We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but OK”
Review of Hotel de Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Normandie
Ranked #159 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Gilleleje, Denmark
Level Contributor
137 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Basic but OK”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Good value for the money but don`t expect a 5 star hotel... its basic but ok.. also taking into consideration, that is just across the Perrache Metro Station which will take you to the (far away) down town in just a few minutes (you don`t hear the trains at night).. Remember to take a stroll along the Rhone river and its fantastic scenery. Just 15 minutes walk from Bellecour Plaza which you don`t wanna miss for its beauty and shopping-facilities
The room was a bit hot as I found no air condition

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    40
    43
    21
    20
See reviews for
6
48
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Matsuyama, Ehime, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

After I checked out, I wanted to wait for my train in the entrance room.But this hotel staff said , "You don't my guest,so you can't use this sofa and toilet ,wifi , all facilities! Go out hurry up!!."
I was very surprised. I met this the worst hotel for the first time. I don't recommend this hotel.
This is the worst hotel around the world!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank april000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lyon hotels

Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We selected this hotel due to its excellent location - in the hert of the city and very close to Perrache railway station, having tram and subway in less than 5 minutes walk.
The rooms are very clean, however bathroom is not in the perfect state with bath curtains dropping down on every touch.
Free wi-fi as an advantage.
And stingy breakfast as an disadvantage.

Good overall impression for transit travellers like us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had booked a twin room for a 2 night stay here. On arrival, me and my colleague were told that there was an overbooking and there were no twin rooms available. And were forced to stay in a double room, with just one bed which we shared.
We agreed to stay in the room, however, we requested an additional blanket at the reception desk, and the response we got from the receptionist was VERY rude, " I can not help you with this" he said. Terribly rude to our faces.
The hotel is nothing special, quite over priced. Rooms are very basic. Good location.
Rudest staff I have ever seen, Bad service. I do not recommend it .

Room Tip: go else were
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hassan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Cheap and not very good, but central. It was good for us because we wanted to see the city and didn't spend time on the Hotel. I wouldn't recommend it for families, as someone sad before, they may as well charge an hourly rate, if you know what I mean...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana-Guerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
253 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were on a very last minute business trip to France. We booked this hotel as very conveniently located near the station. The room, although small, was very well apointed and more to the point very clean.
French hotels have understood that Wi-Fi should be free and easy to use. This was definitely the case here.

I will definitely use again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryBMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
132 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

It was a strange setting. You got one key and you could never take it from the hotel, the desk always kept it when you left. I think the hotel very well may have had an hourly rate. Just through the tunnel there were prostitutes and an old abandoned prison. It felt very safe but was interesting to say the least. Overall the room was very clean and nice! The location was nice and they had 2 parking spots. One day we lost our parking spot but within 2 hours the car was gone and we got our spot back…
I would recommend staying here but if only on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALJSKEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#93 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Hotel De La Loire
#99 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel d'Ainay
Hotel d'Ainay
#166 of 193 in Lyon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Berlioz
#137 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache
Hotel d'Azur
#134 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Normandie

Property: Hotel de Normandie
Address: 3 rue du Belier, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Normandie 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing