We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goo quality”
Review of Brasserie L'Ouest

Brasserie L'Ouest
Reserve with
Brasserie L'Ouest is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #144 of 3,325 Restaurants in Lyon
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Goo quality”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A very busy restaurant, don't go there if you want a calm and romantic evening. The food is not very complicated but made out of very good ingredients and you have full view of the kitchen. A nice experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank UserM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    656
    242
    86
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Had nice company which made the experience better”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Arrived and got received by a very unfriendly hostess. I think as we were foreigners she didn't even pay much attention to us, I think that is disrespectful, as she treated locals on a very friendly manner. We sat at the bar to grab a drink before dinner, and no one seemed to acknowledge us.
Atmosphere was great, the decor is very modern and the place is huge, they seemed to have too little staff to handle such a big restaurant.
Once we got seated, we never knew who our waiter was, and it took forever to get water, the menu, bread and even our food took too long. Food was average, almost very simple, I wouldn't call it gastronomic, and under-seasoned. I just think this place is overrated. Or maybe we went in a bad day, who knows. If I would happen to return, I would have to think it twice to go back. Very disappointing because you feel like you beg them to serve you.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cae87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Bringing good bistro food to the masses”
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

If you accept this for what it is, which is a very large restaurant the puts really good bistro food in front of you at reasonable cost, you will be happy. If you think "Paul Bocuse", you will not. Service is friendly but a bit inept, many young helpers with a few seasoned staff. It drives me crazy when you have to wait twenty minutes to give a drink order, so in self defense you order your food at the same time. Starters arrived one minute after the drinks. Avoid the porch at lunch because everyone who brings children seems to think it is a playground for their kids while the parents finish a quiet lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“a ripoff”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I went there with my boyfriend, not really the place for a romantic dinner.

Food was OK but nothing special and damn expensive! The place itself is nice for dinner in groups. But definitely not worth the price you pay.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank berryAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“L'Ouest”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

One of the Four "Brasseries" opened by Paul Bocuse.
This restaurant propose meals from the ocean: seafood etc...

Helpful?
Thank Bernard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie L'Ouest also viewed

 
Caluire et Cuire, Rhone
 

Been to Brasserie L'Ouest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing