We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good,comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale
Ranked #2 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Tienen, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good,comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I was here by myself on a business trip. It was the first time I went to Lyon. The hotel is nice and clean, the furniture is modern. The staff was really helpful. They showed me how to take the bus. The room was small, but I had enough space because I was by myself. The windows could be opened, which is a real plus in a big city. The bed was very comfortable, and I slept very well. They even provide the This Works pillow mist, which helps relax. The bathroom had a bath that doubled as a shower, the shower gel, shampoo, hand soap and conditioner were also good quality. There are both a hairdryer and bathrobes present. Roomservice quality was ok.

What was really outstanding for me was the breakfast. Lots of choice, great quality, and very friendy service!

The hotel is not located in the city centre. It is next to a really nice park which unfortunately I had no chance to visit.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to people on a business trip, because the conference centre is really close. If you don't mind taking the bus to the city centre, this hotel is also a very good option for a holiday in Lyon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    388
    53
    12
    10
See reviews for
119
435
57
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is very modern, very comfortable and very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful and have staff who can speak English. We chose to stay here as we had our dog with us and the proximity to the gardens was great.

Very easy to get to Old Town and centre on a bus that is 1 minute from hotel, runs every 10 mins and takes 15 mins

We would stay there again if in Lyon

The hardest part is finding the hotel when you drive there. Some more signs would be great

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thepurdyboyces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NolwennRoux, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor and also for your high rating.
We are thrilled to read that you have appreciated your stay with us.

In our hotel, your small pets are welcome.
Do not hesitate to mention their presence at the time of booking, we even reserve them a special welcome set! You're right; it is very convenient with the park just in front of us.

Thank you for your kind word about our staff. We are happy to know that they have made the difference.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon – Cite Internationale.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My trip this year started with a slight problem, as my reservation didn't go through. Luckily the very friendly and helpful staff found me a room, and the manager even got me an upgrade for the couple of minutes it took for check in. The hotel privides beautiful amendeties, nice ambiance, it' a good starting point for discovering the city and there are great restaurants nearby, even in walking distance. A very beautiful park is starting just across the road, and there is a clean and effient public transport that brings you everywhere. There is even a very particular aura of security, as the main Interpol building is at a short distance. Parking is easy underground and hotel even paid my parking ticket.

Room Tip: I've been staying once a year in this hotel and I've been happy with either side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NolwennRoux, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel in Lyon and for giving us your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

Please accept again all our apologies for the troubles we met with your reservation. We would like to assure you that this situation is unusual. Nevertheless, we are glad to read that you have appreciated your upgrade as compensation for the inconvenience.

We are indeed located just in front of the beautiful Tete d’Or park, which is one of the biggest urban parks in France. You can rent bikes or boats, enjoy pony rides or take a walk in the huge rose garden.

If you want to reach the city centre, it is very easy from the hotel. The bus C5 will take you down in 10 minutes only. Our reception members remain at your disposal for helping you to organise your stay in Lyon.

All your compliments have been transmitted to our staff, who thanks you warmly.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon – Cite Internationale.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Spent a weekend there and was not disappointed. After reserving on hotel.com, I received a confirmation directly from the hotel with all of my requests. Upon arrival, the reception was perfect, and as an early arrival, we were pleasantly surprised to find that our two rooms were already available and we were able to add a third room at the last minute! My room was with a beautiful view of the river and it was just fabulous. The rooms are a bit small but we're there only to sleep so that didn't bother usl. The bed and choice of pillows were so comfortable. The tub in the bathroom was just great, nice and wide. Had an aperitif at the bar Backstage and the service was just perfect along with the food and drinks. Great location with easy access to public transportation to get to the center. I will definitely return to Crowne Plaza again.

Room Tip: The rooms are either on the park side or the river. We had both but I preferred the river view, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NolwennRoux, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments and your photos about our hotel.
We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your entire stay with us!
We have transmitted your remarks to all our staff.

Your comfort is our priority, so we do our best to satisfy your requests whenever possible. Please feel free to contact our reception department.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon – Cite Internationale.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This is a typical 4 star hotel with good amenities and services. The reception staff was excellent especially Matilde who was very patient, caring and sensitive to my needs. Hotel room was a executive suite with basic amenities. Will make a visit back again if visiting Lyon the near future!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasamine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel is located not far from Part Dieu station and there is a bus/tram stop just outside the hotel. A few minutes walking distance from the hotel is the museum of Contemporary Arts, the convention centre and the beautiful city park Le Tête d’Or. There are also a good selection of restaurants around this area and we especially enjoyed dining at the Italian restaurant there on a couple occasions.

We had a lovely room on the 4th floor with a great view of the Rhône River. The room is clean with a huge, luxurious comfortable bed, a full complimentary coffee/tea making service, a large desk and free wifi. I love the thick comfortable bath robes!

The front desk staff spoke English and were all very pleasant, welcoming and very helpful. Our room package came with breakfast which a good selection. The croissants were just heavenly. The cafe staff serving breakfast also provided excellent service.

We had a great stay in this quiet and beautiful part of Lyon within close bus/tram ride away from downtown Lyon. It was excellent choice of hotel for us, for my partner who had a conference at the Conference centre just 2 minutes walk away and for me to explore this beautiful city.

Room Tip: You have to wonderful choices, either the park view or the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TuffKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel is a short bus ride away from Part Dieu station and is in a relatively new complex (with several restaurants adjacent) with a very attractive park nearby along one side of the hotel. The Rhone river is on the other. The reception was warm and helpful. It is disconcerting that there were no easily accessible stairs for guests; for those who do not like lifts one has to ask at reception each time to have access to a stairway. My partner had to be accompanied to the sixth floor. The room allocated to us overlooked the park. It was attractively furnished but felt a little cramped, not helped by the design: the bathroom door opened to block the room entrance door, while one of the wardrobe doors opened out into the same space.. Care was constantly needed. There were no ice machines on the corridors so on two occasions I had to go down to the bar where the extremely helpful barman provided me with an ice bucket full of ice. Not a major inconvenience but the absence of ice machines was surprising given the climate. The breakfast was 22 Euros each and there were no special offers available when we asked. For what we required this was too expensive so we had fruit and coffee in the city. We stayed at a quiet time (no events in the nearby amphitheatre) and we did not pay a high rate.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marks069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NolwennRoux, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comment online.

We are sorry to read that you were disappointed by the accessibility of our stairs. They are primarily reserved for emergency but all the member of our staff are glad to help you to access to a stairway.

We also regret to learn that you did not appreciate the design of our room. We will soon renovate our rooms and have taken good note of your suggestions.

Regarding the breakfast, we have special offers with special rates available when you book. For your next stay, do not hesitate to contact our booking service: resaindiv@cphotel-lyon.com or +33(0)4 78 17 86 73.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our location! It is true that we are very close to the main attractions of Lyon (Old City, opera, Rhône banks, Part-Dieu…) while being in a quiet, leafy and architectural area. It’s so relaxing to enjoy a walk in the beautiful Parc de la Tête d'Or.

Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff. Be sure that we have transmitted them.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon – Cite Internationale.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mama Shelter Lyon
#6 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale

Property: Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale
Address: 22 quai Charles de Gaulle, 69006, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#3 Family Hotel in Lyon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#5 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Lyon – Cité International stands out as a point of reference in the luxury hotel business in the heart of the famous urban architectural project, the Cite International of Lyon. This hotel was first conceived by the Italian architect Renzo Piano, already well known for the design of the prestigious Georges Pompidou centre in Paris.The Crowne Plaza Lyon – Cité International is located between the banks of the Rhone River and the Parc de la Tete d'Or and just steps away from the largest Congress Centre in Lyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Concorde Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing