We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price, good location”
Review of Hotel d'Azur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel d'Azur
Ranked #134 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good price, good location”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great little hotel very close to Lyon-Parrache station making it a perfect place for a short stop-over.
We were greeted by a very helpful young man who suggested an excellent dinner location for some traditional Lyonnaise food, I would definitely recommend asking staff for dining and sight-seeing suggestions as they are excellent.
Room was a good size, free wifi handy, bed was comfortable and very quiet for a good night's sleep.
Location made it easy to walk to all the sights and price very affordable.
Other reviews are accurate, small piece of soap and one towel in double room but this was easy fix by walking to reception and asking for more, they were more than happy to help.
Would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    45
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
23
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

having just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel we think it has been shown a lot of love and attention of late and the staff always pleasant. our twin room was a reasonable size with two large comfy beds and all very clean and bright.

Room Tip: our room at the back of hotel was lovley and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel which was very convenient, friendly, comfortable. The room was of adequate size for two by European standards. It is quite close to Lyon Perrache train station as well as to lots of tourist attractions, stores, restaurants etc.. We were on the top floor (5th) and had absolutely no problems with noise. We heard from other reviews that breakfast wasn't worth the 7 euros so we went out to Paul's further down rue Victor Hugo where they have great brown bread, nut rolls, fugaces, etc. and good breakfasts. There is also a bagel breakfast place not too far away. It is easy walking distance to the Rhone. We heard about it not only here but it is on the approved list of our business contacts.

Room Tip: Top (5th) floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandma_Pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is a budget friendly 2 star hotel and very, very convenient to the Lyon Perrache train station and the main metro line of Lyon. It is located on a pedestrian street with some little shops and some fast food restaurants. Less than a mile from Place Bellecour and access to other areas of the city.
This is a hotel that is simple, I found it very clean and our room was a twin, a bit larger than what I am used to in European hotel rooms and overlooked the street (you will be able to hear "street noise" meaning that people walking and talking and cars making their early morning deliveries) The staff was helpful and courteous and always made themselves available to us when we had a question.
Be sure to leave your key at the front desk...this sounds like a weird tip, but if you forget to, they literally call after you regarding the key...they are very, very strict about this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleR300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you are going to use public transportation to reach the airports or use SCNF, this hotel has the perfect place! It is very close to main station Perrache where you have access to subway, tramway, bus and TGV. And still close to the touristic district just 2 blocks away from Bellecour Plaza. Take the passage way across Saone river and you are in old town. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room prices are very reasonable as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nihan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

IF you can get past the dirty carpet - which we did - the place was fine - the price is great and so is the location. The young man at the front desk couldn't have been more welcoming and made sure we knew where we were going and helped head us off in the right direction for dinner. He also helped us plan the next day for sightseeing .... Spent two nights here - and would say it is not bad - but sure is not great either. We slept well and the room, bath and bed linens were clean - but the darned carpets are stained and worn out throughout the hotel - look crumby. And the dried flowers on each floor's foyer were all worn and tattered ... The place needs some TLC.

We walked everywhere from this location - it is located in a great area - and like one reviewer said - it is a good value for a budget hotel in a large city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanAch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

definately not a 2 star, probably a 1 star if you stretch it as it was more of a private room hostel - there wasn't even soap in the room and only 1 towel was provided in a room with 2 double beds
mattress was very very soft and bathroom needed some work and there wasn't even a shower curtain
very squeeky floors
had a nice view of the main walk way
super location as it is a 5 minute walk from the Perrache train station but it was also noisy with garbage trucks making noise around 5-6 am
hotel itself was quiet and safe and staff was very friendly and spoke English well

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenicd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lyon hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel De La Loire
#99 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
HOTEL DU DAUPHIN
#135 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel du Simplon
Hotel du Simplon
#54 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel d'Ainay
Hotel d'Ainay
#166 of 193 in Lyon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Hotel des Remparts
#65 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Avy Residence Hoteliere
#125 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Azur

Property: Hotel d'Azur
Address: 64 Rue Victor Hugo, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel d'Azur 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel d'Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Azur Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing