We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God-forsaken location; arrogant lady at reception who gave us a faulty room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland
Ranked #172 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed February 21, 2008

We stayed at this hotel from 5 to 10 Feb 2008 at room 212 and subsequently rm 211. we chose this place because we wanted extra space for the family since there are 2 children with us. After reading some of the earlier reviews, I felt this could be a good choice for our long stay. I'll try to be as objective as I can and pin point both the advantages and disadvantages.
Generally I think Lyon has its charm and is a cosy city and it has the advantages of being a vibrant place without the overwhelming size of Paris. Its very easy to get around Lyon as its Metro only consists of 4 lines. That's right, very straight forward, no confusion - easy.
On the downside, if you're staying away from the city centre, there's really not much - plain dull and boring. Gerland was one of those places.
Meanwhile, back to the hotel, based on my experience here's my recap:

Location
Pros:
- The Gerland Metro entrant is right at the hotel's doorstep. Very accessible to get to the town centre via train.
- There is a supermarket to the left where I could find a fantastic selection of baby food. It was convenient for other buys like mineral water and also food for cooking in the kitchenette etc.
- A fenced playground in front of the supermarket was a plus.
- Fancy restaurant next door (see Cons).
Cons:
- Fancy restaurant next door which we didn't bother with because the staff appeared stuck up. I was tired of putting up with another french mediocre service. Unfortunately, this was the only dining within 1 kilometres of the hotel.
- Very quiet area with absolutly nothing else. Yawn!
- we had to walk quite a bit to find another restaurant. It was the ICEO which served a funky fusion of french/mediterranean/tunisian cuisine. Highly recommended - friendly, prompt and attentive service with great music, vibrant crowd and exotic food.

Suite
Pros:
- The kitchenette had a sink, two stoves, a microwave, small fridge and a small kettle. Some basic utensils are there and you can request for more as we did. We did some light pasta cooking on some nights and made our own breakfast on most days.
Cons:
- The central heating in our room was faulty and couldn't be adjusted at all. It was cold in the room and bear in mind February is the coldest month.
- The fridge smelled like rotten cheese. Ugh!
- No safe in the room for passports/valuables.
- The light bulb in the toilet blew up on Saturday and we asked them to change that but they didn't care and it seemed that there are no working staff about except for the guy at the reception and the lady at the breakfast counter.
When my husband demanded for a discount for the lack of service - they asked us to shift to another room. we moved next door (room 211) and finally on the second last day of our stay, we got some heat on. The heating was properly functioning, the switches okay, no smell from the fridge this time. We realised they had given us a semi-faulty suite earlier on when we checked in. However, the following day when we checked out, the guy at the reception was smart enough to give us a discount - in that he didnt charge us for the use of the sofa bed throughout our stay, nor the hotel breakfast which we took once, so we were quite pleased with the 'compensation'. And he was kind enough to call a taxi on our behalf.
Hallelujah!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Pamperedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 202 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2008

Stayed for two nights. Room was fine - large and tidy.
When I was there the lift was out of order - the desk receptionist was less than apologetic.
This receptionist clearly would have rather been elsewhere. The Wi-fi was expensive and the connection unreliable. Overall, a decent enough hotel marred by a cocky, rude, and unhelpful member of staff.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank Roestigraben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2007

My wife and I wanted a place to stay for 10 days using Lyon as a base for exploring South France. City Suites was just right. Our "suite superior" was big enough so we weren't cramped, and the microwave and fridge let us do our own breakfasts and some dinners (a big saving). There is a supermarket right next door to get food and other supplies.

The hotel is not in the tourist area of Lyon, but there is a subway stop right in front of the hotel to get to anywhere else in 15 minutes or so.

Service was competent, but not gushing. All our requests and questions (made in English) were handled promptly. Rooms were clean and were serviced daily.

I do think 30 euros / day is too high for internet service, but rates in Europe seem to be like that.

For a similar trip we would definitely go back to this same hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floridian082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Department, La Direction at Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: chambres sans chauffage !!!!avec 0 dehors !! super !!et quand vous signalez , et demander des couver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Department, La Direction at Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Badman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank antoine517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Department, La Direction at Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Sejours et Affaires Lyon Park Avenue
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Lyon 7 Lodge
2.7 mi away
Sejours & Affaires Apparthotel  Lyon Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Appart'City Confort Lyon Vaise
2.4 mi away
Appart'Hotel Bioparc
Appart'Hotel Bioparc
#74 of 194 in Lyon
222 reviews
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Lyon Centre Monplaisir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland

Address: 175 avenue Jean Jaures, 69007, Lyon, France (Formerly Park & Suites Lyon Gerland)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: $63 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Park & Suites residence is located across from the Place Jean Jaurès Metro Station in Lyon. It offers air conditioned suites with equipped kitchenettes and free Wi-Fi internet access.All suites at the Park & Suites Elégance Lyon Gerland have satellite TV and a telephone and each kitchenette has a microwave and fridge. Some suites have a sitting area and a terrace.Guests are invited to relax in the hotel’s lounge and bar, where a daily buffet breakfast is served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park And Suites Lyon Gerland Hotel Lyon
City Hotel Lyon Gerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing