We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to explore lyon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Silky to your Saves list
Hotel Silky
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Place Francisque Regaud, 69002, Lyon, France (Formerly Grand Hotel de la Paix) (Cordeliers - Jacobins)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect place to explore lyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked this hotel months ago at a decent rate for 3 nights for the start of November. The location is truely excellent. It is right in the heart of the shopping district, near some lovely eateries and a short walk from many of the museums and attractions. The room was basic, but clean, comfortable, and very warm whilst it was cold outside. We were given some welcome soft drinks, and a basic packed lunch every day containing a sandwich, crisps and drink (we took it 2 out of 3 days). The breakfast was simple, with no eggs, and not much fruit. It was mainly bread, croissants, cheese, yougurt and a few other options. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was also free Wifi and a computer to use in the reception area. Overall we had a welcomming, warm experience at the hotel, and recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guests,

The team thanks you for choosing our hotel for your stopover in Lyon and thank you for the comment posted on trip advisor.

I am pleased to read that your stay was well.

We would welcome you again.

Best regards
Julien Schruoffeneger manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    207
    82
    29
    26
See reviews for
51
207
32
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

There were a lot of things right about this hotel: friendly staff (a welcome drink at 12:30 am? Nice touch, who cares if it's just a diet coke!); a great location in the heart of the city with shops restaurants and attractions all easily within walking distance; light, comfortable rooms with large windows looking out on a classic lyonnaise street, bustling, but at this time of year (october) not too noisy. We didn't eat there, but a nice looking brasserie next door offered room delivery at all hours. With (a slightly disappointing) breakfast included it was pretty good value too.

The problems for us came when they had a power outage. The staff weren't very helpful in an unusual situation, first not communicating effectively, then sending us without further aid to a nearby hotel which was of considerably lower standard.

All in all however the advantage of a good location can't be underestimated and tips this mixed experience towards the positive side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your visite at our hotel and apologize for the problem during the blackout.
we will improve the welcome drink although this it is offered.

We hope to welcome you for your next trip in Lyon

Best regards
Julien Schruoffeneger, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I booked this hotel months in advance and was instantly charmed on arrival . Having just spent 7 days in a tiny cabin on a very expensive river boat cruise , I was thrilled to find such a large high-ceilinged room and bathroom. Not so thrilled to see four glue boards( for catching rodents and roaches ) around the room. We we awakened during the night by the sound of rustling paper and so I got up to investigate. My friend saw a mouse run from the couch to a corner of the room .
I repositioned the glue boards and went back to bed . A few minutes later we heard the squeaking of the mouse and so got up again. The mouse was stuck on the glueboard so I folded it over and suffocated it. No more sleep that night.
In the morning I brought the evidence to the front desk and the receptionist was horrified. She arrranged a meeting with the hotel director. He immediately got in touch with the booking agent who agreed to a full refund of the prepaid amount for the following two nights. The hotel director found us another hotel at the same rate we had paid and threw in complimentary breakfast . The director and receptionist were obviously very upset about this incident and were most gracious and helpful. I would happily stay at this place again once they bring the mouse problem under control.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KerrymanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guests,

We apologize once again for the problem during your stay. We made some change to resolve that. Thank you for your compliment about the staff and I during the relocation.

We hope to welcome you for a next trip in Lyon.

Best regards
Julien Schruoffeneger, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We got a great corner room with lots of natural light and high ceilings. It was clean, breakfast was very good and included, and the location was outstanding. We really liked the french windows and the room just had a very good feel to it. It isn't a 5 star hotel, but it was the best room we had in france and we were impressed with the front desk people, they couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joegoodness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guests,


Our team and I are pleased to read that your last stay at the Grand hotel de la Paix was a nice experience and proud that our hotel is one of your best experience.

Best regards,
Julien Schruoffeneger, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel was not spectacular, but the service was really good and the front desk staff were extremely helpful. I would recommend this hotel. Also, it is located centrally, within an easy walk of many good restaurants (two are less than 50yd away!), and an easy walk across the Saone River to Vieux Lyon (Old Town). Public transportation is nearby.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for a room on the back, if you want to have your room windows open at night, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlabamaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Customers,

All the team and I are grateful about your comment in tripadvisor website and for your stay at our hotel.

We hope to welcome you for your next stay in Lyon.

Best regards
Julien Schruoffeneger, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Looks nothing like the picture! We were in room 58 looking over the street in front. Since there is no AC, we had to leave the windows open and the noise when the bars closed was too much. We stayed 3 nights, and all were very noisy at about 2:30 am. There was no fan in the room. The room was small with only about 6 inches between the foot of bed and wall, making it very hard to move around the room. It was not clean and the plastic covered chair had 2 holes in it. The sink in the bathroom would not drain, and the desk told us to reach underneath and pull the plug. Not what I want to do in a hotel. The front of the sink at sometime had broken off and was cemented back on. Not very attractive. And now for the lift! It didn't work most of the time we were there. Walked down from the 5th floor several times. Going up the desk person had to come a push some outside buttons. We will never stay here again. The only good thing about the hotel was the location.

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear customers,

I am sincerely sorry that the last stay in our hotel didn't offer entirely satisfactory.

We had a problem with our boiler which caused interventions in hot water and electric system.

We hope to see you again to offer a total satisfaction.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were only here for one night on our train sojourn through France - we thought the location was excellent and while our room didn't have an air conditioner we did have a fan in the room and with the lovely big windows open we were fine. Our room was clean and comfortable and we really enjoyed the breakfast in the breakfast room, the welcome drink and as we were travelling on the train at lunchtime the next day we also took advantage of the free packed lunch! All in all it was a very good stay and I'd stay here again. Nice shopping and restaurants close by, the Tourist Information Centre wasn't far away either and they were very helpful - bit of a walk from the main train station but we caught a bus there when we left the next day which made it easy. I thought this hotel was very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Customers,

The team of the Grand hotel de la Paix and I are pleased welcome you and read your comment.

We hope to welcome you once again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Citadines Presqu'ile Lyon
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Cordeliers - Jacobins
BEST WESTERN Lyon St-Antoine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Celestins
#13 of 190 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#62 of 190 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#35 of 190 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silky

Property: Hotel Silky
Address: 2 Place Francisque Regaud, 69002, Lyon, France (Formerly Grand Hotel de la Paix)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Cordeliers - Jacobins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silky 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a comfortable place to stay, the new boutique immerses HappyCulture guests in a 100% Lyonnaise experience. Located in the heart of the city, the Silky invites customers in a universe steeped in history. The 46 rooms to reveal different colors beautiful moldings and cornices, in a spirit of mansion cozy and contemporary. High ceilings, Italian shower, decoration retro graphics. Equipped with TV 82 cm, espresso machines and tea, free WIFI and loan pocket wifi. Guests are invited each evening to our HappyTime wine route and the Lyon terroir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Silky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing