the refinement of its restaurant, which won its first Michelin star in 2014, offering an authentic dining experience that is both original and true to the Megève tradition, under the direction of head chef Antony Tempesta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpaga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing