We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Lyonnaise Experience”
Review of Le Garet

Le Garet
Ranked #174 of 3,111 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Reviewed June 22, 2016

We felt very fortunate to have secured a reservation here (done WELL in advance). There were a few hopefuls waiting at the door when the restaurant opened at 7:30, and they were turned away. Charming little spot with eclectic decor.

Food was interesting, but we were not entirely clear on the proper approach to some of the items being served. My husband ordered frog legs and while his dish was tasty, the frog legs were tiny, baby frogs with numerous bones. There were lots of legs, but it took quite a bit of effort to eat to avoid the bones. We LOVED the pot of wine option. It was excellent and an excellent value.

Service was very good and very friendly. And the food is good, but not our favorite in Lyon.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank RobinLeeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 710 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2016

After traveling in France for 2 months, my husband and I think this was one of the top meals we had! I had the lunch pre-fixed meal and my husband ordered 3 meals off the menu. All were delicious and incredible (including the house wine)! I would return again!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2016

Perfect experience in Lyon. Enjoyed their 3 course Prix fixe menu with local specialities. The sausage and potato appetizer could have served as a delicious meal for me, but the food just kept coming. The quenelle was the best we had, and the sausage main course was very good. Service was amazing with the servers moving in a choreographed dance of efficiency. Very professional with helpful English skills. This was one of the most excellent restaurants we visited on our trip.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlwaysForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2016

We were welcomed so kindly, and fed so well! The chef came to visit with us and others in the establishment. Everything we ate was simply wonderful. It is a very small restaurant, so reservations are highly recommended. We were there on a Tuesday evening and there were no other tables to be had. Excellent food.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2016

Made a reservation for Le Garet in advance as read some reviews about it getting very busy - this was the case, our meal being a lunch on a Thursday and the place was packed, mainly with locals not tourists (like me!) and turned away the people in front of us who had not booked.

We had the set menu which was three courses for about 20ish euros. The food was really nice and you got a lot for your money - we didn't go out for dinner as we were still full! Service was both good and very friendly, explaining the specials and menu to us in English.

If you are in Lyon I would highly recommend Le Garet but make sure you book to get a table, and this has to over the phone as there is no facility to do this online.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Garet also viewed

 

Been to Le Garet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.