We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
College Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $403/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$294
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$213
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$184
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$175
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Vaubecour(Lyon)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
119
195
137
43
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
195
137
43
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsschool desksold townthemed hotelfree soft drinksschool booksrooftop terracecar liftwet roominteresting hotelperfect locationbasilica of notre damethe riveracross the bridgebreakfast roomcommon areasstar hotelnice stay
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 516 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very nicely located hotel in the center of old Lyon. I could walk everywhere from here. the staff is nice and helpful. I liked especially the free drinks you can get from the vintage fridge in the corridor and the nice terrace located at the second floor. For the cleanliness don't look in the corners but fair for a 3 stars

Room Tip: Second floor has some rooms with access to the terrace.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights at the hotel and loved every moment. The location is excellent, right in the heart of the old town, with bars and restaurants aplenty on the doorstep. You are also within easy reach of the main shopping areas of Lyon, meaning public transport was not necessary at all during our stay (although we did lazily resort to the funicular to reach the Basilica!) The hotel itself was wonderful. Staff were friendly and helpful and we were hugely grateful for the room upgrade which we received on arrival. The hotel's communal areas are quirky and clean and the breakfast was simple and delicious. Our bedroom was equally lovely: spotless and a good size. The complimentary soft drinks available on each floor were a nice touch and greatly appreciated in such hot weather! All in all a wonderful hotel and one I would have no hesitation returning to should I visit Lyon again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyT_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Le College is perfectly situated to explore Vieux Lyon & the Presqu'Ile. The decor is quirky and original and the rooms, whist small are perfectly adequate for a short stay. The bedding and towels are good quality and is was spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly & helpful. Free bottled water & soft drinks are available from refrigerators on each floor. There's free wifi and a lovely roof terrace. There are plenty of bars & restaurants nearby and there is some noise from the street as a result, but with the windows closed and the efficient air conditioning on we slept well even in a heatwave.

Room Tip: We had room 504 which looked over the roof terrace and from which we could see Fourviere Cathedral.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AubergeMontagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip – so someone else chose it, but glad they did. Initial impressions were of slight dottiness – rules for pupils at the door, giant pencils next to reception desk and TV playing old black and white kids' TV – but what could have been a tacky 'theme' hotel turned out to be a delight.

Room was a surprise – looked like a white cell, with metal school lockers for wardrobes and school desk and chairs, and wad freezing as someone has cranked the A/C all the way down to very cold indeed. With some heat restored, much better: comfortable bed, good walk-in shower and free wi-fi.

Like the retro fridges full of soft drinks on every floor, even more impressed with the bar (next door but part of hotel) serving huge list of wines, excellent cheese and charcuterie, which looked like a good place to while away an afternoon. So we did.

Breakfast simple, but all you could want, and staff consistently friendly and helpful. Would definitely go again, this time for a break rather than a slightly hurried business trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreweverard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The College is perfectly located for seeing the Old Town as everything is accessible on foot. We loved the decor of the hotel which captured the 'college' atmosphere with great humour and style. The rooms are simple but have everything you need. The rooms are small and vary in 'smallness'. We had enough room for our 2 night stay but our friends room which was the same grade as ours was configured differently and had some low beams which made the room more cramped. The shower rooms are spacious. Try and get a room on one of the top floors which have views.

The breakfast room is fun and everything from the fresh orange juice to the cheeses and fresh croissant and bread delicious.

The service was superlative from my first enquiry to checking out - all provided by Simon who really knows what the word 'service' means. Rarely have we met someone who has contributed so much to the enjoyment of staying in a hotel. If only he could be cloned the attitude of some of the shops and restaurants we visited during our stay left a lot to be desired!

We would definitely return and would try their other hotels.

Room Tip: High floors have better views and are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanessaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews