We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mon Hotel Particulier
Ranked #71 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
jross24
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location! ”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Overall I can only give a good review, the location of the apartment was excellent. We were in the heart of the old town where there was always hussle and bustle which we loved. Lots of lovely places to eat and visit on your door step, the metro station is a few minutes walk and the bus stop close by.

The apartment was clean and decorated to a good standard. It was smaller than I had anticipated from the the photos online however as a couple there for a few days it had everything we needed.

Communication from the reps for the apartment was excellent. They gave us good instructions on how to find our way to the apartment from the airport and Vincent was there to meet us on arrival. On arriving he pointed out places to visit and also restaurants with good food at a range of prices.

I would highly recommend visiting the cathedral close by, the notre dame which takes about 10 mins all in from the apartment and also the large park across the other side of town. All in all we had a lovely few days and other than having a larger apartment we would not have changed anything.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jross24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    43
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
84
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were late arriving but after sending texts to Vincent he arrived within 3 minutes of our taxi. We stayed in Le Petit Tramassac and one can't gloss over the 60 spiral stairs that make up the entrance. That said, Vincent heroically took a very heavy bag up for us and then ushered us into this lovely apartment. It is quite large, has heaps of wardrobe space, a very hip bathroom, neat kitchen including a washing machine and has every other modern convenience. It is beautifully decorated with an interesting collection of artefacts. The building is from the renaissance, has exposed beams and those stairs. It is situated in Old Lyon, a buzzy and beautiful part of the city. Yes it is touristy but that's because it is so special. There are laneways, churches, great architecture, galleries bars and restaurants. Vincent is a mine of information on places to go and places to eat. There is a terrific baker and a mini market within metres of the front door.
Now, about the stairs. We are in our mid 60's and sadly unfit, but after a few days of ups and downs, we stopped puffing and felt quite proud of ourselves.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - it was one of several highlights in a month of travelling in France.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
203 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

as others have already said - not even an aparthotel - and nor is the photo on their website the building in which these apartments are located. it's actually opposite! you can expect the same kind of arrangement with a specialist accommodation company like airbnb who we have used on a number of occasions. you have to phone ahead to let them know you are arriving and jean-luc (or maybe somebody else) will meet you outside.
that said, we had a great three night break in lyon - a much bigger city than we had anticipated - and this 'hotel' is in a fantastic location. our room was the studio bibliotech and although really nicely fitted out (great shower!), we found it was a bit dark, as there was very little natural light and the powered lighting could have been much brighter. we also had to leave the fan on all night as it gets very stuffy in the warm weather. very good value for money, all told.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bagg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucksport, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Not for everyone--you should know at least some rudimentary French (it will make your visit so much more enjoyable!) as well as the ability to text the owner, which simplifies coordination of arrival in case of delays. (The owner was very helpful in directing us to convenient transport from the train station). You should not expect a hotel--it is an apartment well-located in the old part of Lyon on a street in the heart of gastronomy, shops, and historical sites, also easily accessible to public transport. It is perfect for people who are comfortable on their own. Well-equipped kitchenette, and nice bath amenities. There is no maid service, but the owner was very responsive to our requests for fresh towels and more shampoo. You are staying in a residential building (we met a lovely neighbor), so there are the noises of life. We also saw a tour group in the courtyard one morning viewing the architecture. Overall we loved it, but again, it is not for everyone.

Room Tip: Check out the website--great photos of all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenfr155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
117 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Small alleys, traboules, inner courtyards, Thats what you expect to see in Old Lyon. This charming apartments located right in the thick of it. A bit secluded, well hidden, super cozy. You get to live like the locals: buy your bread from the boulangerie in the next street, fruits and milk from the grocery stores next door, come up for a quick shower just before you go out again for dinner. So convenient.

Inside, the apartement has everything you need: including full kitchen and laundry facilities.

No complaints whatsoever except sometimes it gets a bit noisy in the morning (from the neighbours) and that there is no air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrtravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Everything (well, almost everything) that was written in the most recent reviews turned out true. It was a very interesting experience to stay in a medieval/renaissance building that had been extensively remodeled and turned into a modern apartment. The hosts (Agnes and Jean-Luc) were wonderful, although we only met them at the check-in. Agnes' recommendations of the local restaurants were spot-on (thank you, Agnes!). Everything worked fine in the apartment (I believe we were lodged in the Biblioteque; the property comprises several different apartments but I'm not sure if they are all in the same building; ours was at 3, Place de la Change). However:

If you happen to be in Lyon during a heat wave, like we did at the end of July, the lack of AC is a serious draw. I don't know how often such events happen, but I believe in the climate warming so an AC would be a good investment. The fan supplied by our hosts offered only some respite. If you thought of opening the windows (which exited into a well of a small courtyard, as was customary 5 centuries ago, so did not provide much relief), the local mosquitoes would make you think twice, being both of impressive size, and quite ferocious. On top of that, the toilet emitted a particular sewage smell (more properly: stink) that permeated the whole apartment when the windows were closed. Later we found out that it was a particular odor of the Vieux Lyon, probably owing to the age of the buildings and their plumbing, but to tell you the truth, it was not very nice to enter the apartment from the outside (later you got used to it, mostly). An electrical deodorant supplied with the apt. testified that the problem was well known but could not be dealt with satisfactorily.

To summarize: if you're looking for a bit of adventure, living in a bona fide 16th century apartment house (but with modern amenities) in the middle of a medieval district of Lyon and were willing to risk the stink and/or mosquitoes, go for the Mon Hotel Particulier. If not quite, choose a modern, soulless hotel. We were happy with our visit, but would not stay there again during the hot months.

jrk

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrk011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, b.c.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at La Suite du Gouverneur which is a studio apartment right on the main tourist drag, Rue Saint Jean, in Vieux Lyon, as our original request (Suite Miroirs) was already booked. It is in a historic building and the apartment has been retrofitted with some modern amenities. As there was a heat wave going on (temp. reaching 35+), I was very concerned about the lack of air conditioning. However, Jean-Luc provided a great fan which greatly increased the comfort level of the apartment. What an experience to walk out your front door, right on to the busy, pedestrian walkway filled with restaurants, shops, and tourists! The apartment was great but dark as it faces the inner courtyard so be aware if you're someone who needs natural light. We did not cook in the apartment as we were only there 3 days and wanted to sample the local restaurants - unfortunately, many good ones were closed on Sunday and Monday, much to our dismay. The only thing we were disappointed in was Jean-Luc said the washing machine did not work well and that he recommended us taking our laundry to a local laundromat. I appreciated his honesty. Jean-Luc told us there was free parking on Sunday and in the evenings; however, we were also advised by others to park in the Saint-Antoine Parking lot (currently 30E per day!) in case we get towed away. We reduced our parking expenses somewhat by a day trip to Geneva (1.5 hours away) and then stopping in Bourg-en-Bresse to eat Bresse chicken. The Marche Saint-Antoine (great paella!) is just across the bridge and the Velo'V bike rental is very convenient (saved us a very hot walk from our hotel to the museum!) We went to Les Halles Paul Bocuse and were impressed by the visual display; however, after buying various items from various vendors and sampling them, we were disappointed as we have had much better sandwiches, salads, pate, terrine, ham persille,cheese, etc. from the vendors on Rue Cler in Paris and even from our local Granville Island Market in Vancouver. Merci Vincent and Jean-Luc for hosting us at this fantastic location. We look forward to returning to Lyon and booking the Suite Miroirs next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
College Hotel
College Hotel
#90 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Citadines Presqu'ile Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Le Phenix Hotel
#42 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
La Tour Rose
La Tour Rose
#167 of 193 in Lyon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Hotel Particulier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Hotel Particulier

Property: Mon Hotel Particulier
Address: 3 Place du Change, 69005, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Mon Hotel Particulier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing