We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go and stay!”
Review of Villa Florentine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Villa Florentine
Ranked #7 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Go and stay!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is an absolute gem of a hotel, set high above Lyons with dramatic views across the rooftops from the restaurant. This is hotel and fine dining at its best. The bedrooms were large, quiet and well appointed, the service is impeccable and seemingly effortless. We were greeted with a welcome drink as we checked in which is a nice touch, and the legendary Anne was a mine of information and just as friendly as the reviews said she would be! It may be off the beaten path but it certainly merits the detour.

Room Tip: Stay in the original part of the Hotel if you can but all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxuryloafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    148
    37
    25
    13
See reviews for
86
434
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Hotel was beautiful! The management was very accommodating...there was a mix up with our room and they handled it right away and gave us a great upgrade, the pool is nice and the views are insane! I would eat out side the hotel and beware of the million stairs to get up to the hotel...you can cab it or walk if you are in shape : ) 100% recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in this beautiful restored convent atop the big hill in Old Lyon. You are treated as a VIP from the moment you enter the beautiful lobby, as the hotel staff provides you with a refreshing drink on the terrace as they do the paperwork for your check-in. The staff speak many languages and are happy to help you. The room was beautiful with a territorial view of the city. The pool overlooks the city and has a spa feel to it. The bar in the lobby, although usually empty, was a wonderful place to have an evening cocktail or a morning coffee and croissant while I waited for my teenage daughter to finish dressing. The location is fantastic - just above the cobblestoned portion of old Lyon, with scores of wonderful Lyonnaise bistros to eat, drink, and peoplewatch throughout the day and evening. You will want to be physically fit, however, because the best way to reach these bistros and shops is via the nearby old staircases that link the hotel to the rest of Lyon. I would go back again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxgal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I had to book a last minute trip to Lyon for business and was fortunate that there weren't any other hotels with availability. This was truly a first rate experience and I only had two days to enjoy while still working. The rooms and amenities were incredible - large - which in Europe is uncommon. The bathroom alone was huge and luxurious. The property is a former religious site (monastery, I think) and they kept many of the original features. The views were just beautiful- couldn't ask for a better overall experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Villa Florentine is beautiful. The old abbey has been decorated with every attention to detail. The views across Lyon are breathtaking, it is an easy walk down stairs to the old village where you get lost in the old world charm. The staff are extremely helpful and take a little extra time to chat. Anne (Assistant Mgr) was very friendly and made the visit warm and welcoming. We wanted to stay longer, such an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamDea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Virtually Perfect

We stayed two nights and it was quite an amazing experience. We arrived by car and as we pulled into the parking space we were greeted by the hotel manager. Then we were introduced to Anne who checked us in and gave us an orientation about the hotel and its history as well as a detailed walking map for us to use while walking about the city. Throughout our stay she was incredibly helpful.
The room was incredibly large and very well appointed.
The staff, without exception, was there to make your stay as pleasurable and relaxing as possible. The physical facility was gorgeous and very comfortable, but it was the staff that differentiates this hotel from virtually any other I have stayed at. If I return to Lyon, and I hope to, I will be sure to stay at the Villa Florentine Hotel Lyon

Room Tip: There are only 28 or so rooms. Some do not have a great city view. Ours (#14) was very large and sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDPLVILLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relations-clients, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Florentine, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you for staying at the Villa Florentine and for taking the time to leave a review.

We are very pleased to read that you liked your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Customer Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This lovely hotel exudes calm and comfort but what makes this an exceptional place to stay are friendliness and service of the staff. Anne again requires special mention - very caring and helpful. We loved our stay in this hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarinshrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Florentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Florentine

Property: Villa Florentine
Address: 25 Montee Saint Barthelemy, 69005, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lyon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#7 Business Hotel in Lyon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Florentine 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Florentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Florentine Hotel Lyon
Florentine Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing