We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasserie Le Sud

Brasserie Le Sud
Reserve with
Brasserie Le Sud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 3,203 Restaurants in Lyon
Price range: $24 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Bellecour - Hotel Dieu
Antwerp
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Ideal lunch address on the terrace (ask to sit inside if you do not appreciate the heath of Lyon in Summer) with adapted mediterranean cuisine and finish with the strawberries on a Moroccan way (with pepper, mint and lemon confit).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BelgianEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    644
    265
    118
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Saved by dessert”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Okay, maybe our expectations for the meal here were higher than usual brasserie standard - after all, the brasserie bears the legendary Paul Bocuse's name. And yes, I realize that Bastille Day is probably not the slowest day in French restaurants.

Still, we were somewhat disappointed by Le Sud. The Mediterranean style French food was good, but nothing spectacular (we had the daily specials menu - two of us had cod, two had lamb). The waiters were incredibly busy and unfortunately inattentive. They forgot our orders several times.

The restaurant has a nice wine list, though the selection by the glass was meager, and I find it puzzling that none of the waiters wanted to recommend glasses of wine to go with our meals. The atmosphere was rushed and hectic (the waiters managed to break three glasses during our two hour stay).

Luckily, the Maitre D himself stepped in when we got to dessert, and I must say he saved the evening. Also, the strawberry tart and the baba au rhum were simply devine. Thanks to these dishes, I may come back if I come to Lyon again - but probably just for dessert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ingeborgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unprofessional - we walked out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Two of us went for dinner to discuss business. The maitre d made a joke(?) about managers not looking after the workers. We were shown to a table in the back surrounded by families. We asked for a quieter table in the front. We waited 5 minutes whilst the waiter dressed another table (although there were other tables that were free. We sat down and waited. And waited. No menus and no opportunity to order an aperitif . The waiter was folding napkins. After 10 minutes I caught his eye. Service at last I thought. No, he went to get another pile of napkins to fold! We left. A shame because service in Le Nord and L'Est is first class.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best of the Four in My Opinion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Le Sud is the best of the four Paul Bocuse restaurants in my opinion. We ate al fresco near the Rhone and the food is delicious. Wait staff are friendly and helpful. Wonderful atmosphere. Would try again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank STLMom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not traditional local restaurant but decent food, fantastic wine list and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The food I had was very well prepared, if not typically French but there was a decent selection of fine dishes (most notably the bellota jamon and roast), but the wine selection is fantastic - with great cote du rhones as well as other wines.

Great location with outdoor seating and great and relaxed service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NickandVic_april2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Le Sud also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Le Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing