We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel ”
Review of Hotel Tete d'or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tete d'or
Ranked #38 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel ”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in the middle of July and we were very pleasantly surprised at the standard of the hotel given the cost of our stay.

The hotel is located a couple of metro stops away from the centre of the city and has a lift facility, which was useful for me being heavily pregnant.

The room was extremely clean and had a bath and hair dryer. It was the size of a room that you would expect in a city in Europe - quite small but contained everything that you would need for a short city break.

The only one negative point that I would make is the fact that there was no air conditioning. This again is normal for the price of the room but was quite uncomfortable during the summer heat. We were able to open the widows which provided a slight relief from the high temperatures.

If we were returning to Lyon we would definitely stay in this hotel again and would recommend it for family and friends traveling to the city for a short break.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LornaThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    120
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
99
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The location was great, in a nice and safe area just 15 minutes walk from the old town. It was public bikes just around the corner, and Lyon is perfect for cycling!! The staff were polite and helpful. Would love to go there another time!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vilde F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Good quality for 2 star hotel.
Location is ok, walking distance to most of Lyon and nice position for the park which is a short walk.
Breakfast was the highlight- good service and tasty, fresh food.
Our room was clean, slightly small but to be expected in French cities - as we've read!
Overall good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I have really not much bad to say about this hotel. The first big plus was the cordiality, and friendliness of the staff. I stayed for one night, I asked for an iron, they gave it to me and allowed me to give it back next day (this is not to be underestimated, same request in Rome few weeks after in a 3 stars hotel received as an answer "you know, we are just three star, we have only one iron common for all our guests in the hall of the second floor"). After checkout I left my baggage, came back and still needed more time and it was raining: the staff borrowed me an umbrella to continue my excursion :o.

The room was quite small but at the end quite functional. The only slightly weaker point is breakfast, which could be slightly improved. Otherwise perfect!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZioSeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband, myself and daughter stayed here for 3 nights.
The pros: The proprietors were very nice. It was clean, and was well-located - it was possible to walk to the old town - though a bit far, or it was just a short walk to the metro and an easy ride to all the sights.
We had 3 twin beds in our family room(two were right next to each other to create a double bed)

The Cons: We stayed on the top floor, and the ceiling sloped. To use the toilet, I had to duck down (I am 5 ft, 11in) and to dry my hair in front of the bathroom mirror, I couldn't stand up straight because the ceiling was too low.
It didn't bother us, but the lift was extremely small and narrow. Our family of two adults and a six year old filled the entire space of the lift.

Room Tip: Beware the ceilings slope on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2014

When looking for a great, clean, friendly, wonderfully located in Lyon hotel, right on budget, with a tasty breakfast in the morning Hotel Tête D'or has it all! Will come back any time. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMaslanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

very close to a main shopping area, a train station and a delicious inexpensive breakfast bakery. the folks at the reception spoke enough English to help us book a very early morning taxi for our departure, which was great! the hotel is a short walk to a huge park with a free zoo, botanical garden and wonderful walking trails. the room was small. from the photos, i thought that the bathrooms would be enormous and on a seperate level... a little confusing. and there was no coffee maker, which i had become very used to in the other hotels that we stayed at. it was also nice that it was just off a busy street...pretty quiet and comfortable. oh, and the curtains were so dark, that when you closed them, it was completely dark. great sleeping atmosphere

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Marechal Lyautey - Vitton
Hotel au Patio Morand
Hotel au Patio Morand
#80 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Hotel Le Roosevelt
#57 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mama Shelter Lyon
#6 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tete d'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tete d'or

Property: Hotel Tete d'or
Address: 62 rue Garibaldi, 69006, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tete d'or 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Tete d'or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing