We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very elegant and comfortable place, extremely...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lyon, Rhone, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Clay S
Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very elegant and comfortable place, extremely well located”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Although a little sparsely furnished, this accommodation is very roomy and comfortable. The second bed is in a small loft, but there is a sleep-able couch arrangement in the great room. The kitchen and bathroom are modern and elegant and there is plenty of kitchen equipment and bath luxuries, such as a towel warming arrangement. Very special place at a quite reasonable rate.

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSpir...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great apartment in the perfect location”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I loved this apartment. It was a very good size and located just a stones throw away, across the river, from Vieux Lyon. In the opposite direction it is only a short stroll to Place de Terreaux, many cafe's, restaurants and shopping. Ana's mother and Pierre where there to welcome us and although they spoke virtually no English, and we spoke no French, they were able to explain everything about the apartment, with quite a few laughs thrown in.
If my wife and I are lucky enough to ever return to Lyon we would love to have the opportunity to again stay in this wonderful apartment.

Date of stay: August 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuss1
Oshawa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Lyon!”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Les Augustins Saone-Terreaux was the perfect apartment for our 6 day visit to Lyon. It is, as the name implies, centrally located from both the Saone river and Place Terreaux. We were walking distance from most of the Old Lyon sites. Our hosts Ana and Mark provided some excellent suggestions for our visit. Ana' s parents greeted us and were gracious, informative and welcoming. The apartment is spectacular. Narrow streets and thick walls made for a comfortably cool apartment, even on days that reached 30C! The building is several hundred years old and displayed all of this ancient ambience with high ceilings ( 14'- 16'), brick walls and many large shuttered windows. Despite this, it had very chic modern amenities: dishwasher, washing machine, large screen tv, wireless internet, stove and oven. The apartment is very well equipped and we happily cooked several meals here ( the apartment is steps away from a boulangerie, a chacutterrie, a fromagerie, several small grocery stores and of course, the daily fresh produce market on the Saone). We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The age of the building and the location
Liked least: Needed another sheet for the bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2016
Thanks so much for your kind and detailed comments. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Les Augustins.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambchop5...
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment, great location.”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Enjoyed a week's stay at Les Augustins. So spacious and well equipped, it was a wonderful base to enjoy and explore this amazing city.
Located in a side street, 100 metres from the banks of the beautiful Saone. The perfect place for a relaxing morning's walk, work up an appetite and then lunch at one of the many restaurants and brasseries situated in this area.
Communication with Ana throughout the whole booking process was first rate throughout.
Stayed in many apartment in Europe during many trips, this was undoubtedly one of the best. Highly recommended !

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious living area, central location
Liked least: Occaisional noise from late night revellers... but not a problem !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorettasm...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great location and lovely property”
Reviewed March 11, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The apartment was full of character and was a 'home from home'. Ana's parents were lovely and helpful. The local shops and restaurants were everything you could hope for and the location is fantastic for walking along the banks of the rivers, there is a street market close by and the Musee des Beaux Arts is fantastic....

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillCanbe...
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It was a delight to stay in Ana and Mark's apartment. Ana's parents were so helpful and friendly to us with all the information we needed despite our very poor French. Everything in the apartment suited us so well. It was spacious, really well appointed and very tastefully decorated. We loved the historic ambience but with all the modern comforts. The location is great for access to everything in Lyon and we had a wonderful 10 days there. Thanks so much.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtshadow
New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Large Apartment in Historic Building”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We spent 5 nights in this apartment and it is exactly as described. As you walk up 23 stone steps in this building, you feel as if you are going back in time. Once you open the door, you are aware of the size. Three almost floor to ceiling windows let in light and the stone wall & old wooden floors add to the ambience. The closet is the bedroom is quite roomy and the kitchen is well equipped and up to date. The rain shower was heavenly, the washing machine really worked and the toilet down the long hall reminded you were in Europe. And, the wifi signal was very good!

We were met by the owners' parents who speak very little English but we understood most of the explanations. Prior to our arrival, we were in contact with the owners who were prompt in answering our questions. In fact, while we were there, we had a question about the drying feature on the washing machine and the owners not only sent instructions by email but offered to phone us for further help if needed.

The only small drawback is that the windows are not double planed; hence, you heard talking at night when people walked down the street. The ground floor of most of the buildings on that short street were mostly parking garages for residents of the apartment above. But, it is Europe and the streets are not quiet at night!

If you have questions, do email the owners, Ana & Mark. They are very willing to answer you promptly. It is a lovely apartment in an excellent location for walking Lyon and we would stay there again.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Extremely large, good seating, plentiful condiments in kitchen, dealing with the owners
Liked least: Single,panes windows
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing