We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 4 star!”
Review of Hotel Le Roosevelt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Roosevelt
Ranked #57 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Chalon-sur-Saone, France
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“not a 4 star!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

scruffy entrance, (and really scary access from the garage),
tiny elevator, defective bathtub faucets.
Breakfast overpriced at 15 euro, American Motel 8 decor inside.

Staff was mixed batch - some had no idea about their own city as far as sightseeing was concerned, some were very helpful.

this hotel purports to be 4 stars, but it is in reality a budget hotel and should have 2 stars. it was decent for 2 stars, it would be dismal for 4 stars.
Perhaps don't expect 4 stars below 100 euro per night :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h8mosquitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent_Jaumes, Directeur général at Hotel Le Roosevelt, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for choosing the Roosevelt Hotel for your last stay in Lyon and for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I'm sorry you have not enjoyed your stay and your comments will help us to improve our services.

I want to clarify that the star ratings for the hotel is made by the prefecture following specifications.
In any case the price of the room involved in this ranking.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    173
    78
    35
    7
See reviews for
47
202
24
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

There is so much to do and eat and see in Lyon, that you shouldn't be spending too much time your hotel room. Got a great price last minute for a short weekend, comfy beds, but I agree with some of the reviews that the rooms were a bit stuffy/warm and you risked getting some visitors (pigeons) if you opened the windows. Did not have breakfast because I was in Lyon - food heaven! Short walk to everywhere (< 15 mins) - Les Halles de Lyon, presqu'ile, parc de la tete d'or. Would loved to have stayed longer and enjoyed for runs and strolls along the rhone and parc. Staff was very friendly, as well!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AOS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent_Jaumes, Directeur général at Hotel Le Roosevelt, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Roosevelt in Lyon.
I am delighted that you could benefit  a discount weekend rate to visit Lyon and all the culinary treasures.
We have taken note of your comments on the temperature of our rooms.
Even if the weather is often changeable, major work will be done to improve it.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Roosevelt Hotel.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just ok (borderline not good). Here is why:

- The rooms are hot as hell
- The beds are uncomfortable and we woke up multiple times each night
- The €15 hotel breakfast is not good value for money (a 5 minute walk to get hot, fresh pastries and a coffee in the morning for €4.50)
- The staff seemed to know less about Lyon than we did (unhelpful, wrong info, missing info)
- Paper thin walls
- Not all that central (I'm fine with walking places, but this hotel was a little TOO far from the center... especially for what it cost.

I would choose not to stay here again (and I'm a pretty easygoing hotel goer).

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Garrett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent_Jaumes, Directeur général at Hotel Le Roosevelt, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impression during your stay at the Roosevelt hotel.

For heating, maybe did you not set the thermostat of the room?
A solution could be found by calling our receptionist.

For breakfast , I do not know if you can compare a benefit in a hotel with the benefit of a local bakery ? We select high quality products and our prices are compared with the average of the hotel of our category.

Finally, even if we are not in full center of Lyon, the Roosevelt Hotel is located in the 6th quarter, close to the Parc de la Tête d'Or and the Opéra de Lyon and 3 metro stops from the Place Bellecour.

Nevertheless I hope that you enjoyed the city of Lyon and we remain at your disposal to welcome you to the Hotel Roosevelt in good condition.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was a very large room by Lyon standards and the front desk staff were so helpful. The only thing we found was that the A/C did need to be updated if you like your room ice cold to sleep like we do. i think Europeans prefer it a bit warmer then you're fine! It was a nice walk to Vieux-Lyon and lots of nice restaurants nearby! Make sure you stop by the marionette museum across the river it was wonderful, especially for kids!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent_Jaumes, Directeur général at Hotel Le Roosevelt, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for sharing your experience following your stay at the hotel roosevelt.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our rooms and that you enjoyed the quality of restaurant around the hotel roosevelt.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next stay in Lyon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

at our first day we asked if it is complimentary breakfast and they said yes, when we check out they billed us 200 usd for the breakfast. Though the breakfast were above average. on all the other hand the hotel was good, the room is a little bit small.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank fAnSKyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent_Jaumes, Directeur général at Hotel Le Roosevelt, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Customer,
We thank you for choosing the Roosevelt hotel for your stay in Lyon and for having taken the time to actually feedback.
You have made a reservation through a travel agency which itself is affiliated with the company Expedia.
By confirming your reservation, you also receive a confirmation stating clearly "Room Only".
Our receptionist will therefore naturally charged breakfasts consumed (14 € per person).
We apologize for this misunderstanding and we are delighted that you still spent a pleasant stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Roosevelt Hotel
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Don't be miselad by my review title. This is a lovely hotel, with friendly staff and really nice rooms. The only downside is that it is a little bit of a walk to get anywhere.

We booked this hotel for a 2 day visit to Lyon, and we really enjoyed our stay. If you don't mind the 10-15 minute walk to get into Lyon centre, then this hotel is a really good option. We looked around at a lot of other options, and some of the prices for more convenient hotels was just crazy. This was a lot more affordable.

Some reviews mention the rooms are small, but having just come from Paris they seemed huge! The bathrooms are large as well and really well fitted out. Very clean and modern.

Its worth considering this hotel for your stay in Lyon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was in Lyon for 3 night for a conference and the Hotel le Roosevelt proved to be a nearly perfect accomodation.
Superbly located in Lyon's 6th arrondissement is close to nice restaurants, the old town, the congress centre and the park!
The only negative point was the bath tub, which was really too tiny.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vatnajokull51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Marechal Lyautey - Vitton
Hotel au Patio Morand
Hotel au Patio Morand
#76 of 195 in Lyon
46 reviews
Hotel Tete d'or
#43 of 195 in Lyon
263 reviews
Jules Ferry - Récamier
Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Roosevelt

Property: Hotel Le Roosevelt
Address: 48 rue de Seze, 69006, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#35 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Roosevelt 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt is a charming 4 **** hotel located in the heart of the 6th quarter of Lyon, a city known for its cuisine and its major role in the history of cinema. Close to many sites: The Business Part Dieu Center, the convention center at the Cite Internationale, Lyon Opera, the Museum of Fine Arts, the Museum of Contemporary Art and the Park of the Head of gold. The Roosevelt Hotel offers 48 rooms tastefully decorated and 6 floors with a lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Roosevelt Lyon
Le Roosevelt Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing