We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Victoria - great!”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #92 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Carrathool via Hay
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hotel Victoria - great!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had one night in Hotel Victoria and would have enjoyed more! Great old building. Very large, clean room which was simply but nicely decorated. Very well situated directly across the river from Lyon Old City and close to Beaux Arts etc.
The manager was very helpful when we had trouble with our internet which was greatly appreciated.
All in all a very nice experience that I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corynniastation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    162
    50
    24
    11
See reviews for
18
121
64
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Hotel Victoria was an excellent place to stay. Affordable prices and conveniently located right next to the Perrache Station. The bedroom and bathroom were both very small, but spotlessly clean and served their purpose. Good and reasonably priced breakfast. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and were more than happy to help us practice our French when we asked them not to speak to us in English!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tash39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed for three nights this summer and would go back. The staff is extremely helpful, the price is right, and it's easy to get to and leave from for a short stay (close to the train station). The person at reception gave me a map and patiently showed me all the main places of interest. The rooms are very small indeed but clean. There is no AC, so if you're staying there during the summer, you might want to avoid the rooms on the top floor as they are directly under the roof and were warm (there was a fan, though). The rooms that face the courtyard get a bit of noise from the neighbors but they seem quieter than the rooms that face the front of the hotel, where one can hear the road traffic and trains (I am a light sleeper so I just used earplugs and was fine). The bathroom was tiny as well (it was a kind of self-contained fiberglass pod) but spotless. All in all, it's a great place for budget travelers. Be sure to go check out the live music, beer, and laid-back friendly atmosphere at Periscope, a nearby bar that reminded me of a bit of Brooklyn (in a good way).

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are quieter. Higher floors are warmer in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcmauburkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel whilst looking for place to live in Lyon, and would definitely recommend it. Out of all the hotels I have stayed in Lyon this was by far the best in terms of value for money. The staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating, and the hotel and rooms were absolutely spotless, couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just coming back from a 3 day trip in Lyon. Stayed in hotel Victoria! I couldnt expect more!!! Location Is great and the staff even better, and rooms are cosy and spotless clean! No much to say great value for price, definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleneventi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

For the cheap price we paid we didn't expect such a lovely hotel. The room was small but with a big comfy bed, that's all that matters! The lady at reception was so nice and attentive and wet out of her way to help us. I would stay here again and tell anyone going to Lyon to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had an overall excellent experience. A 2 minute walk from the Perrache train station, near Brasserie Georges, Hotel Victoria was clean, with a courteous, friendly and multi-lingual staff. Our room was small, but not too small, and immaculate - you would have though the bathroom had never been used! A bit warm (we were in the 6th floor) and no A/C, but they did provide small space fans which was fine. It would not take much to bump this hotel up to a 3 star hotel. We wouldn't hesitate staying here again and would certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KOuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel du Simplon
Hotel du Simplon
#55 of 194 in Lyon
357 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#3 of 194 in Lyon
273 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Budget Lyon Centre Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 3 rue Delandine, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victoria 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing