We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in my life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Athena Part Dieu
Ranked #168 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Where to start? The only entrance is accessible to taxis and buses. Finding the parking lot access took 30 minutes. We parked for 30 minutes and were chafed over over night parking. In no particular order: thin towels, toilet running non-stop, flashing red sign outside window stating that rooms were available for €58 per night (not true) so had to keep drapes closed, honking horns of taxis under window so had to keep window closed, no A/C so room very hot. Shower appeared to be large dinner plate nozzle but didn't work that way when 60% of holes clogged. Just overall a bad experience and when I stated so to the desk clerk, he didn't want to know.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank 08Janice2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 392 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

I needed a short stay in Lyon for train connection. The hotel is excellent in that aspect being directly connected to the Gare Part Dieu. Other than that the hotel needs some care for cleanliness. The price was very affordable so it was a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGlacierist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

As stated in the title, the hotel looked very old and the bed sheet looked super-dirty. However, it's close to Part-Dieu and it was cheap and the wifi worked miraculously well in my room, so I guess I shouldn't complain.
But honestly it's very unlikely for me to return to this hotel. The room was a little smelly and dirty. Would rather pay more for a cleaner bed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazylump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Normally French hotels are overpriced for what you get. Not so with Hotel Athena. They were running a summer special for July for about 58€ or $75 a night. The hotel is basically connected to Part Dieu train station and let's out into the street where you can catch the tram. Very clean, air-conditioned, helpful and friendly staff, renovated bathroom, flat screen tv with cable...hard to beat that in France!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnBK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

As many others, I booked this hotel as it is close to the train station. I payed 110 EUR per night for a single room. For this amount of money, the room is far from good. It had very old carpeting, a broken lavatory (water was leaking), the hardest matrices that you can imagine, and these old quilts covering the bed linen. AC wouldn't work but opening the window is not a good idea as you can hear every train going in and out.
The hotel claims to have free Wifi, which worked for me only in the lobby, no connection in my room. In total, for 110 EUR without breakfast I am sure one can find a better hotel. The breakfast was okay though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boardingpasst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great location right next to the train station. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Five minute tram ride or a 20 minute walk from the city centre, however there is excellent shopping and eating right on the doorstep of the hotel if you don't want to do the walk or go to town. Service was also excellent. We would definitely stay here again. Ideal for short stays or transiting.

Room Tip: Would recommend this hotel☎
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is next to the Part Dieu Train Station so very convenient if you travel by train. The room is okay, small but clean. The toilet and bathroom is small. The service is fine. But the Wi-Fi was not working well when I stayed there. The breakfast is good with plenty of choices. The staff is okay. The big advantage of this hotel is the location that is closer to the train station and metro station.

But be careful when you find your way to walk to the exit to the hotel. I got the instructions from the hotel staff via email that I should got to Vivier Merle exit. But in the train station itself, it doesn't have a sign for this exit. It has the Alpe and Rhone exits, so you should ask the hotel staff which one you should exit. I couldn't remember which one because I walked out in the wrong exit and it took me quite a distance to walk back to find the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Premiere Classe Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
ResidHotel Lyon Part-Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jules Ferry - Récamier
Best Western Richelieu Lyon Part-Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena Part Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena Part Dieu

Address: 45 boulevard Marius Vivier Merle, 69003, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: $74 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Athena Part Dieu 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Athena Part Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Part Dieu Lyon
Athena Part Dieu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing