We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant perfection”

Les Terrasses de Lyon
Reserve with
Les Terrasses de Lyon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 3,256 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pleasant perfection”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

On our way to the south of France we stayed one night at the fantastic hotel Villa Florentine on a package deal called "Invitation gourmande". This included a set menu called "Aux saveurs ltaliennes" at the one (Micheline) star restaurant at Villa Florentine; Les Terrasses de Lyon.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't at it's best the evening we dined at the restaurant, so the dining took place inside, instead of outside on the terrace. We never the less had an unforgettable evening in the pleasant ambience of the restaurant. The staff is very skilled, helpfull and attentive, and the sommelier did an excellent job, helping us select the perfect wines suitable to our taste, menu and wallet.

We had an "gastronomic overload" this day, first having lunch at Paul Bocuse, and then having dinner at Les Terrasses de Lyon in the evening. It was very interesting to experience the different approach at these restaurants, with Paul Bocuse's overwhelming and excessive style, while Davy Tissot at Les Terrasses de Lyon showed an extremely elegant, detailed and refined approach in the "Aux saveurs ltaliennes" menu. In our view, the evening at Les Terrasses de Lyon was just as big a culinary experience as our lunch at Paul Bocuse. While enjoying our coffe and tea after dessert, Davy Tissot appeared at our table and we had a really pleasant chat with him. We found this to be a very nice touch.

We have decided that we have to return to Villa Florentine and Les Terrasses de Lyon, and hopefully enjoy an evening outside on the terrasse with Davy Tissots's elegant creations - while enjoying the lovely view of Lyons old city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FredRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    114
    48
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
302 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good, But Not Perfect”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a very nice dinner here--but in some ways it seemd perfunctory. The service seemed rote, and not because the staff genuinely wanted to share their love of the place. There was nothing bad, but nothing really "sang" either. It was good, not great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mookie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relations C, Davy Tissot at Les Terrasses de Lyon, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on this website.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dinner.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Davy Tissot.
Executive Chef restaurant « Les Terrasses de Lyon »
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Ethical Hedonism in Lyon”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We went to Lyon basically for Paul Bocuse but dined here two nights earlier as the prelim. Although it is only 1 star Michelin it felt like a 3 star. Everything was perfect and the duck liver was da bomb! It is absolutely on the return engagement list! Very elegant........just forget the prices and enjoy yourself in ethical hedonism.............

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relations C, Davy Tissot at Les Terrasses de Lyon, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on this website.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal.We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Davy Tissot.
Executive Chef restaurant « Les Terrasses de Lyon »
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvannia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Everything was first rate”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We chose this restaurant for our special dinner on the rec of a friend who had been there. Yes, it is expensive. To give some idea --the "fixed price menu" is around a hundred Euros. There are little extras no matter what you order, like a small cold soup to start or petite fours to end. But with each course I found myself admitting you have to eat at a restaurant like this to get the kind of flavor and care involved. In comparison everything else we ate in Lyon was not even close to being in the same league. The presentations were works of art and the food was excellent. The sauces were nuanced and light. The wine list---which can be viewed online--- has bottles from 45 E up to over 3,000 E, with "average" being several hundred E, but one can order more reasonable flights and taste several.The sommelier was a very personable and informed young man who appeared to enjoy his job and was quick to smile. He is a gem and I trust they know that.
All of the service was excellent our evening. This is a place where one lingers and no one is rushing you out because they do not "turn the tables" from what we saw. At the end of the evening the chef came out as we left to greet us, which was a nice touch. Also unexpected, especially since we hardly broke the bank. However, I suspect the staff could tell that we were very appreciative of the chef's efforts.
Now, as for the dress "code." There does not appear to be one. The place was full and I believe most of the patrons were French, but aside from one table with men in dark suits and white shirts (the business uniform in Lyon) the dress was casual. Very casual in some cases. I counted three men in jeans and sport shirts, and one of them wore sneakers. Most men did not wear ties or jackets. My husband, in his sport coat and tie, was hardly underdressed. No bling on the women, who as usual appeared more attentive to their dress then the men but hardly dressed to the nines. I have no idea if it is more dressy on weekends (we were there during the week.)
I have no idea how they assign tables. We were on the terrace, in front, but then we were one of the first there and they knew it was a special occasion.
Be aware that getting to this place is difficult. Take a taxi. You can call for one,and considering what you are going to pay for dinner the cost is negligible. Do not try to do the metro (you would have to take the funicular all the way up the hill, then walk down steep roads) or the stairs (you would end up climbng half the way up that big hill behind the Old Town.)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank writerteacher001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relations C, Davy TISSOT at Les Terrasses de Lyon, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Madam, dear sir

Thank you for your comments.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant.
We hope to have the pleasure in seeing you again soon.
Best regards.

Davy TISSOT
Head chef restaurant "Les terrasses de Lyon"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancovuer
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Over priced!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Honestly for a Michelin Star restaurant the service was slow and poor. The food was not great for the price. The location and the view are outstanding.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank get0uttat0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relations C, Davy TISSOT, Head Chef restaurant "Les Terrasses de Lyon" at Les Terrasses de Lyon, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest,

I'm sorry to read that your meal in our restaurant you have not given complete satisfaction, and you did not like the food that we enjoy has created.

I hope you will not be on such a feeling, and you will give us the chance to welcome you again to let you discover new tastes.

Best regards

Davy Tissot,
Head Chef restaurateur "Les Terrasses de Lyon"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Terrasses de Lyon also viewed

 

Been to Les Terrasses de Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing