We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel with helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Celestins
Ranked #15 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel with helpful staff.”
Reviewed February 24, 2010

This hotel is conveniently situated in a quiet part of central Lyon. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. We particularly appreciated their advice on restaurants,bars and shops.Our stay here was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citybreakersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    459
    83
    17
    7
See reviews for
160
500
61
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed there last summer, was a pleasant experience. The rooms are decent but what we really liked was the more than functional A/C which some of the other hotels did not have - and I'm glad we got this as it was REALLY HOT last summer.
Also, we forgot a small folder in our room, the staff were kind enough to call our cell and then mailed it to us in Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

I spent 3 days at this hotel.EXcellent location ,central and in a good neighborhood.easily accessible by bus #99 from gare part dieu.What made the stay special is the help and warmth of personnel at reception,Emilie and Alexandra.They went out of their way to find places one is seeking, and to make restaurant reservation. all for 91 euros / night ( room overlooking the theatre)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierre45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2010

I booked this hotel for 3 nights after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. The staff dealt promptly with my initial email enquiries and when I called with my credit card details to finalise the booking (they don't have a secure online booking system and I didn't want to send them via email) the English speaking staff were friendly and efficient. Although our room was small it was very comfortable and the refurbished bathroom was lovely. We didn't have the breakfast but the breakfast room is available during the day as a sitting room. When I couldn't get my laptop to connect to their Wifi (due to tmy computer settings, not their system) we were offered free access to the office computer and a free cup of tea!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

The hotel is in an ideal location and the staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. The rooms were comfortable and breakfast very good.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelers194448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Hotel des Celestins is located in the heart of Lyon between the two rivers near Place Bellecours. This gives you easy access to old town and therefore to all the bars and restaurants.
The hotel is very cosy and the rooms are small but functional and modern. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was plenty and kept bringing fresh food out.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

We loved the location of this little hotel, and our room was so clean and cute. Amazing bathroom (if you care a lot about the bathroom like I do). The breakfast wasn't to die for, but there was everything you needed and at a decent price, less than 10 Euros I think.

The only downside to this place was that we couldn't get wireless internet in our room! The signal didn't reach or something. We had to sit in the hallway in our pajamas to check our email and surf the web at night. Not cool.

But, we would stay here again and maybe try to get a room closer to the wireless router end of the hallway. :)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,247 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#33 of 194 in Lyon
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Celestins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Celestins

Property: Hotel des Celestins
Address: 4 rue des Archers, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#11 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Celestins 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the city,between Place Bellecour & Place des JacobinsYou will be within walking distance ofThe old town & the nicest shops.The Célestins CarPark & Bellecour underground station: 50 yards away. Access by elevator 25.6 p X 45.3 p.Air-conditionned & Non Smoking Hotel, free wifi.Charming Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel des Celestins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Celestins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing