We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place in a busy part of town”
Review of Le Garet

Le Garet
Ranked #174 of 3,111 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Reviewed August 30, 2016

On the first night of our first visit to Lyon, we could not have had a better introduction to Lyonnaise food. We did not book but were shown to a table in the back room which soon filled up with other diners. We started with kir communard while we studied the menu. Eventually we decided to start with saucisson and potatoes and a salade du marche and followed with quenelle (a very tasty pike dumpling) and a bavette. We shared a fromage frais and a poached peach with ice cream - all delicious. Everything was excellent including the Saint Veran white wine and really very good value.
We visited 30th August 2016.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RevdIain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 710 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2016

We felt very fortunate to have secured a reservation here (done WELL in advance). There were a few hopefuls waiting at the door when the restaurant opened at 7:30, and they were turned away. Charming little spot with eclectic decor.

Food was interesting, but we were not entirely clear on the proper approach to some of the items being served. My husband ordered frog legs and while his dish was tasty, the frog legs were tiny, baby frogs with numerous bones. There were lots of legs, but it took quite a bit of effort to eat to avoid the bones. We LOVED the pot of wine option. It was excellent and an excellent value.

Service was very good and very friendly. And the food is good, but not our favorite in Lyon.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank RobinLeeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016

After traveling in France for 2 months, my husband and I think this was one of the top meals we had! I had the lunch pre-fixed meal and my husband ordered 3 meals off the menu. All were delicious and incredible (including the house wine)! I would return again!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2016

Perfect experience in Lyon. Enjoyed their 3 course Prix fixe menu with local specialities. The sausage and potato appetizer could have served as a delicious meal for me, but the food just kept coming. The quenelle was the best we had, and the sausage main course was very good. Service was amazing with the servers moving in a choreographed dance of efficiency. Very professional with helpful English skills. This was one of the most excellent restaurants we visited on our trip.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlwaysForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2016

We were welcomed so kindly, and fed so well! The chef came to visit with us and others in the establishment. Everything we ate was simply wonderful. It is a very small restaurant, so reservations are highly recommended. We were there on a Tuesday evening and there were no other tables to be had. Excellent food.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Garet also viewed

 

Been to Le Garet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.