We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Ranked #16 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Looks nothing like the picture! We were in room 58 looking over the street in front. Since there is no AC, we had to leave the windows open and the noise when the bars closed was too much. We stayed 3 nights, and all were very noisy at about 2:30 am. There was no fan in the room. The room was small with only about 6 inches between the foot of bed and wall, making it very hard to move around the room. It was not clean and the plastic covered chair had 2 holes in it. The sink in the bathroom would not drain, and the desk told us to reach underneath and pull the plug. Not what I want to do in a hotel. The front of the sink at sometime had broken off and was cemented back on. Not very attractive. And now for the lift! It didn't work most of the time we were there. Walked down from the 5th floor several times. Going up the desk person had to come a push some outside buttons. We will never stay here again. The only good thing about the hotel was the location.

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear customers,

I am sincerely sorry that the last stay in our hotel didn't offer entirely satisfactory.

We had a problem with our boiler which caused interventions in hot water and electric system.

We hope to see you again to offer a total satisfaction.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    263
    96
    34
    25
See reviews for
84
299
55
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were only here for one night on our train sojourn through France - we thought the location was excellent and while our room didn't have an air conditioner we did have a fan in the room and with the lovely big windows open we were fine. Our room was clean and comfortable and we really enjoyed the breakfast in the breakfast room, the welcome drink and as we were travelling on the train at lunchtime the next day we also took advantage of the free packed lunch! All in all it was a very good stay and I'd stay here again. Nice shopping and restaurants close by, the Tourist Information Centre wasn't far away either and they were very helpful - bit of a walk from the main train station but we caught a bus there when we left the next day which made it easy. I thought this hotel was very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Customers,

The team of the Grand hotel de la Paix and I are pleased welcome you and read your comment.

We hope to welcome you once again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Booked this hotel to stay at during a conference in Lyon in August. Thought we would be satisfied with our stay because the hotel looked very nice on their web site, and it also has a very good location.
Were supposed to stay here 4 nights - instead it was about 4 hours! A few hours after we checked in we saw a mouse in our room!! Not scared that they would be dangerous, of course, but I think this says a great deal about the cleanliness at the hotel! The shower also had a broken door, so if we used it the bathroom floor would've been wet. The room didn't seem very clean in general. We decided that we wouldn't stay here, and complained about the mouse and our room in general at the reception. The receptionist seemed startled and embarassed about the mouse-problem. We said we wanted to change hotel. The receptionist was very nice, and called the hotel manager to check if we could leave without paying for the room (we had not payed in advance). Fortunately, this was ok.
A one time incidence with mice I guess can be forgiven. But my colleague also spotted mice in their room!! And they also saw a cockroach in the breakfast room... So the only positive side of this hotel, is its location! I would not recommend this hotel at this time. They would have to do some upgrading and seriuos cleaning first! If you still want to stay at this hotel, make sure you get one of the rooms on their lovely pictures (and hope our mouse didn't have a big family!).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hege S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear customers,

I am sincerely sorry that the past stay in our hotel you were not entirely satisfactory..

A constant quality approach we hope to see you again and your total satisfaction

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were only in Lyon for one night. This hotel made our stay all the better. The hotel was great, very clean and modern and in a great spot. The staff there were also very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Carla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your stay at the Grand hotel de la Paix. We had a great pleasure to welcome you and hope to welcome you once again.

we sincerely thank you for your nice comment.

Best regards,
Julien Schruoffeneger, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel was everything we had hoped for. Great location and decent rooms. We were in room 112 I think, and it was absolutely fine. In spite of looking out on the the street and us sleeping with the French windows open, we had no trouble with noise. As other reviewers have said, there is no ac or fans, but the breeze from the open window was enough for us.

We were originally supposed to stay in a room on the 5th floor, but as it hadn't been made up, we were offered a choice of two others. I think these were room 502 and 112, and trust me when I say you don't want room 502 if there are two of you. It was tiny.

The elevator is also snug. Two people or one person with bags max, and absolutely not suitable for people with claustrophobia.

The free breakfast doesn't offer much choice, but it is good all the same. If you are very tall there is a risk of you bumping your head on the ceiling though.

This hotel gave us the perfect base for walking all over Lyon. There is also a bicycle hire stand right outside, a nice restaurant next door, and shops, bars and restaurants only minutes walk away.

If we come back to Lyon, which I hope we do since it is a wonderful city, I will stay here again. It is great value for money and the staff are lovely.

Room Tip: I would choose a lower floor to avoid having to choose between the claustrophobic lift and facing fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaPCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Sir,

I want to personally thank you for your stay and that last comment. We are sincerely happy to read that you liked our hotel. We will be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards

Julien Schruoffeneger, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were in Lyon for five of the hottest days and nights of the year. One day it hit 40C and was never lower than 38. We loved the city and the exotic weather. Nights, it goes without saying, in a hotel that does not currently offer airconditioning were very warm indeed, even with windows wide open. But we knew the score before booking and are well used to centre of city noise throughout the night. It was great to have breakfast included. This was a lot better than anticipated. The buffet selection did lack the offer of fresh fruit, but had everything else. We were on the fifth floor and in cooler weather would have used the stairs going up as well as down, but made more use of the lift ( a cosy 2 max persons affair) more than we would normally.
All the front desk staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. A bulb in one the bedside lamps was not working when we arrived. We left a note in the room and it was changed. Our key card had been incorrectly programmed and on our second night I could not gain entrance to the room. I often find these entry systems unresponsive and problematic but eventually had to take the lift down to the service desk to explain the issue. The mistake was explained and apologised for and of course corrected.
We had no more issues in the course of a most enjoyable and memorable visit. The location of the hotel could not have been better.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your comment posted on our Trip advisors page.
Your message is an encouragement on our job.

We hope welcome you during your next trip.

Best regards
Julien Schruoffeneger, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I found this hoel to be a very convenient and comfortable, but one of the things that makes a hotel stand out, is the service. This is where the Grand Hotel de la Paix in Lyon really excels. The staff was really helpful and ready to answer questions and help solve problems.

The location of the hotel is in a very lively shopping area and a short walk to the metro. You are a short walk from many attractions, such as the Musee Des Beaux Arts, and the very picturesque old city as well as one block from one of the best streets for good restaurants and cafes in Lyon.

I will certainly recommend Lyon and this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: I had a lovely spacious room on the 4 th floor. It was facing the street and could be noisy, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your comment about your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to read that the welcoming and the spirit of service are enjoyed.

All the team wish you a nice summer.
Best regards

Julien Schruoffeneger, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silky by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silky by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Address: 2 Place Francisque Regaud, 69002, Lyon, France (Formerly Grand Hotel de la Paix)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Cordeliers - Jacobins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silky by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a comfortable place to stay, the new boutique immerses HappyCulture guests in a 100% Lyonnaise experience. Located in the heart of the city, the Silky invites customers in a universe steeped in history. The 46 rooms to reveal different colors beautiful moldings and cornices, in a spirit of mansion cozy and contemporary. High ceilings, Italian shower, decoration retro graphics. Equipped with TV 82 cm, espresso machines and tea, free WIFI and loan pocket wifi. Guests are invited each evening to our HappyTime wine route and the Lyon terroir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Silky by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing