We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5* , reasonable”
Review of Le Bistrot de Lyon

Le Bistrot de Lyon
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 6/18
8:00 PM
Ranked #714 of 4,017 Restaurants in Lyon
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Beautiful 1900 style brasserie Lyonnaise specialties. A seafood bench winter and a summer terrace. Created in 1974 by Jean-Paul Lacombe.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had dinner in Bistro du Lyon. Competent, reasonable value at 25.50 menu du chef (fish, roast beef), (70.50 for two incl drinks) better than other tourist traps in Rue Merciere.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GYWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BistrotdeLyon, Responsable relations clients at Le Bistrot de Lyon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much and see you soon in Bistrot de Lyon. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2019

Positive remarks should be used before negative comments. Torhisend,Le Bistrot de Lyon has a charming setting. Unfortunately this was the only part about our meal that I can make a positive comment on. If you speak French you will be serviced in a better manner. The meal ordered, a simple vegetarian plate came as a salad on half the plate that was not in the description and with green beans and cold mashed potatoes. When the waiter was informed of my disappointment (after at least 30 minutes of being ignored) the response was that I should have informed the runner who brought the food. We were a table of 3 of whom ordered from the regular menu. All 3 states their food was mediocre at best. There are many restaurants to choose from when in Lyon. Don't waste your precious time or money on this one.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Foodandtravelforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

Le Bistrot de Lyon is in an area full of restaurants, literally 2-3 dozen in the immediate area. To be honest, I chose it because it was serving dinner earlier than many of the surrounding places and I was too tired and hungry to wait until 8 PM to eat. I did get the typical negative reaction to being a solo diner when I entered. That said, I was NOT disappointed and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a typical local Bistro. I had salade lyonnaise (of course) and calves liver for my main, both of which were excellent. The house rose wine was also quite nice. The service was adequate. Overall an enjoyable experience.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jtfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BistrotdeLyon, Responsable relations clients at Le Bistrot de Lyon, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Thank you very much and see you soon in Lyon. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019

With a good selection of local Lyonnaise food & local wine, our party of 9 had fun & ate well. Not a fancy restaurant but it is a very good bistro & well worth a stop. Of course, it is really, really hard to not eat well in Lyon.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank imcarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BistrotdeLyon, Responsable relations clients at Le Bistrot de Lyon, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2019

Thank you very much and see you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019

It’s true that nobody rushes you in French restaurants but I think in Lyon especially you’re expected to make a day of it, even if you came in for a simple lunch. So starting with the oysters through the café gourmand sit back and savor the production! This is a lovely place and we were the only English speaking table within earshot and the waiter waited patiently while I tried to order in French. It was perfect! And yeah, the food was great too!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank groupwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot de Lyon also viewed

 

Been to Le Bistrot de Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing