We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely small but absolutely delicious authentic Lyonnaise food”
Review of Cafe Comptoir Abel

Cafe Comptoir Abel
Ranked #77 of 3,295 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $148
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“extremely small but absolutely delicious authentic Lyonnaise food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

the food was the best we had in Lyon. The atmosphere is very old and you feel like you've stepped back in time. We loved it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Arktck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    404
    120
    62
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great meal at a classic bouchon”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went with a friend to this restaurant because I heard that this was the oldest bouchon lyonnais so I needed to see what it was all about. The place is very small and the waiters are very busy but the food was great. We both got the menu at 39€ of three courses. I had foie gras with toast, chicken with morel mushrooms, and a demi St Marcellin. The chicken, and more specifically the sauce was superb. The cheese was great and my friend got a fondant au chocolat that was really great also. The only negative aspect of this meal was the fact that we could barely move after leaving the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinRebecca88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion Bridge, Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious traditional meal”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Not to be missed. Quenelles were excellent and the foie gras was the best we have ever had. The wait staff was very helpful in guiding us through the menu.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarilynnZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh, the Quenelle!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Based on recommendations from Rick Steves' book and David Lebovitz's blog, my sister and I recently ate here to get the taste of a traditional Lyonnais buchon. The atmosphere was cozy, the service prompt, and the food was amazing. For the first course, we had the artichoke salad with foie gras and the salade lyonnaise. Both were delicious and the serving of foie gras was very generous. For the main course, we had the quenelle and the rognons de veau. We had a bit of a lost in translation moment with the rognons. Thinking we knew enough French to use that menu instead of the English one, we unknowingly ordered veal kidneys. The sauce was really good, but the texture of the kidneys was too much to overcome. However, the massive quenelle was enough for both of us. Though a ground fish dumpling doesn't sound very appetizing, it was light and delicate - like a soufflé. So, so good. For dessert we had tarte tatin and mousse au chocolat, both of which were well-executed. I hope to return soon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haleyvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Terrible service..good food”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

As we were taking American friends to Lyon we wanted them to discover the real Lyon bistro and cuisine. There were 12 of us, on arrival, all of us said “good evening” to be faced by complete silence from every single waiter and Maitre D’. It was so strange, none of us understood the attitude. The restaurant is quaint in a nice part of town. Very typical, cute wooden tables and chairs, our waitress, upstairs, was nice enough but admitted that this was a part time job so she was not really trained to be here. A few reviews here mentioned the issue with cleanliness; I have to say that to us it looked clean enough. The menu has all the typical Lyonnais dishes you expect. We started with hot saucisson and lentils, beautiful, crayfish salad, Lyonnaise salad, etc. All the starters had a very good portion size and everybody was happy. We then moved on to quenelles which were huge and very nice and cream chicken with rice, the macaroni gratin was very nice indeed. We ended up paying 48 euro a head which for Lyon is quite expensive, you can find much cheaper. Avoid the restaurants in the old Lyon as they are real tourist traps but you can find better than chez Abel.
The main reason NOT to go back is the service; they were just awful, rude beyond belief. When we left , we went down to pay and the main door was closed, the maitre D’ just told us to use the other one on the other side, when we inquired about how to open that door he just shrugged and told us to get on with it and never came to help. Nobody said good bye (nobody said hello in the first place). It was just ridiculous, we could not believe it, when we asked him if there was a problem with us or customers he just mumbled something. For that reason I would say AVOID! Life is too short top be badly treated even if the food is good, especially in a town like Lyon which has so many nice and welcoming restaurants. Shame for the cooks that the front of house is so despicable!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank margauxhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Comptoir Abel also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Comptoir Abel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing