We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic hotel with poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland
Ranked #170 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very basic hotel with poor customer service”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 10 days recently as part of a large group, and were very dissatisfied for a number of reasons (listed below):

(1) Complete lack of customer service by hotel management. Refused to provide such basic items as an extra pillow, tissues, or towels (towels were only replaced every 3 days). The women working at the front desk (except for the manager) were very nice, but were unable to provide the needed items because they were prohibited by management.
(2) Very basic rooms with almost no amenities. No irion (actually there is one for the entire hotel), no alarm clock, no freezer in kitchenette, no exercise room, etc.
(3) Wifi barely worked in room
(4) Almost impossible to take a shower without soaking the entire bathroom
(5) Although the hotel is located close to a metro stop, I wouldn’t recommend the location for tourists.
(6) Lights were almost always out in hallways and stairways (on timers and motion sensors). The light in the stairway went out when in the middle of walking down the stairs – almost fell down the flight of stairs.
(7) There was no one on duty after 11 or 12 at night

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank justatraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    47
    55
    41
    32
See reviews for
45
36
10
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The lobby looks great , the rooms are fine, the walls are a bit scuffed. Reception was fine.
The problem we had with it is it is far from the old city, very sketchy after 10pm , constant raucous people right outside yelling and smashing bottles. The metro is right on the corner. they had underground parking, very tight of course, it is around 9E per night. The ICEO restaurant is right down the street. We did walk back after dark one night and it was okay. Unless you have to stay close to there for something , I would probably look for a better area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bricey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salwa, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was a horrible apart hotel everything was horrible small rooms horrible room service bad TV horrible location with crime almost everywhere and the hallways are very ugly and lifts take too much time to reach you
this was not the best of hotels I assure you

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elijah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lyon hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Park & Suites - just like home! That's their strap line, but it's wrong. Its nothing like my home anyway. In my home I can sleep comfortably, without cleaners banging around outside my door from first thing and without the incredible road and train noise that accompanied my attempted sleep during three nights here in May 2012. Also, my home is clean and has nice carpets, unlike my room here which had dirty walls and linoleum on the floor. (My home has a cat in it too and there's no cat here, but I'm not sure that's relevant). The bathroom is fine, but nothing to write home about.

It's billed as an apartment style hotel, so there are meagre cooking facilities. I didn't need to use them, but one mug and a couple of plates doesn't really do it for me as far as far as eating in goes. They do have pans and cooking stuff, but are missing the basic wine glass, or indeed any kind of glass for that matter.

Downstairs there is no bar, and nothing much close to the hotel either. There is a fairly septic seating area but that's as far as it goes for any group activity. The location is ok, if you like walking, but there is an underground station right outside.

All in all, I'd recommend going elsewhere. Unless you enjoy not sleeping and feeling a bit grubby in your own room. It's not just like home.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukicat5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stay anywhere else. The carpets are filthy, there is virtually no service, and an incredibly unhelpful staff. No electrical outlets for your use, no rubbish bin. Shower sprays water all over the bathroom, even though it is NOT one of those French showers that is actually designed to do so. Iffy wifi, which doesn't work at all in the bedrooms. No wifi in the common areas at all. Nothing about this hotel works.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeatsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libourne, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for just over two weeks. It is in a working neighborhood and has a metro station right outside the door which is convenient because if you want to see or do anything in the evenings, you pretty much have to take the metro. The staff was friendly and the room was adequate. The lady in charge of breakfast is especially nice. The bed was comfortable, internet connection was reliable, and the kitchen functional. There is a small market just around the corner which makes eating in the room easy.

Our main complaint was that we were on the 5th floor and the lift was out of service for six days.

I plan to stay at the Citidines Presqu'ile next trip to be closer to restaurants and city sights.

Room Tip: Get a low floor room in case the lift goes out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thistle3583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, Punjab, India
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Well i stayed in this hotel for 4 nights . The room that i stayed in had a living room (with a comfortable sofa and ample furniture, 42 inch LCD (Restricted number of channels though), Kitchenette, Microwave, coffee maker and an attached balcony) a bed room (with a super comfortable bed , crisp white linen, cupboards, and a balcony attached) and Bathroom (with a huge wash basin, Bathtub , clean pot, and the bathroom had 4-5 towels, ample toiletries, 24X7 hot water). The rooms had central heating and cooling facilities as well. The room, facilities, services were very very good, and can be easily compared to any good 3-4 star hotel. The room was very neat and clean. There was ample crockery, Toiletries, Cupboards and space in both the living room & bed room & Bathroom.
The hotel staff was very cordial and helpful. The Wi-fi was working perfectly fine in all the rooms.
The buffet breakfast was very good ,it was really very good, there were many food items in the buffets, But on the 4 th day i felt i am getting the same taste everyday (Infact that happens to everyone if you eat same food at the same restaurant it does gets monotonous)

Advantages: Place Jean Jaures metro station is just infront of the hotel entrance (That is seriously an advantage. It is the cheapest, fastest transport medium in the city, Lyon Centre- part dieu is just 4 mins from the hotel)
There is a supermarket around 75 metres from the hotel entrance. There is a thai restaurant (Sawadee thai) just next to the hotel which serves great lunch and dinner buffets (Avg 18-20 euros)
any further info needed please mail me to [--]

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Sejours et Affaires Lyon Park Avenue
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Lyon 7 Lodge
3.4 mi away
Residences Temporim Lyon Cite Internationale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux
3.0 mi away
Appart'City Confort Lyon Vaise
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland

Property: Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland
Address: 175 avenue Jean Jaures, 69007, Lyon, France (Formerly Park & Suites Lyon Gerland)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Park & Suites residence is located across from the Place Jean Jaurès Metro Station in Lyon. It offers air conditioned suites with equipped kitchenettes and free Wi-Fi internet access.All suites at the Park & Suites Elégance Lyon Gerland have satellite TV and a telephone and each kitchenette has a microwave and fridge. Some suites have a sitting area and a terrace.Guests are invited to relax in the hotel’s lounge and bar, where a daily buffet breakfast is served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park And Suites Lyon Gerland Hotel Lyon
City Hotel Lyon Gerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing