We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful, Warm and Cozy Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Florentine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Florentine
Ranked #6 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Warm and Cozy Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed there one night after we stayed at Abbaye de la Bussiere in Burgandy, both Relais and Chateaux properties. Since we did not have a good experience at Abbaye it was a very good contrast between the two properties. The minute we arrived there we were pleasantly surprised by the staff's friendliness and eagerness to help. Then General Manager came by and introduced himself and asked if there was anything he could do to help our stay a pleasant one. A kind of pampering and a nice touch you want to have at a five star Relais and Chateaux property. The hotel is locaetd in the old section of Lyon overlooking the City and has a beautiful property. The only negative is you will need to cross the bridge to get to most of attractions, shopping and restaurants but it was not such a long walk from the hotel. One caution is not to take the cable car to come back to the hotel as you can easily get lost to get down to the hotel from the cable car stop. Mondays all the good restaurants including the highly acclaimed one from the hotel are closed so we could not have a decent dinner the day we arrived but the next day we had visited all the Michelin star rated restaurants for lunch and dinner at the world capital of the gastronomy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ys124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    122
    29
    19
    10
See reviews for
68
353
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed at this lovely hotel in the older part of Lyon while on a business trip. The accomodations were made by our local hosts who is quite familiar with the gastronomy of the area. We were personally greeted by Jerome Montanteme (Directeur of the hotel) who helped us sign in. During our stay, Anne Christensen was quite helpfull and attentive to our needs. In addition the hotel and reaturant staff were polite and professional. The food and wine selection of the restaurant was fantastic.
I look forward to returning here with my wife for our next holiday!

Room Tip: I stayed in room #1 which is a large suite with a terrace overlooking the valley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDutch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is an absolute gem of a hotel, set high above Lyons with dramatic views across the rooftops from the restaurant. This is hotel and fine dining at its best. The bedrooms were large, quiet and well appointed, the service is impeccable and seemingly effortless. We were greeted with a welcome drink as we checked in which is a nice touch, and the legendary Anne was a mine of information and just as friendly as the reviews said she would be! It may be off the beaten path but it certainly merits the detour.

Room Tip: Stay in the original part of the Hotel if you can but all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxuryloafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Hotel was beautiful! The management was very accommodating...there was a mix up with our room and they handled it right away and gave us a great upgrade, the pool is nice and the views are insane! I would eat out side the hotel and beware of the million stairs to get up to the hotel...you can cab it or walk if you are in shape : ) 100% recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holly n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in this beautiful restored convent atop the big hill in Old Lyon. You are treated as a VIP from the moment you enter the beautiful lobby, as the hotel staff provides you with a refreshing drink on the terrace as they do the paperwork for your check-in. The staff speak many languages and are happy to help you. The room was beautiful with a territorial view of the city. The pool overlooks the city and has a spa feel to it. The bar in the lobby, although usually empty, was a wonderful place to have an evening cocktail or a morning coffee and croissant while I waited for my teenage daughter to finish dressing. The location is fantastic - just above the cobblestoned portion of old Lyon, with scores of wonderful Lyonnaise bistros to eat, drink, and peoplewatch throughout the day and evening. You will want to be physically fit, however, because the best way to reach these bistros and shops is via the nearby old staircases that link the hotel to the rest of Lyon. I would go back again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxgal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I had to book a last minute trip to Lyon for business and was fortunate that there weren't any other hotels with availability. This was truly a first rate experience and I only had two days to enjoy while still working. The rooms and amenities were incredible - large - which in Europe is uncommon. The bathroom alone was huge and luxurious. The property is a former religious site (monastery, I think) and they kept many of the original features. The views were just beautiful- couldn't ask for a better overall experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Villa Florentine is beautiful. The old abbey has been decorated with every attention to detail. The views across Lyon are breathtaking, it is an easy walk down stairs to the old village where you get lost in the old world charm. The staff are extremely helpful and take a little extra time to chat. Anne (Assistant Mgr) was very friendly and made the visit warm and welcoming. We wanted to stay longer, such an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CamDea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 190 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Mama Shelter Lyon
#5 of 190 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Florentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Florentine

Property: Villa Florentine
Address: 25 Montee Saint Barthelemy, 69005, Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lyon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#7 Business Hotel in Lyon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Florentine 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Villa Florentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Florentine Hotel Lyon
Florentine Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing