We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern hotel just outside city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale
Ranked #3 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
682 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
“Modern hotel just outside city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Quick summary: this is a modern, business-class hotel in a convention complex with good restaurants. Old town and city centery are a quick cab ride away.

This hotel is in a complex of the new convention center that also includes another hotel, some residential housing, restaurants, and some limited shopping and cinema. It is adjacent to the Tete d'Or park, for those who like a nice stroll or run when traveling. While the location is not right downtown or in oldtown, which are nice for touring, they are a relatively quick cab ride away. This also means you avoid the real snarl of small downtown streets if you want to tour the area beyond the city.

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Room #124 has a suite with two beds pushed to a king. The room is a good size, and the sitting area with leather chairs and a table can be closed off. Sleek, modern decor. Flat TV, large in-room safe. The view is over the front of the hotel, but was a quiet room. Free wifi.

A few minor complaints:

1. The bed has duvets instead of separate sheets and blankets, Frankly, I always find these too warm (these were no exception) so I used the excellent quality robe as a night cover instead.

2. The room has a blackout curtain, but no inner lightweight curtain. So: when you dress in the morning, you have your choice of blackout or on full view to those outside. Easy to fix in the future.

3. The desk/TV area is a tight fit near the bed when someone is sitting at the desk. If you plug into the internet, you sit right in front of the TV -- and in the sightline of your companion trying to watch. The bed is also close enough so that I had to crawl over the bed to get to the telephone when my husband was sitting at the desk.

Good-size bathroom with combined tub/shower. Toiletries include the combination shampoo/bath gel and body lotion.

Excellent housekeeping. The staff are very friendly, helpful, and professional. Excellent marks go the the dining room staff at breakfast and lunch -- helpful and charming, especially the tall young lady with dark hair. Also: Renate at the desk knows all and is very helpful.

The breakfast is an extensive buffet of fruits, juices, breads, pastries (really good brioche!), cereals, meats and cheese, etc. and etc. The small sign also notes that they will cook eggs to order, and they know how to do a good omlette. There are also newspapers in English available (always wins my heart.)

My only complaint is that breakfast stops serving/sitting at 9:30 a.m. -- maybe okay for the business and convention crowd, but feels a bit rushed for those on vacation. You can stay a bit longer, but they are wrapping up the buffet by 10 or so. They serve lunch in the same room and its outdoor terrace, you you understand why this happens.

There is also a nice cocktail lounge with entertainment some evenings. This is worth a stop, and was not as busy as it should have been, given the talent.

Lunch on the courtyard terrace was very good. There are also other good restaurants in this complex when you are not in the mood to go back into the city for dinner. Restaurant 33 in this complex was very good, with a range of newly-inspired cooking and a good wine list by the glass.

Secure, paid parking is in the underground garage right beneath the hotel, associated with the convention complex.

The take away: if you really want to experience downtown and old town Lyon, you might want a more central location and deal with the parking and traffic situation. However, we were very comfortable here and happy to use it as a base for exploring Lyon but also touring the area (e.g. a daytrip to Annency.)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordeLyon, Social Media Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
I would like to thank you for having taken time to share your very complete summary with us and the fellow travelers.

We are happy to read that you really appreciate your stay in our hotel, especially the restaurant, despite few minor complaints. We have taken good note of your remarks about the configuration of the rooms; this will help us to improve our offer.

We are glad that our housekeeping leaves you such a good impression. I shared your comments with our staff, especially Renate, our Assistant Front Office Manager, who personally thanks you.

I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hôtel de la Cité Concorde.

Kind regards,
Nolwenn Roux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    398
    55
    12
    10
See reviews for
122
447
57
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

located a little far from the charming streets of the old city, this hotel is however situated near a beautiful park and within an interesting congress /museum complex, la Cité.
the service at the hotel is really superb, staff at the reception desk always ready to help with suggestions. I had to leave in the middle of the night to catch a very early flight and they had an expresso ready for me when I arrived at the desk. Hotel is spotless and very quiet. Free WIFI in the room and public spaces of the hotel.
Nice brasserie located next door, and you will find a small convenience store not too far in the complex.
would return certainly

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageurbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed here for one night in Lyon and after walking around the beautiful central city, we felt it was a shame we didn't stay in a better location (it's about a 15 minute bus ride from the hotel to the city). However, the hotel was very nice - the rooms clean and comfortable, nothing special, but what you'd expect from a 4* hotel. The bathrooms however were huge!! We had contact with three different members of staff, all extremely helpful and very friendly - we received terrific service. It's also convenient if you have a car as the complex the hotel is situated in has an underground car park and if you're a hotel guest they provide you with 24hr parking for 15 Euros instead of the usual 25 I believe.
The hotel is in a modern business complex with a reasonable choice of fairly expensive restaurants - we preferred to go into the city however as the complex felt like a bit of an isolated bubble. Enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Just got back from a long weekend in Lyon and couldnt fault a thing. Hotel reception staff were the best of any hotel in the world, very helpfull and polite. Room was excellent with great views of the river. Definetly going back. Lots of tips for things to do in Lyon and getting about if anyone needs them.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iansussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in May 2011. What a great place. It's next to the convention center and transportation. There is a performance hall and mall with restaurants and shops nearby. The hotel service was excellent and the people were terrific. If you're going to Lyon this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonK53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

A good hotel but the service on evenigs during weekend is awful. One staff for bar and kitchen. Extremely limited menu and cold by the time it reaches you.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bahrain_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Excellent welcome on arrival, with extremely courteous, helpful and knowledgeable receptionists (they provided a map and pointed how the interesting sight and how to best get there, and happily recommended and booked restaurants for us). The room was spacious and very clean, and wireless internet access was available free of charge in the room. Despite facing the main road, the room was very quite and we were able to sleep until late both days. The hotel is not very central, but still located in an excellent position if you do not mind using the practically free bicycles for Lyon visitors (there is a station right in front of the hotel, 10 minutes to the city centre) or the bus (there is a bus stop in front of the hotel). It is also next to the main park, le Parc de la Tête d'Or. While free water bottles and chocolates were provided on arrival, it would be a nice touch to repeat the offer on the second day (after all we paid the same price for both nights). We will definitely go back to this hotel the next time we visit Lyon. Thanks again to the great front desk staff for their work and commitment to making the stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londonsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mama Shelter Lyon
#6 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale

Property: Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale
Address: 22 quai Charles de Gaulle, 69006, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#3 Family Hotel in Lyon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#5 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Lyon – Cité International stands out as a point of reference in the luxury hotel business in the heart of the famous urban architectural project, the Cite International of Lyon. This hotel was first conceived by the Italian architect Renzo Piano, already well known for the design of the prestigious Georges Pompidou centre in Paris.The Crowne Plaza Lyon – Cité International is located between the banks of the Rhone River and the Parc de la Tete d'Or and just steps away from the largest Congress Centre in Lyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Concorde Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing