We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oyster heaven”

Merle Huitres Et Coquillages
Ranked #138 of 4,034 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $284
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile

Probably 40 seats in a tiny cabin shaped restaurant in Les Halles de Lyon. Lovely atmosphere, very simple menu: various oysters, mussels, fish soup. We took Gillardeau medium sized oysters with a bottle of Sancerre. The combination could not be better. The oysters were still rather large, but every gram of them was a delight. The freshness! The skilled opening of the oysters! The flavor! No condiments offered or required. We debated to take the Merle full plate, and we're glad we didn't. Too much. Instead we took mussels marinière. Also absolutely fabulous. This lunch was the best in years for us. We' ll be back!

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Renzo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 277 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2016

If you don't know where to eat in the Halle's, just head to the Merle. We ordered the mussels and a seafood platter to share among 3. The quality of the oysters, mussels, cherry stones, prawns and congers were very fresh and made our first meal in Lyon a memorable one. Do ask for Philippe who was very helpful and friendly.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PHWZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2016

We enjoyed a tasting of two oysters varieties, served by friendly, passionate staff. A really good shop and restaurant, right in the middle of Les Halles.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Walaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016

this is the place to go to get some fresh oysters fine de clair N°3, some Pot Lyonnais of white wine, good bread and salty butter ...put some pepper and lemon on your oysters and enjoy it !

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank rick78570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2016

I always purchase take-away oysters since years at Merle. The service is fast and friendly as long as you are not coming at the rush hour (i.e. 8/9 pm). Great choice of super fresh oyster. I highly recommand Ireland oysters

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JARAWAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merle Huitres Et Coquillages also viewed

 

Been to Merle Huitres Et Coquillages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing