We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel centrally located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Celestins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Celestins
Ranked #14 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel centrally located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay at hotel celestins. The rooms were well furnished and spotlessly clean and the hotel is in a great spot. I have to say that I have travelled alot and I found the staff to be amongst the best I have encountered. Incredibly helpful. The breakfast is also a very good deal. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bayley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you loved your stay at Hotel Celestins. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards,
Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    445
    80
    17
    7
See reviews for
157
481
59
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Celestins in June last year having booked in advance from Australia on Trip Advisor reviews. The hotel rooms are minimalist but fine for a holiday stay - how much time do you spend in your hotel room? There were a few little quirks like having to puchase an extension cord so that one of our appliances would raech to where it was needed but overall the accommodation was fine. Breakfast was pretty standard but quite adequate and freshly prepared. The standout was the assistance provided by the staff in suggesting restauants, concerts, places to see etc. They had also gone to the trouble of making a booking at l'Ourson qui Boit (see review) because we could not get through from Australia. WiFi was only available in the brakfas room but we managed with this. The location was fantastic and we walked everywhere. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callyann70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello and thanks for your review. We look forward to welcoming you during your next visit in Lyon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights last weekend(1-3/3/2013).
Words are not enough to drscribe this GREAT hotel.in this LOVELY city.
Location-The BEST one can ask-every place is within walking distance(old part of town/The museum of arts).An old buliding full with charm.
The ROOM-We got upgraded to a suite-the most beautiful one with a stuning bathroom(no need to say that thepalce was spotless).
The Breakfast-Servedn service.
The STAFF-The most friendly staff i ever came across, Emilie who wellcomed us with a great smile and was very helpfull and Laurent the owner worth a special mention.
Would return without any hesitation.
It is THE HOTEL to take youe loved one for a SPECIAL vacation

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyes1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for this comment.
It was a real pleasure to welcome you.
We really look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Lyon.
Best regards,
Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

You cannot be better situated to enjoy Lyon than here - even during snowy weather! Rooms are not large but spotlessly looked after, my extra sheet was ready and waiting on the bed. Rooms facing the theatre are okay although the ones without a view are more modern. Decent sized bath and charming breakfast room with very good selection of things for 9.40 €. Five minutes walk to two streets of fine restaurants, very near to metro, in a high class shopping area. One stop from Vieux Lyon and 20 mins from main station where fast tram takes you to the airport. The ladies who greet you are very helpful with recommendations for eating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment.
We are delighted that you loved your stay at Hotel Celestins. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards,
Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for four nights during the Fetes des Lumieres because we thought it would be a great central location.....we found out it was a little too central. One of the major light displays was across the street at the Theatre des Celestins; the crowds watching this display would fill the street in front of the hotel making it nearly impossible to leave or enter the hotel during the evening. Other than that inconvenience, the hotel was fine. The staff was extremely accomodating and very pleasant....about the best we've ever seen. Our room (a superior double facing the street) was comfortable but missing the charm we expected of an old building and a highly rated hotel. Despite the antique furnishings and lovely linens, the room had the feel of a college dormitory - with acoustic ceiling tiles and flat doors with utilitarian handles. Even so, because of its central location and great staff, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Temuskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Physically this is a 3 star hotel; however, it has a 5 star staff. Don't be alarmed by the entryway and small elevator. Once off the elevator, the reception staff will place you at ease. They are great for area info and restaurant referrals. They will make you feel like friends being welcomed home. Location perfect. Nice, safe neighborhood, walking distance to everything. Continental breakfast better than most. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CmBm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks a lot for your wonderful review. We are delighted you liked your stay in Hotel Celestins. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Found this hotel by reading Rick Steves guide. Its location is perfect. We came by train into Part-Deux Station, which is a bit of a hike to the hotel. (I recommend taking the Metro next time, especially since we got tangled with 3 separate protest marches on a Saturday afternoon, with flocks of police cars racing around the main streets doing nothing more than making traffic even more bottlenecked.)

The rooms are older, small, comfortable, and clean. We were graced with a fascinating post-impressionist painting of a woman who we decided seemed to be detaching her own arm (hee!). Perhaps you'll be lucky enough to see it too. The security is very good - every guest is buzzed in - and the neighborhood is full of upscale dress shops and people who are trying valiantly to defy the parking laws of physics.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoviki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for your review. We look forward to welcoming you during your next stay in Lyon. Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Artistes
#34 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Celestins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Celestins

Property: Hotel des Celestins
Address: 4 rue des Archers, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#11 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Celestins 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the city,between Place Bellecour & Place des JacobinsYou will be within walking distance ofThe old town & the nicest shops.The Célestins CarPark & Bellecour underground station: 50 yards away. Access by elevator 25.6 p X 45.3 p.Air-conditionned & Non Smoking Hotel, free wifi.Charming Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel des Celestins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Celestins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing