We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and service leaves much to be desired.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Comptoir Abel

Cafe Comptoir Abel
Ranked #74 of 3,203 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $148
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
171 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Food and service leaves much to be desired.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Abel is recommended in most Lyon guides as the oldest bouchon. Apart from the ambience which was indeed quaint and very charming, the food is not a good representation of Lyonnese culinary standards.

I had tried to make reservation for one person for the first sitting but it was full and the earliest I got was at 10pm. Upon reaching earlier at 930pm, it was busy but not full. Despite empty tables, the staff could not acede to my request to a table by the wall so I had to sit in the middle of the dining room.

I ordered the 2nd dinner set (€30) and chose for my appetizer artichoke with fois gras and for mains - fish dumpling. Unfortunately it is not fois gras but more pate. Fortunately it was rather tasty and went well with the clean tasting artichoke. Presentation was poor though.

The fish dumpling is probably one of the most overrated dishes here. It's a dish that is more flour and cream than fish.

I had the apple tart for dessert which was too sweet and not very good.

Overall it was a poor dining experience in a somewhat charming ambience. Can't recommend this to anyone.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keiragopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    364
    109
    57
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“extremely small but absolutely delicious authentic Lyonnaise food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

the food was the best we had in Lyon. The atmosphere is very old and you feel like you've stepped back in time. We loved it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Arktck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great meal at a classic bouchon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went with a friend to this restaurant because I heard that this was the oldest bouchon lyonnais so I needed to see what it was all about. The place is very small and the waiters are very busy but the food was great. We both got the menu at 39€ of three courses. I had foie gras with toast, chicken with morel mushrooms, and a demi St Marcellin. The chicken, and more specifically the sauce was superb. The cheese was great and my friend got a fondant au chocolat that was really great also. The only negative aspect of this meal was the fact that we could barely move after leaving the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinRebecca88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion Bridge, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious traditional meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Not to be missed. Quenelles were excellent and the foie gras was the best we have ever had. The wait staff was very helpful in guiding us through the menu.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarilynnZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh, the Quenelle!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Based on recommendations from Rick Steves' book and David Lebovitz's blog, my sister and I recently ate here to get the taste of a traditional Lyonnais buchon. The atmosphere was cozy, the service prompt, and the food was amazing. For the first course, we had the artichoke salad with foie gras and the salade lyonnaise. Both were delicious and the serving of foie gras was very generous. For the main course, we had the quenelle and the rognons de veau. We had a bit of a lost in translation moment with the rognons. Thinking we knew enough French to use that menu instead of the English one, we unknowingly ordered veal kidneys. The sauce was really good, but the texture of the kidneys was too much to overcome. However, the massive quenelle was enough for both of us. Though a ground fish dumpling doesn't sound very appetizing, it was light and delicate - like a soufflé. So, so good. For dessert we had tarte tatin and mousse au chocolat, both of which were well-executed. I hope to return soon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank haleyvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Comptoir Abel also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Comptoir Abel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing