We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Ranked #16 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Falkirk, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Hot House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Little to add to previous reviews. The location of the hotel and the staff are excellent, it is clean and comfortable (generally), breakfasts are perfectly adequate, and the lunch box is a fine gesture that provides a reasonable snack if you want to save a good few euros (Lyon is a pricey city). However the big-big drawback for this hotel, in the summer months at least, is the lack of air-con. Temperatures were not that high when we were there, typically 25c maximum, but it was very humid and it was impossible to cool down our room which looked onto the narrow and sheltered Rue Tapin. Not easy to sleep in a sauna! Opening the windows helped a touch, but then you had to also contend with noise from pedestrians, traffic and bin-lorries.

I would recommend this hotel outwith the summer months if you are looking for a good mid-ranged/mid-priced place, but I would much rather pay more to go somewhere else with air-con during hot weather.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front and side have a better outlooks but will be noisier than the back, especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyTheBairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear customers,

I sincerely thank you for this comment. We are pleased to read that the reception, breakfast and our concept for you all were positive during the stay.

For temperature, we suffered a heat wave up to 12 ° C above normal temperatures. However, we are preparing the installation of air conditioning in the coming weeks. We hope to see you soon.

Julien Schruoffeneger, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    263
    96
    34
    25
See reviews for
84
299
55
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night. We were so glad it was just one night! The staff was great and spoke English. Sebastian, who greeted us, was very friendly and helpful. He also gave us great suggestions for dinner. But the location was the reason we picked this place, and the reason it was a bad night's sleep. It may not have been a problem if the hotel had a/c but they didn't and it was so hot that we had to keep the windows open and with it being right in the heard of Lyon we heard traffic, people, loud music from cars all night long. And with the windows open, we became a feast for the mosquitoes. It was just not a pleasant night's sleep. The hotel is a bit run down and needs some upgrades for sure. The breakfast room was too small to accommodate all the guests. We were lucky that another couple let us sit with them. The service, however, was great. When we left they sent us away with a sack lunch of sandwiches, chips and drinks which was a nice touch. Wished all hotels did that. The service was the saving grace.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisnkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear chrisnkay,

Thank you for your stay and your comment. Since one year we make some change at the hotel.
Come to see!

Yours, Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

The room was basic and small but beds were pretty comfortable, perfectly clean everywhere, a little bit noisy at night from the traffic but not too much. Breakfast - basic with simple food, but for me and my friend it was enough. They give us a lunch box when we left, I think it is a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your comments

We'll have pleasure to welcome you once again.

Best regards

Julien Schruoffeneger, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahone Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel couldn't be in a better location, in the centre of everything or a very short walk to everything. The staff at the front desk spoke English, were very helpful, and breakfast, very good, and a box lunch are included in the price which is very reasonable. Our bathroom was large and had a big window that opened. Our bedroom, although plain, had a king bed and two big windows that also opened. The hotel is on a short street, now a pedestrian walkway, with restaurants all along including the one in and outside the hotel. Our whole experience in Lyon was terrific including lunch in a bouchon, lots of drinks in sidewalk cafes and bistros, walking the streets and people watching. A great city and a perfect place to stay when there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

All the team and I thank you so much for your comment. We are pleased to read that your stay was nice at our hotel.

Best regards,
Julien Schruoffeneger, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I just wanted to add to my earlier review of this excellent hotel in the most central part of Lyon. I forgot to say it is a great 3 star hotel in Lyon and should explain that 3 stars in France compares to 4 or 5 stars in Anglo-Saxon countries. And Lyon, if you have never been there, is a large town in the south-eastern part of France. Lyon is also considered by many to be the gastronomic capital of France - there are many restaurants at various price levels.
If you come to Lyon, do try and stay at this hotel and make sure you eat in a "bouchon" (the local word for a typical gastronomic restaurant) - the hotel staff will gladly advise you on where to eat. A very spacious and luxurious room should cost under 100 euros per night for 2 persons, depending on the time of year of course.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Malo,

Many thanks for your comment.
We hope you and your wife are well.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel De La Paix, Lyon for two nights in May 2012.

The location of the hotel is perfect - it is right in the middle of the city so it is really a great area to be basing yourself in.

The customer service at this hotel is superb! All of the employees we met were nice, friendly and helpful. We called the hotel prior to our stay and Guillaume (one of the employees) were more than accomodating in making the various restaurant bookings in Lyon.

The hotel facilities are basic however it is adequate enough for us as we spent most our time adventuring around the city anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domandninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

All the team and I thank you so much for your comment. We are pleased to read that your stay was nice at our hotel.

Best regards,
Julien Schruoffeneger, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were 3 people traveling. 2 in one room and one in the other. Sebastian was so nice but not great delegating rooms. The 2 got a way smaller room than the one and other than the shower the room was in horrible condition. The hotel needs renovations. I would look further!

Room Tip: Ask for large and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowcountrylady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Lowcountr,

We hope to welcome you once again.
actually, we renovate some rooms and now the public areas.

Thanks a lot for your comment.

Best regards,
Julien Schruoffeneger, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silky by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silky by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Address: 2 Place Francisque Regaud, 69002, Lyon, France (Formerly Grand Hotel de la Paix)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Cordeliers - Jacobins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silky by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a comfortable place to stay, the new boutique immerses HappyCulture guests in a 100% Lyonnaise experience. Located in the heart of the city, the Silky invites customers in a universe steeped in history. The 46 rooms to reveal different colors beautiful moldings and cornices, in a spirit of mansion cozy and contemporary. High ceilings, Italian shower, decoration retro graphics. Equipped with TV 82 cm, espresso machines and tea, free WIFI and loan pocket wifi. Guests are invited each evening to our HappyTime wine route and the Lyon terroir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Silky by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing