We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check-In: Hotel Mama Shelter in Lyon, France!”
Review of Mama Shelter Lyon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mama Shelter Lyon
Ranked #6 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Mama Shelter franchise is fast becoming a household name around the boutique hotel circles. The baby of world-renowned designer Philippe Starck, the name Mama Shelter now resonates as a general good time in comparison to other hoteliers, especially in Europe. The Lyon hotel is the epitome of that ambiance. It's utalitarian with being stale and colorful without being overbearing. There are modern hotels all around the world, but there are few postmodern hotels like this one.

The location is not central, but this works perfectly in a medium-sized European city like Lyon. A few steps away from the center of France's third-largest city and the birthplace of cinema. The walk to the center is pleasant, easy and direct. Also, the non-central location makes for better views and a surprisingly quiet stay.

The hotel's bar and restaurant are the focal point of the stay. It's decorated with swimming pool kitsch and an air of playfulness. It is also one of the best places in the city to have a sunday morning brunch. The dinner dishes are fast, yet tasty. It does get rowdy during the weekend, so if you are a social bee - it's definitely the place to be!

The service was up to par. The reception is not that of a conventional style (it serves as a concierge and the reception like most boutique hotels), however, the receptionists are more than eager to help, whether in translating or booking a cab ride/restaurant. There is no unnecessary frill here. Plus, the rooms are very well-priced for a hotel of this kind.

This is one of the best hotels in Lyon, France. Also, it is the most youthful and uplifting in its ambiance. Even if you are not staying at Mama Shelter Lyon, you have to visit it during your time in Lyon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flight965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,242)
There are newer reviews for Mama Shelter Lyon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

I am staying at Mama Shelter for 2 nights on business. The hotel came highly recommended by a colleague based in Paris. And I haven't been disappointed.
The hotel is super stylish but doesn't take itself too seriously either. A perfect mix of edgy without being pretentious or aloof. The décor is really fun and modern.
The bar/restaurant area is bustling in the evening and worth booking a table for. The food is delicious, offering a modern take on traditional French cuisine. Fab cocktail and mocktail menu too!
Lots of great photo opps and talking points - cartoon masks in the bedroom anyone?!
Friendly and helpful staff, even with my school-girl French!
Will definitely be back and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emcka0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way to Provence for Christmas...and I really didn't want to leave after just one night. The hotel is very modern with quirky decor, but warm and welcoming at the same time. The rooms are sparsely decorated but have the basics right at a level that is outstanding.
The beds are SO comfy with fluffy pillows and lovely warm duvets, and the mattress is simply a beauty to sleep on. The bathroom is clean with fluffy warm white towels, and delicious mama shower products.

Best sleep ever...and as that wasn't enough...the breakfast was out of this world. Not included in our hotel price but well worth the €15.00. I think you'd be hard pushed to get a better breakfast anywhere!!

My only criticism is that I didn't get to stay for longer :-)

Well done, mama!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Rune W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was rather put off by the dodgy decor at Mama Shelter when I first arrived. It's all very edgy and graffiti-covered...I assume it's done for the 'yoof'. The bedroom was also off-putting at first view with bare concrete walls, graffiti and even a carpet that had a graffiti decoration.

However, staying there was a joy. The bed is probably the most comfortable I have ever tried. It is wonderfully quiet. The food is good - particularly the breakfast which has home made breads and cakes, home made jams, genuinely freshly-squeezed juices and hot food as well as great fruit, cheese and ham. The curtains really keep the light out and the whole place is spotless.

I was also very impressed by the genuinely friendly and helpful service at all times.

It's not far from the centre of Lyon - just a few stops on the metro or you can walk it. It's in a relatively quiet part of town, not a lot to do in the area but there's lots in the centre of Lyon!

Room Tip: As far as I know they're all good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I visited this place because of business,not only sleeping but having 2 days meeting. Designed, apple crazy place, with great food and very friendly staff. Good breakfast. 3 min walk to metro, close to old Lyon. Perfect place, doesn't matter of the reason.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Magda_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Although we only had one night here, we thoroughly enjoyed it.
The hotel is ultra modern, with a converted warehouse feel.
We loved all the quirky novelties and set up. The staff were helpful and friendly, the buffet breakfast was amazing and the bar was very cool.

The location seemed to be a bit far from the main areas, about a 30 min walk.

Would stay here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stvnhayls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Although minimalistic, the room was cozy and provided everything we needed for a great and astonishing stay.

Unlike many other so called urban hotels, design and equipment in the room did not lack substance. It was consistent, meaningful and really helped creating a peculiar, relaxing and pleasant atmosphere in the room.

We did not visit the bar / restaurant because we like quieter places for a cool evening out but noise was no issue in the room (we were on the upper floors). Soundproof was excellent. We could not hear our neighbors or any disturbance from the busy street facing the hotel.

Service was top notch and friendly throughout our stay. Great attitude and attention. All very professional.

Location could be better but we easily walked from and to any part of the city. There is not much around the hotel but it was close to the nearest metro station.

Deals were unbeatable at the time we booked so for us there was no other right option. Mama Shelter in Lyon was the perfect pick. No doubt we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size depending upon which side of the hotel they are located. Simply ask for a large r...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Supermercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#5 of 196 in Lyon
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Cour des Loges
#9 of 196 in Lyon
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Shelter Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Shelter Lyon

Address: 13 rue Domer, 69007, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: $106 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Shelter Lyon 2*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rue Marc Bloch flanks the 156-room building and the mere mention of this name, the creator of the Annales School, commands a sort of seriousness that can be seen in the building's very facade. It was thinking about Marc Bloch and also Jean Moulin, that gave the creators of the MAMA their desire to be here. It is by dreaming about a puppet's cheek and that of its creator Laurent Mourguet, that in time, MAMA wants to become a place for freedom, discussions and passion. Sensual and elegant rooms equipped with Apple iMacs 27"(TV, Internet, CD/DVD Player, IChat, Photobooth, Videobooth) and 5 Star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets). MAMA SHELTER Lyon is ideally located 25 minutes from the airport, right near the tram and on metro line B and close to the Musee des Confluences. Take a break in MAMA SHELTER and enjoy: Live Concerts, Shows, DJs, Giant Table Soccer, Boutique of Offbeat Products... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mama Shelter Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing